Contribute
Register

Adding AMD 280x graphics card

Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
91
Motherboard
Asus z97 Sabertooth Mark II
CPU
i7-4790k
Graphics
ASUS ROG STRIX 480x 8GB
Hello,
So everywhere Ive read it says AMD 280x graphics cards work out of the box, but when I added my card in and tried to boot up, verbose freezes at [FONT=Helvetica Neue, Helvetica, Arial, Lucida Grande, sans-serif]"IO80211AWDLPeerManager::setAwdlAutoMode Resuming AWDL" Ive fiddled with different settings between changing frame buffer adding ATI, and disabling internal graphics and every combination of those three but is still seems to freeze at the same spot. Currently my system works great running el capitan with internal graphics on my asus z97 sabertooth mark II, and an Intel I7 4790k CPU. Anything anyone can think of? Thanks![/FONT]
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
91
Motherboard
Asus z97 Sabertooth Mark II
CPU
i7-4790k
Graphics
ASUS ROG STRIX 480x 8GB
Darn...yeah its an xfx. Alright ill try that. Do I have to reflash the vbios on the card or can I add it to clover and select that as the vbios? The reason is I have windows and mac and I know sometimes other vbios's have problems in windows.
Is it worth getting a different graphics card? If so which one?
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,720
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
Intel i5-6600K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I think this can be done in Clover, I never did that myself though. Otherwise you'd have to flash a different BIOS. If your card has a dual BIOS this is very easy, because you can easily recover from a brick.

Because of recent AMD Radeon issues I'd advice against getting another AMD card (for now). E.g. a used GTX 770 would be a comparable choice, which is working fully OOB.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,960
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
Core i7-3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Darn...yeah its an xfx. Alright ill try that. Do I have to reflash the vbios on the card or can I add it to clover and select that as the vbios? The reason is I have windows and mac and I know sometimes other vbios's have problems in windows.
Is it worth getting a different graphics card? If so which one?
Id stay away from XFX ATI Radeon GPUs if your going to use it in OS X. They have problems.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
91
Motherboard
Asus z97 Sabertooth Mark II
CPU
i7-4790k
Graphics
ASUS ROG STRIX 480x 8GB
So I built this machine to be a Final Cut Pro powerhouse. With that being said and a let's say $300ish budget for a graphics card what do you guys reccomend?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
52
Motherboard
Inspiron 15 5570
CPU
Intel Core i5 8250U
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Id stay away from XFX ATI Radeon GPUs if your going to use it in OS X. They have problems.
My XFX 280x is working perfectly with El Capitan. Granted sleep isn't working, just like the rest of the newer AMD cards.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
91
Motherboard
Asus z97 Sabertooth Mark II
CPU
i7-4790k
Graphics
ASUS ROG STRIX 480x 8GB
My XFX 280x is working perfectly with El Capitan. Granted sleep isn't working, just like the rest of the newer AMD cards.
Any chance you can do me a huuuuge favor and check what vBIOS you have? That would help me so much. Also what system def do you have?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
52
Motherboard
Inspiron 15 5570
CPU
Intel Core i5 8250U
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Any chance you can do me a huuuuge favor and check what vBIOS you have? That would help me so much. Also what system def do you have?
I'm using 14.2 as my system definition. Can tell me how to check my vBIOS? I'd be glad to help with that, also including my config.plist my hackintosh uses.

Edit: Attached screenshot of vBIOS
Screenshot.gif
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top