A1115 Apple Bluetooth pin out

Discussion in 'Customization' started by c64, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. c64

    c64

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    gb z68mx-ud2h-b3
    CPU:
    i7-2600k
    Graphics:
    amd radeon hd 6750
    Mar 28, 2012 at 1:58 AM #1
    c64

    c64

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    gb z68mx-ud2h-b3
    CPU:
    i7-2600k
    Graphics:
    amd radeon hd 6750
    I pulled an A1115 bluetooth module out of an iMac7,1 and connected it to my hackintosh.

    Luckily there are 4 pads on the back of the module to make soldering fun and easy. This will require 4 solder connections.

    The module uses 3.3V power, which can be found from the power supply of all places. I used the orange and black wires. These pads are marked.

    The data connections are unmarked, but they are the only other pads near the connector. I soldered short leads and spliced this to a USB connector. I did not use power from the USB, so be sure to dress the loose wires so that you don't have flames coming from your hackintosh.

    I tested this in my Sandy Bridge hackintosh running Lion 10.7.3 and it discovered the bluetooth hub just fine. I was able to pair my keyboard and trackpad.

    I haven't tested it extensively, but I did notice that if I try to make it sleep, it will try to sleep, but wake up immediately instead. Am I suppose to install some sort of bluetooth helper?

    IMG_5499_small.jpg

    IMG_5501_small.jpg

    IMG_5508_small.jpg

    bluetooth_profile.jpg

    edit: cleared up ambiguity about sleep
     
    jaapsnor likes this.

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_5499_small.jpg  (356.8 KB, 1,339 views)
    • IMG_5501_small.jpg  (321.3 KB, 1,769 views)
    • IMG_5508_small.jpg  (383.2 KB, 1,841 views)
    • bluetooth_profile.jpg  (58.3 KB, 914 views)
  2. neophyter

    neophyter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    gigabyte p55a-ud6
    CPU:
    I7
    Graphics:
    670GTX
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 28, 2012 at 12:46 AM #2
    neophyter

    neophyter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    gigabyte p55a-ud6
    CPU:
    I7
    Graphics:
    670GTX
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    hi thx for sharing

    with me it does not seem to work
     
  3. visusest

    visusest

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 3, 2012 at 2:49 AM #3
    visusest

    visusest

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the primer - found a module on ebay for $15.

    I can confirm this works. I'm pulling power of of the PCI-E bus.

    Full tutorial will follow when I have time to take pics.
     
  4. Adriatico

    Adriatico

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    May 4, 2012 at 2:27 PM #4
    Adriatico

    Adriatico

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Why's that??
     
  5. jaapsnor

    jaapsnor

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-HD3P-rev-10
    CPU:
    i5-6600
    Graphics:
    GeForce® GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    May 27, 2017 at 1:22 AM #5
    jaapsnor

    jaapsnor

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-HD3P-rev-10
    CPU:
    i5-6600
    Graphics:
    GeForce® GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Thanks, it inspired me to do the same, apple bt keyboard an mouse are back in business! (no handoff though, but that is no deal breaker for me). I suggest to use thinner wires and guide these over the print for long term reliability. I used wire-wrapping wire which also made the soldering easier.

    IMG_2820.JPG IMG_2821.JPG Screenshot 2017-05-27 07.20.24.png
     

Share This Page