Contribute
Register

AC Adapter weirdness

Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
HP Pavillion a6567c
CPU
Quad 2 Core Q6600 7GB Ram
Graphics
Diamond Multimedia ATI AMD Radeon HD 6570 2GB GDDR3 Dual Link DVI 6570PE32G
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
I have been having great success and learning quiet a bit, with installing Yosemite on my HP Envy 15-k000 i7-4710HQ 16GB 1TB Backlit (hardwired?) Keyboard w/ Blu-ray Writer. But one thing that is really odd that has been happening is that I can't seem to boot properly with the AC Adapter plugged in. This one is kinda weird to explain so I will attach a pic of the half-a$$ed boot error. The error keeps looping forever and ever UNLESS I pull the adapter. If I unplug it, then boot resumes as normal. I can plug it back in after I reach the desktop and it charges just fine. I saw a Rehabman patch called something like "AC Adapter Fix" but it didn't seem to make any difference on my laptop. Also when the adapter is plugged in, it charges fine but the Console fills with the messages:

"powerd[27]: Failed to read current rating(0xe00002f0)"

Not sure how to approach this issue?
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have been having great success and learning quiet a bit, with installing Yosemite on my HP Envy 15-k000 i7-4710HQ 16GB 1TB Backlit (hardwired?) Keyboard w/ Blu-ray Writer. But one thing that is really odd that has been happening is that I can't seem to boot properly with the AC Adapter plugged in. This one is kinda weird to explain so I will attach a pic of the half-a$$ed boot error. The error keeps looping forever and ever UNLESS I pull the adapter. If I unplug it, then boot resumes as normal. I can plug it back in after I reach the desktop and it charges just fine. I saw a Rehabman patch called something like "AC Adapter Fix" but it didn't seem to make any difference on my laptop. Also when the adapter is plugged in, it charges fine but the Console fills with the messages:

"powerd[27]: Failed to read current rating(0xe00002f0)"

Not sure how to approach this issue?
Try removing AppleSmartBatteryManager.kext (or just rename it to .bak). Make sure you rebuild cache.

Is your FakeSMC.kext up-to-date?
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
HP Pavillion a6567c
CPU
Quad 2 Core Q6600 7GB Ram
Graphics
Diamond Multimedia ATI AMD Radeon HD 6570 2GB GDDR3 Dual Link DVI 6570PE32G
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
So I removed AppleSmartBatteryManager.kext and backed it up to the desktop, rebuilt the cache and rebooted and still no change. My FakeSMC is Version 1364. I searched google but there doesn't seem to be a newer version. Also, I have the same FakeSMC.kext in both, EFI/Clover/kexts/10.10/ and in S/L/E/. Should I remove one of them? Or will it matter? Lastly, I saw a russian forum this morning, when I googled my error and translated the page with google and they didn't seem to have a solution either, but they were talking more about the console output "powerd[27]: Failed to read current rating(0xe00002f0)"
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I removed AppleSmartBatteryManager.kext and backed it up to the desktop, rebuilt the cache and rebooted and still no change. My FakeSMC is Version 1364. I searched google but there doesn't seem to be a newer version. Also, I have the same FakeSMC.kext in both, EFI/Clover/kexts/10.10/ and in S/L/E/. Should I remove one of them? Or will it matter? Lastly, I saw a russian forum this morning, when I googled my error and translated the page with google and they didn't seem to have a solution either, but they were talking more about the console output "powerd[27]: Failed to read current rating(0xe00002f0)"
The powerd "failed to read current rating..." is normal. Your boot problem is something else.

Note: Your profile does not contain any specs on the laptop you're working with. And you haven't mentioned how you installed or which bootloader you're using. You also haven't mentioned how far you're into the process (patched DSDT/SSDTs, etc.). Your laptop is similar to the HP Envy I had. You may wish to look at my patch repo: https://github.com/RehabMan/HP-Envy-DSDT-Patch
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2014
Messages
31
Motherboard
Acer Aspire E1-572-6870
CPU
Intel i5 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD 4400
Mobile Phone
Android

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Rehabman,

The powerd error is normal when using your branch of the Kozlek FakeSMC, but it can be patched by adding the following key into the "Keys" section of Info.plist (at least for me):

Code:
<key>ACID</key>
<array>
     <string>ch8*</string>
     <data>
     ut7DNVAFEGM=
     </data>
</array>
Source: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/285678-lenovo-thinkpad-t420-with-uefi-only/page-25#entry1952283

I'm sure this would not fix OP's issue, but I wasn't sure if you were aware of this :)
I figured it would need something like that, but I haven't been in the position to take a look at it.

Perhaps even kozlek has already added it to his version.

I'll take a look at it later (eg. make the change and test it).
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
248
Motherboard
Lenovo T440S / Toshiba X205-SLI6 / Toshiba C850 / Dell T110 / Lenovo T410 / MP3,1 / MBP4,1
CPU
i5 4300U / T9300 / i3 3110M / 8x 2.8Ghz Xeon / i5 560m / 8x 3.2Ghz X5482 / T9300
Graphics
HD4400 / 2x 8600M GT / Intel HD4000 / Intel IronLake / HD5770 / 8800GT & GTX650 / 8600M GT
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I figured it would need something like that, but I haven't been in the position to take a look at it.

Perhaps even kozlek has already added it to his version.

I'll take a look at it later (eg. make the change and test it).
I added this key to your latest available build (download 2014-1016) and I've stopped seeing this line logged in the system.log file.
Prior to adding this line I would log this error about every 30 seconds the entire time the system was on.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I added this key to your latest available build (download 2014-1016) and I've stopped seeing this line logged in the system.log file.
Prior to adding this line I would log this error about every 30 seconds the entire time the system was on.
Do you have any background on where the type (ch8*) and value (badec33550051063) for this key comes from?
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
248
Motherboard
Lenovo T440S / Toshiba X205-SLI6 / Toshiba C850 / Dell T110 / Lenovo T410 / MP3,1 / MBP4,1
CPU
i5 4300U / T9300 / i3 3110M / 8x 2.8Ghz Xeon / i5 560m / 8x 3.2Ghz X5482 / T9300
Graphics
HD4400 / 2x 8600M GT / Intel HD4000 / Intel IronLake / HD5770 / 8800GT & GTX650 / 8600M GT
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Do you have any background on where the type (ch8*) and value (ba de c3 35 50 05 10 63) for this key comes from?
Based on some searching after you asked this I think its from a MacBook Pro .. just not sure what version ..

But you can download a SMC dump for the MacBook Air 6,2 here:
http://tdev.me/2010/12/apple-hardware-dumps/#MacBookAir6,2

From the SMC key dump in that file there is:
Code:
  ACID  [ch8*]  (bytes 85 fc 04 4d d8 12 7a f4)
I think I'll change the value to match the one from an actual Air 6,2 as it would seem to make more sense to use a matching one to the hardware we are presenting ourselves as.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
248
Motherboard
Lenovo T440S / Toshiba X205-SLI6 / Toshiba C850 / Dell T110 / Lenovo T410 / MP3,1 / MBP4,1
CPU
i5 4300U / T9300 / i3 3110M / 8x 2.8Ghz Xeon / i5 560m / 8x 3.2Ghz X5482 / T9300
Graphics
HD4400 / 2x 8600M GT / Intel HD4000 / Intel IronLake / HD5770 / 8800GT & GTX650 / 8600M GT
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've made the change and rebooted...

After some more research I've found that this controls what shows up when your AC adapter is connected.
See more info here:
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/285678-lenovo-thinkpad-t420-with-uefi-only/?p=2109912

I see a single instance of the power message logged during boot but then it doesn't re-appear. Where as it was logged every every 30 seconds or so.
The Thinkpad actually has a 65 watt charger so it may make more sense to use a ACID key from a MacBook that also has the 65w charger rather than using the MBA charger specs.
 

Attachments

Top