CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
GTX 1050
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I'm finally going to bite the bullet and actually purchase an Apple iMac. I've been running with my Hack for a few years now and it has been great. However, considering it's a bit to keep up with and it is no where NEAR as asthetically pleasing as an iMac would be in my bedroom I'm getting a brand new iMac. I don't have time to keep up with a Hack as a hobby.

So, after rambling about that, here are my questions:

What is the correct and proper way to back up a hackintosh to restore to a real Mac? Right now I've used Time Machine but I excluded /Extras & /System/Library/Extensions and those other files in root that are created with the new Chimera for the iMessage fix. I have some kext that are crucial for my hack but ofcourse not so with a real Mac. Some of which are modified "Apple" kext that I don't want to write over with.

I am incredibly undecided on which processor to go with! Most of my use on a computer is just simple browsing, emails, Netflix, youtube videos, etc. I do however also use it to host my Plex Media Server to stream my movies over to my smart tv. In order to do this I take my home dvd's and convert them to .mp4 using HandBrake. I may convert 2-3 movies a week and sometimes not at all over a week's time. From what I understand, hyperthreading is extremely benficial for transcoding. So, just your opinion, is it worth the extra $200? (this is on the 21.5" model. Options are Quad-Core i5 @ 2.9 ghz or Quad-Core i7 @ 3.1 ghz). How much faster would the i7 be when transcoding? I read somewhere that it'll be somewhere around 20%-25% faster. In your opinion, is that worth it? I don't game or design so I can't think of anything else that hyperthreading would benefit me.