Contribute
Register

Acer Aspire V5-171 Notebook?

Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
47
Motherboard
HP Envy TouchSmart Sleekbook m6-k025dx
CPU
i5-4200U/HM86
Graphics
HD 4400/1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm reading the Acer Aspire V5-171 Notebook review at AnandTech.com and I'm wondering how it would do with Mountain Lion on it. Specs for the specific model they reviewed are as follows
- Processor - Intel Core i5-3317U (2x1.7GHz + HTT, 2.6GHz Turbo, 22nm, 3MB L3, 17W)
- Chipset - Intel HM77
- Memory - 4GB Nanya DDR3-1333 + 2GB Nanya DDR3-1333
- Graphics - Intel HD 4000 Graphics (350-1050MHz, 16 EUs)
- Display 11.6" LED Glossy 16:9 1366x768 AU Optronics B116XW03 V2
- Hard Drive(s)- Seagate Momentus Thin 500GB 5400-RPM SATA 3Gbps HDD (7mm)
- Optical Drive - None
- Networking - Broadcom NetLink Gigabit Ethernet, Qualcomm Atheros AR5BWB222 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth 4.0
- Audio - Realtek ALC269 HD Audio, Stereo speakers, Combo mic/headphone jack
- Extras - 720p HD webcam, Flash reader (SD/Mini SD, MS/Duo/Pro/Pro Duo)

I don't care a whole lot if stuff like the webcam and flash reader don't work, but having working networking is a requirement (Bluetooth is nice but not necessary). Sound is also a requirement.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
inspiron e1405
CPU
c2d
Graphics
gma950
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi! have the same laptop, InsydeH20 v 2.01, and video ram set at 128mb (can't change it in bios)...set bios to legacy bios...and was only able to get tot the installer on a Unibeast USB by using the flags:

-v -x

Ran the installer, it asked me for bluetooth keyboard, just pressed "spacebar" to ignore it...proceeded with OSX install on target drive.
Installed OSX 10.8.2 that way, rebooted system, chose to boot from Unibeast USB, chose the newly installed OSX drive, and had to use the following flag:

PCIRootUID=1

Got to the initial OSX set up...and used the latest Multibeast 5.2.1 (which has Chimera 1.11.1)...used only the "UserDSDT or DSDT-Free Installation"...also installed using kextbeast the following:

AppleACPIPlatform.kext
NullCPUPowerManagement.kext

Made sure org.chameleon.Boot.plist has the flags:

PCIRootUID=1
GraphicsEnabler=Yes (Yes or No no difference, no QE/CI either way)
Graphics Mode = 1366x768x32

Rebooted system, logged back in...no QE/CI...tried the different EFI strings for device-properties...but the Acer v5-171 still no QE/CI...even upgraded to the latest Chimera 2.0.1...since Chimera >= 1.11.1 should get QE/CI for HD4000...but still no QE/CI...!
Even used the HD4000PlatformId = [0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]...but still no QE/CI...

At this point system has correct resolution, restarts/shutsdown ok, but I wanted to get QE/CI b4 sound (latest VoodooHDA might work), and wifi (external dongle, most likely)...

Any ideas, would be great! Thanks!
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
217
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Great stuff. I'd almost given up. Maybe next we need a DSDT (should make audio work without Voodoo)?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
217
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
I read here that the video BIOS must match the correct size to work so maybe thats our problem.

http://blog.stuffedcow.net/2012/07/intel-hd4000-qeci-acceleration/

We could try the manual HD4000 method and try each combination and see if it works but I suspect a BIOS edit might be needed?

EDIT: People already requesting such things

http://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread-UNLOCKED-Acer-Aspire-V5-171-Unlock-Request

EDIT2: Without BIOS mod we cannot get HD4000 it seems

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/87481-hd4000-working-acer-aspire-v3-571g.html
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
inspiron e1405
CPU
c2d
Graphics
gma950
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
QE/CI now works! no bios hacking/unlocking needed...used the info for lenovo t430 here:

http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-lion-laptop-support/89198-hd4000-not-working-lenovo-t430u.html#post558304

The device-properties string worked beautifully...! System properties now shows IntelHD4000 with 384mb...! Thanks marko93b for the info...

BTW, webcam seems to work...

So, now, if there's a way to get the brightness control (not sure how to do it in dsdt), sound (VoodooHDA most likely?), external dongle for wifi....would be great! other stuffs on the wish list, though secondary, would be sleep, or speedstep...not sure if the card reader works...thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
217
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Excellent...

Dont have access to mine right now (away from home) to do same but can I make some suggestions??

1) Extract DSDT and post here (we can see if we can get some help to edit it) as DSDT would enable us to use Apple audio and not Voodoo. Neater solution.

2) DSDT may also help with Sleep etc issues

3) WiFi - just get a new WiFi card ($5-10) that is compatible. Its easy to open this machine!

4) Write a guide and post that as a new thread. When I am back I will happily help with whatever needs doing to get it all working and the guide up to date. Then we have a great resource for others, future reinstalls etc.

Great job. Well done!
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
217
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Mine came on BIOS 2.04...

Realistically we need to be on same BIOS for the DSDT to work - which one? I have no idea what ACER mean about BIOS not being for Upgrades of Win8. I think all 1.xx BIOS are BIOS and no UEFI and all 2.xx are UEFI also...

BIOS Acer BIOS - UEFI for Windows 8 (Not for Upgrades) 2.09 6.8 MB 2013/01/07
BIOS Acer BIOS 1.09 7.2 MB 2012/12/11
BIOS Acer BIOS - UEFI for Windows 8 (Not for Upgrades) 2.08 6.8 MB 2012/11/26
BIOS Acer BIOS 1.08 7.2 MB 2012/11/13
BIOS Acer BIOS - UEFI for Windows 8 (Not for Upgrades) 2.07 6.8 MB 2012/11/12
BIOS Acer BIOS - UEFI for Windows 8 (Not for Upgrades) 2.06 6.8 MB 2012/10/22
BIOS Acer BIOS - UEFI for Windows 8 (Not for Upgrades) 2.04 6.8 MB 2012/10/02
BIOS Acer BIOS 1.06 10.2 MB 2012/09/24
BIOS Acer BIOS 1.05 12.0 MB 2012/08/13

Extracting a DSDT is easy - boot a Linux Live CD (like Ubuntu) and type

sudo cat /sys/firmware/acpi/tables/DSDT >dsdt.aml

Then that file is what needs to be editted to allow Sound to work without VoodooHDA.
Example, here is the DSDT.aml (without any edits) from 2.04
 

Attachments

Top