Contribute
Register

Adding/Using HiDPI custom resolutions

Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
1
Motherboard
Thien
CPU
i5 - 6300U
Graphics
HD 520
Hi

I've installed the custom resolutions successfully. However, after restarting the resolution gets back to non-hdpi. For example:

I choose 1600x900 hidpi, after restarting the resolution is 1600x900.

Anyone can help?

Thanks
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
353
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Which software are you using? I can't find the related software with the name RDM :(
Just type "RDM for Mac" on google.
By the way, RDM means "Retina Display Menu"...
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
15
Mac
Mac Pro
@RehabMan If you have a second to respond, I'd appreciate it... Other than the Mac itself, my brother and I have identical monitors, cabling, adaptors. I'm running a Mac mini i7 2018 6 Core and he's running an iMac Pro 10 Core, both on 10.14.4 Mojave. Our monitors is the Sony 49" 4k x720e, plugged into the TB3 port. He's able to get HiDPI 3840 x 2160 resolution but I'm not able to get more than 3360 x 1890 (HiDPI). Is this due to the graphics card, mine being a UHD 630 and his is a Vega 56? Even with SwitchResX, the results are the same there for the both of us. I've tried the method provided here using Display Product/Vendor ID but still a no go for me. Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 17, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
DELL Precision M4700
CPU
i7-3740QM/QM77
Graphics
HD4000 / Quadro K2000M
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
For 'RDM' menu style, i'm founded a simple way is patching two HEX bytes, it's your display panel dimensions. In my case the dimension for my 15.6 LGD0215 is not fit to 331x207mm form of 15.4 Retina display panel. So, i'm patching my EDID to get 300x200mm - EDID just have two digit (30x20cm) - then Icons.plist patch now working. On macOS you can use AW EDID EDITOR to edit.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
40
Motherboard
MSI MS-7372 v1.0
CPU
Core 2 Duo E8400
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce 730 2GB GDDR5
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've tried to do this quite a few times. My 4540s has a 15" 1920x1080p monitor. Most of the time, I can work close enough to the display such that the text is not too small. But sometimes, it would be useful to work at 1600x900. Unfortunately, if you use a normal scaled resolution at 1600x900 the text is not as crisp. It would be great to use Apple's HiDPI tech to get better scaling.

Same thing goes for my Lenovo u430 with 1600x900 14" display. Sometimes it would be great to use 1440x810 instead. The result is not retina clarity, but it isn't bad... This post will use my Lenovo u430 as an example.

I've tried a number of methods as documented in the following threads, but they've always come up short and don't really work. The problem is they rely on SwitchResX to add the resolutions which is fairly buggy and will not add all resolutions consistently. SwitchResX works great for selecting modes not available in SysPrefs->Displays, but not so good for adding custom resolutions.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1568657
http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/102321-guide-add-your-custom-retina-hidpi-resolution-your-desktop-display.html
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/290097-guide-add-your-custom-retina-hidpi-resolution-for-your-desktop-display/

In addition, they have you extracting EDID and other unnecessary tasks...

The other day, I borrowed a friend's MacBookPro11,2 with retina display. I did a little poking around, and in particular, I grabbed the display override plist for the built-in retina display. Looking at that file and experimenting with it gave me the information needed to add your own custom resolutions to our own display plist. There are some quirks, but it works...

First step is you must enable HiDPI mode:
Code:
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver DisplayResolutionEnabled -bool YES
sudo defaults delete /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver DisplayResolutionDisabled
Note: I did not have to do the second one.

Note: For 10.11.0 and later, the location of the display overrides have changed. They are now at
/System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides. If you are running 10.11 or later, make sure you substitute the new path as appropriate.

Next, determine your vendor-id and product-id of your display. This is available from ioreg. Using IORegistryExplorer, look under your display under your graphics device:

View attachment 93897

Your ids are DisplayVendorID and DisplayProductID. The hex values here determine where in /System/Library/Displays/Overrides, you create the directory/plist file. If the file already exists, you should edit the existing file (copy it to your Desktop for editing).

In my case, the vendor-id is 0xdae, so I need to create a directory (it may already be present):
Code:
sudo mkdir /System/Library/Displays/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-dae
Next, create your plist file. I create it on my desktop and then copy it to the overrides folder later. the file name should be named after your product id. In my case the product-id is 0x1482, so the name will be DisplayProductID-1482.plist. I name it with extension plist to make it easy to open the file. The starting contents should look like this:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>DisplayProductName</key>
    <string>Lenovo u430 Display</string>
    <key>DisplayProductID</key>
    <integer>5250</integer>
    <key>DisplayVendorID</key>
    <integer>3502</integer>
    <key>scale-resolutions</key>
    <array>
    </array>
</dict>
</plist>
The DisplayProductName can be whatever you like. Note that DisplayProductID and DisplayVendorID must be converted from hex to decimal for the plist.

Next step is to add your custom resolution(s). Open the plist that is now on your desktop in a plist editor (I use xcode), and then add your custom resolutions under scale-resolutions.

You must add two resolutions for each custom resolution you'd like. My native display on this laptop is 1600x900, so I'm going to add two custom resolutions 1366x768 and 1440x810. Note how the resolutions are carefully chosen to reflect a 16:9 aspect ratio. Custom resolutions are array entries under scale-resolutions that have type Data and have two 32-bit values. The values are in natural byte-order (big-endian/Motorola byte-order, not little-endian or Intel byte order). 1366x768 would be:
Code:
<00000556 00000300>
Note that the value you enter here are in hex. 0x556 is 1366 and 0x300 is 768.

In order to make it HiDPI capable, you must also add another scaled resolution at twice the custom resolution above, so... 2732x1536. Converted to Data hex format:
Code:
<00000aac 00000600 00000001>
With these two entries, it looks like this in the xcode plist editor:
View attachment 93898

You can test this plist now by copying it and rebooting:
Code:
cd ~/Desktop
sudo cp DisplayProductID-1482.plist /System/Library/Displays/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-dae/DisplayProductID-1482
Note that the destination in Displays/Overrides does not have a plist extension.

After that you can restart:
Code:
sudo reboot
You can now access the HiDPI resolution of 1366x768 in SysPrefs->Displays.

Curious things start to happen if you add multiple new HiDPI resolutions. There seems to be some filtering going on in SysPrefs->Displays. Resolutions which are 'close' to each other are filtered out and only one is shown if they are close (eg. 1366x768 either/or 1440x810).

On the Probook (1080p native), if you add 1440x810, it will override the 1366x768, but on the Lenovo u430 (900p native), the 1366x768 seems to override 1440x810:
View attachment 93900

If you run SwitchResX with both installed you'll be able to select either one and activate it even though both are not available in SysPrefs->Displays. SysPrefs->Displays is filtering the resolutions in a way that SwitchResX is not. Note that using SwitchResX to add these resolutions does not work most of the time. You must edit the plist directly.

On my 4540s I was able to add both 1600x900 and 1440x810 (or 1366x768). In that case, the system showed both 1600x900 and the 1440x810 (or 1366x768) but not the 1440x810 and 1366x768 at the same time. Thus why I say the system is filtering resolutions that are close to each other.

Just for clarification, this is what my plist looks like (in text) for both 1366x768 and 1440x810 (Data values are encoded base64):
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>DisplayProductName</key>
    <string>Lenovo u430 Display</string>
    <key>DisplayProductID</key>
    <integer>5250</integer>
    <key>DisplayVendorID</key>
    <integer>3502</integer>
    <key>scale-resolutions</key>
    <array>
        <data>AAALQAAABlQ=</data>
        <data>AAAFoAAAAyo=</data>
        <data>AAAKrAAABgA=</data>
        <data>AAAFVgAAAwA=</data>
    </array>
</dict>
</plist>
Adding custom HiDPI resolutions should prove very useful for screens which have very high resolution (retina class) or even moderate resolution on small screens (1080p on 13" or under).

You will notice some performance degradation when running a scaled resolution like this. This is because the system is rendering to the high-resolution frame buffer (at twice the size), then scaling down to the native resolution of the display (that part is probably done in hardware).

Automatic tool

I have not tried this tool, but there is a web based program that can generate a display override plist for you.

Refer to the post (#222) in this thread for a link: http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/adding-using-hidpi-custom-resolutions.133254/page-23#post-1271885
Thanks! I followed your guide and did not use SwitchresX for changing resolutions. BTW i used this link to create custom resolutions. All you need to do is edit your vendorID, displayID and add resolutions and it will be automatically create a plist file for you.

 

Attachments

QKT

Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5567 - Clover
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD620/R7 M445, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
Android
Work like a charm.
Note: You must remove .plist extension to make it work.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asrock X299M
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have an Acer XV273K (4K / 120hz), and am able to select 3840x2160@120hz and 1920x1080@120hz HiDPI and everything works correctly. However, for the other intermediate scaling options like "Looks like 2560x1440", I can only select 60hz refresh rate.

I've tried creating custom resolutions in SwitchResX but I can't create anything that's not a 2x resolution. I've seen the guides for DisplayOverrides but they always mention creating 2x resolutions too... not something in between like I'm trying to use here. Any tips?

404645
404646
 
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
173
Motherboard
X1 Carbon 6th
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
UHD620
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just want to clarify(as least this my learning):

the custom resolution(or HiDPI) is not magic art that can overtake your (max.) native resolution capability. e.g. if your ext. monitor is 2560x1440, that the HiPDI is capable to get 1280x720(HiDPI), if you use RDM or SwtichRes and set to higher than 2560x1440, then it will be blurry! same thing as build-in display, if its native resolution is 1366x768, you will get blurry picture if you set to 1920x1080.

---------
Besides the method of add Overide (.plist) and change EDID, here is another one I tried for my U310 on HD4000 and successfully get (via HDMI) for external monitor at its native 2K resolution (i.e. 2560x1440), which was normally only 1920x1080 allowed.:

---------
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
737
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have an Acer XV273K (4K / 120hz), and am able to select 3840x2160@120hz and 1920x1080@120hz HiDPI and everything works correctly. However, for the other intermediate scaling options like "Looks like 2560x1440", I can only select 60hz refresh rate.

I've tried creating custom resolutions in SwitchResX but I can't create anything that's not a 2x resolution. I've seen the guides for DisplayOverrides but they always mention creating 2x resolutions too... not something in between like I'm trying to use here. Any tips?
Since you have a 4K display, make sure that "Scaled resolution base" is set to 3840 x 2160. This seems to be the case already, as you are able to select 1920x1080@120hz HiDPI - but check SwitchResX to verify that the timing used by that resolution is 3840x2160@120Hz. Actually, I am curious to see a screenshot of the timing info from SwitchResX, as 4K120Hz is near limit of 8 bit color DisplayPort 1.4 without display stream compression. I would like to know if the timing differs from the CVT-RB calculation of SwitchResX.

For "Looks like 2560x1440" you need to create a custom resolution that is a scaled resolution of 5120x2880.
After that, since you are able to select 1920x1080@120Hz HiDPI, you should now be able to select 2560x1440@HiDPI also (they should both use the 3840x2160@120Hz timing).

I am unable to find a method that results in multiple refresh rates for a scaled timing. For example, I can create several 4K timings (30Hz, 40Hz, 50 Hz, 60Hz) and a 5K scaled resolution, but the scaled resolution uses only one of the 4K timings (the one with the lowest refresh rate). This is probably a limitation of Apple's graphics drivers.
 
Top