ACL issue (persists)

Discussion in 'General Help' started by Say Heading, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. Say Heading

    Say Heading

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Mobo:
    Z68X-UD7-B3 (F10)
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte HD5770 Silent Cell GV-R577SL-1GD
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2011 at 12:08 PM #1
    Say Heading

    Say Heading

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Mobo:
    Z68X-UD7-B3 (F10)
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte HD5770 Silent Cell GV-R577SL-1GD
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Having a couple of problems with 10.7.2 at the moment I have been stumbling across this issue:

    Whenever I repair permissions with disk utility on my main HD I always get the same status and repair report. (see attachment)

    ACL found but not expected on "private/var/root/Library"
    "private/var/root/Library" has been repaired
    ACL found but not expected on "private/var/root/Library/Preferences"
    "private/var/root/Library/Preferences" has been repaired

    Well it is reported to have been repaired but always reappears on the next check.
    How can I get rid of this?

    One more background info: My user accounts (except admin) have been moved to a different hard drive by using the options of the log in window. Now I can not repair permissions on this separate HD as it is not recognized as system HD. Could this contribute?

    Cheers, SH
     

    Attached Files:

    • ACL found.jpg  (84.5 KB, 209 views)
  2. Mak 1

    Mak 1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G
    CPU:
    Intel Core2Duo E6420
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX 650
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2011 at 12:44 PM #2
    Mak 1

    Mak 1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G
    CPU:
    Intel Core2Duo E6420
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX 650
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This is from Apple support.

    Resolution
    You can safely ignore these messages. You can also usually ignore any "ACL found but not expected..." message. These messages can occur if you change permissions on a file or directory; they are accurate, but generally not a cause for concern.

    And also google for it for further info.
     
  3. Say Heading

    Say Heading

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Mobo:
    Z68X-UD7-B3 (F10)
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte HD5770 Silent Cell GV-R577SL-1GD
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2011 at 12:57 PM #3
    Say Heading

    Say Heading

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Mobo:
    Z68X-UD7-B3 (F10)
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte HD5770 Silent Cell GV-R577SL-1GD
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    That was quick, thanks a lot :thumbup:

    I must have changed something in those moved user folders (on a different HD) which I assume shows up while checking the boot HD.
    As I also have access problems once in a while (no log in into user accounts possible after boot) which I normally can solve by repairing permissions on the boot HD, I´d also like to set those permissions in the user folders back to normal.
    Maybe I will have to move them back to the boot HD temporarily for a repair session?

    Cheers, SH
     
  4. karacho

    karacho

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,729
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i5-4690K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon RX 560 Pulse 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 3, 2011 at 1:11 PM #4
    karacho

    karacho

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,729
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i5-4690K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon RX 560 Pulse 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Just ignore it like mentioned from Apple. There's no disadvantage with that. If you have any problems to login on any User Account, boot in single user mode using -s at the bootscreen and delete the /private/var/audit folder
     
  5. Mak 1

    Mak 1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G
    CPU:
    Intel Core2Duo E6420
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX 650
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2011 at 1:24 PM #5
    Mak 1

    Mak 1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G
    CPU:
    Intel Core2Duo E6420
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX 650
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I am not sure about these settings. They are related to UUID and other stuff and they are connected to each other, if you change one of them they may conflict with others, and cause you login issues.

    I had this issue long time ago, I changed something in Advanced Settings of my account in User & Groups Section. I ended up with reinstalling again. From that that i don't touch it again :)
     
  6. Say Heading

    Say Heading

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Mobo:
    Z68X-UD7-B3 (F10)
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte HD5770 Silent Cell GV-R577SL-1GD
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2011 at 3:34 PM #6
    Say Heading

    Say Heading

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Mobo:
    Z68X-UD7-B3 (F10)
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte HD5770 Silent Cell GV-R577SL-1GD
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Gentleman, this starts to look like a thursday afternoon tee private discussion :cool:

    Well, ignorance is one of my best developed skills...
    Ask my wife.


    I´m thinking about doing so anyway, just to try a clean lion installation without any leopard leftovers and to see how it goes. Becoming independend of 10.6.x for future installations in case I should need it urgently. I´m just hesitating as I don´t trust in a reliable restoration of all currently installed program by TimeMachine.
    Up to now it always required a lot of handmade corrections when I tried it.
     
  7. Mak 1

    Mak 1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G
    CPU:
    Intel Core2Duo E6420
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX 650
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 4, 2011 at 3:10 PM #7
    Mak 1

    Mak 1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G
    CPU:
    Intel Core2Duo E6420
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX 650
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I´m thinking about doing so anyway, just to try a clean lion installation without any leopard leftovers and to see how it goes. Becoming independend of 10.6.x for future installations in case I should need it urgently. I´m just hesitating as I don´t trust in a reliable restoration of all currently installed program by TimeMachine.
    Up to now it always required a lot of handmade corrections when I tried it.[/quote:3dgi2go6]

    I recommend you to Backup your things Manually and make a clean install. The best way to get things working right. :thumbup:
     

Share This Page