Contribute
Register

A Beginner's Guide to Creating a Custom USB SSDT

Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
Msi z270 pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi, where did you see 8 port i can see only 2 x USB 2 and 2 x USB 3.1.
However yesterday i did as you said , leave on stand alone header the Bluetooth and connect only the Cooling on the hub for test but still giving this problem . The problem is the hub , i dont understand
The port now are correctly configured
Screenshot 2019-07-17 at 22.41.28.png
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,417
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, where did you see 8 port i can see only 2 x USB 2 and 2 x USB 3.1.
However yesterday i did as you said , leave on stand alone header the Bluetooth and connect only the Cooling on the hub for test but still giving this problem . The problem is the hub , i dont understand
The port now are correctly configured
View attachment 417022
Hi there.

I got the 8x ports from the MSI manual and website. You have ringed them all in red on your graphics. Remember each socket is 2x ports etc. JUSB1 and JUSB2 total 4x USB 2.0 ports and JUSB3 and JUSB4 total 4x USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports.

If you connected the bluetooth to a separate header - I would recommend either JUSB1 (1 or 2) or JUSB2 (1 or 2) then it should be configurable as a UsbConnector 255 which will cure the wake/sleep problems.

I don't know anything about the hub you are using, but it should not affect any other ports other than the one it is connected to.

I'm glad you have configured all your ports :thumbup:
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
Msi z270 pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I have two hub both are give me problem , even if I disconnect every thing from the internal port jusb 1 or 2 and I connect only the hub to one of those two port I have sleep problem what can be
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,417
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have two hub both are give me problem , even if I disconnect every thing from the internal port jusb 1 or 2 and I connect only the hub to one of those two port I have sleep problem what can be
Hello,

Originally the problem you had was that your ports were identified wrongly. That was something that could be addressed by this guide - and you say you have done that now :thumbup:.

The hub problem is something different.

The problems with USB ports waking a PC are usually because a device is "polling" the port checking for any activity. When this happens the PC wakes-up to check what it is required to do.

If you configure an Internal header as "UsbConnector" with a type "255", this is prevented from happening.

With the 4x USB ports on the motherboard I would connect 1x to the bluetooth header, 1x your RGB fan and 1x to your H100i. This still leaves you with the 1x USB2.0 and 4x USB3.1 ports free.

There is a problem though. Most USB plugs - the bluetooth one for example - take up 2x port positions even though they are only wired for 1x port. A 9-pin USB2 header is actually 2x ports even though only 1x is used (as your diagram above shows). This can be frustrating and require separate 5-pin plugs or a splitter to get access to them.

Okay, for general configuration of your motherboard's USB ports ...

Your back-plate gives you 6x ports controlled by the Intel chipset (forget the ASMedia ones for now). 2x are USB2, the other 4x are USB3. This makes a total of 10x USB ports (USB2 and USB3 etc) to configure using the guide. Next you have 4x USB2 and 4xUSB3.1 internal ports. If you ignore those internal USB3.1 ports for now and just add the USB2 internal ports to the total back-panel ports, you get a grand total of 14 ports to configure.

(You can, of course, use the internal USB3.1 ports for your front-panel and sacrifice back-panel ports to keep to the total of 15).

If you do that you should not need to use the hub at all.

:)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
Msi z270 pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Ok I will try again to configure the ports
If I don't want sacrifice front panel so I use one of the internal 3.1 connector can I set same USB 3.1 in the back panel only like usb2 so to set USB connector instead of 3 i set 0( this because most of the back port are used only from 2.0 equipment)

Thank you for your time I really appreciate always very helpful
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,417
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
... so to set USB connector instead of 3 i set 0 ...
Ah, no. That will only change how the port appears. It will still be a live port. What you need to do is, for example, choose the actual ports you want, not my examples here:

HS01 = SS01 miss out the SS port in your template
HS02 = SS02 miss out the HS port in your template
HS03 = SS03

etc etc

So by missing out the ports you do not need you keep within the 15-port limit :thumbup:

I am glad you are making progress:thumbup:
That's good.

:)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
Msi z270 pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Aaaaa thank you I understand finally so it will be a challenge , I will try to sort out and I will let you know
Thank you again
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
Msi z270 pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Last question if I keep connected fisically something but I disable hs0.. /ss0.. from the aml so valid ( this is to use when I boot in Windows) or I still exeede the 15 port limit
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,417
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Last question if I keep connected fisically something but I disable hs0.. /ss0.. from the aml so valid ( this is to use when I boot in Windows) or I still exeede the 15 port limit
If you exclude it from the *.aml it will be "invisible" to macOS but will be fine for Windows :thumbup:

(It will still take power though).
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
Msi z270 pro carbon
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
If you exclude it from the *.aml it will be "invisible" to macOS but will be fine for Windows :thumbup:

(It will still take power though).

Hi again,

To check how this hub was working i disable all 3.1 back panel usb , i left only the internal 4 USB 2.0 and the 2 back panel USB 2.0 , attached is the .aml that i copy in patch.

Result , if i connect the hub to one of the intenal port HS11/12 or HS7/8 and on the hub i connect USB2.0 front panel with usb pen inserted, Processor cooling Corsair H100i or Bluetooth is not going to sleep, any of this inserted without hub does not gave me any problem.

In the forum i saw that are using my same hub, i dont think is because i reach more 15 port i disable all port
 

Attachments

Top