Contribute
Register

A Beginner's Guide to Creating a Custom USB SSDT

Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
300
Motherboard
GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
CPU
i5 7400
Graphics
HD630
Classic Mac
Classic, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the tip! I couldn't find an exact match for NFL 11000, but I did find other fresco logic cards that look like they might work. Like this one. And I would order it too, except that I've already ordered the Gigabyte Alpine Ridge thunderbolt three card.
Stymied again! The Alpine Ridge card requires installation of a Windows driver. I have Windows 7 on hard drive. I have never tested it with my current setup. I wonder if I won't have to create another disk with Windows 10 to get the Alpine Ridge card working. In the meantime I'm going to try the Inateck USB three add-on card and see if that is plug-and-play, as some have said.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi all, have problem that config doesn't work, where i have missing something or what i doing wrong? OS 10.13.6 (17G7024) 09hs and 10hs is front panel.
Hello.

Check the "port count" in your SSDT.

You have posted the compiled .aml rather than the template .dsl, but it looks as though "port-count" is set at "0x00" instead of the actual highest port of "0x16".

Also remember when you use the SSDT you no longer need the port-limit removal patch.

:)
 
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170N-WIFI
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there,

According to Gigabyte your motherboard has 6x USB3.0/2.0 ports and 2x USB2.0/1.0 ports. Plus the USB-C port. So if we double-up the USB 3.0 ports that is 14-ports, then add the USB 2.0 ports, we get a total of 16 possible configs. I agree its a good idea to just configure the USB-C as USB3.0. They do work with USB2.0 but it's unlikely that you will be plugging in USB 2.0 devices there. That gets you neatly down to the 15 limit.

1) With a custom SSDT of course you can configure as many as you like, missing out ones you can do without, but remember you need to use USBInjectAll.kext to open up all the SS ports beyond HS14. Without it you will only have the 'first' 15 available - HS01 to HS14 + SS01 usually. What's more to actually see them, you need the correct port-limit removal patch in place.

2) A USB-C connector can be "UsbConnector", 10 or "UsbConnector", 9 depending on whether or not turning the plug over changes the port address it is attached to. As you point out there's no point configuring HS07, in your example, if it is USB2 on the USB-C port if you are not going to use it - unless you choose to.

3) Once the SSDT is created you can remove the port-limit patch but you should keep USBInjectAll.kext.

4) As far as I can tell at quick glance, your SSDT template looks fine.

:)
Hey, thanks for the info but Im not sure how you got to 16 ports total...
here is the list form gigabytes website for my motherboard, I think its a little misleading:
  1. 2 x USB 2.0/1.1 ports available through the internal USB header
  2. 6 x USB 3.0/2.0 ports (4 ports on the back panel, 2 ports available through the internal USB header)
  3. 1 x USB Type-C™ port on the back panel, with USB 3.0 support
2 physical ports on the internal header = HS01/HS02
4 physical usb 3 ports (plus the 2 usb 2 ports on the internal header) = HS03 HS04 HS05 HS06/SS03 SS04 SS05 SS06 PLUS the ones already mentioned as HS01 and HS02 which are on the internal header.
1 usb type C port HS07/SS07

+ HS08 which is the wifi/bluetooth module. (not listed as part of the USB chipset in gigabytes website)

So that makes a grand total of 13 ports, minus the 2 internal ports which I'm not using that's 11 ports that need to be configured in the SSDT and it means I can use the usb C port with both speeds otherwise I'm down to 10 ports.

So is it ok to leave 11 ports while the port limit is 15? Already answered YES, my mistake I didn't notice.
And how do I remove the port limit patch after I've installed the SSDT?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey, thanks for the info but Im not sure how you got to 16 ports total...
here is the list form gigabytes website for my motherboard, I think its a little misleading:
  1. 2 x USB 2.0/1.1 ports available through the internal USB header
  2. 6 x USB 3.0/2.0 ports (4 ports on the back panel, 2 ports available through the internal USB header)
  3. 1 x USB Type-C™ port on the back panel, with USB 3.0 support
2 physical ports on the internal header = HS01/HS02
4 physical usb 3 ports (plus the 2 usb 2 ports on the internal header) = HS03 HS04 HS05 HS06/SS03 SS04 SS05 SS06 PLUS the ones already mentioned as HS01 and HS02 which are on the internal header.
1 usb type C port HS07/SS07

+ HS08 which is the wifi/bluetooth module. (not listed as part of the USB chipset in gigabytes website)

So that makes a grand total of 13 ports, minus the 2 internal ports which I'm not using that's 11 ports that need to be configured in the SSDT and it means I can use the usb C port with both speeds otherwise I'm down to 10 ports.

So is it ok to leave 11 ports while the port limit is 15? Already answered YES, my mistake I didn't notice.
And how do I remove the port limit patch after I've installed the SSDT?
Okay,

For the port total:

6x USB 3/2 ports = 12x configurations (HS and SS)

2x USB 2 ports = 2x configurations (HS)

1x USB-C - which can operate as USB2 or 3 in theory = 2x configurations

Total = 16

As for HS08 - yes, that happens for special internal stuff. For example in my build HS10 was AWOL.

How you wish to configure them is your choice etc :thumbup:

Easiest way to remove the port-limit patch is with Clover Configurator. Either tick the disable boxes or edit them out etc.

:)
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
472
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
PowerColor RX590 Red Devil
Thanks for the tip! I couldn't find an exact match for NFL 11000, but I did find other fresco logic cards that look like they might work. Like this one. And I would order it too, except that I've already ordered the Gigabyte Alpine Ridge thunderbolt three card.
FL1100 is the USB chip that is natively supported by os x. when you search for that term on amazon, you will get references to pci-e cards that mention in their description that the card uses that chip. I didn't mean to say that you would find a card branded FL1100.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
472
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
PowerColor RX590 Red Devil
Stymied again! The Alpine Ridge card requires installation of a Windows driver. I have Windows 7 on hard drive. I have never tested it with my current setup. I wonder if I won't have to create another disk with Windows 10 to get the Alpine Ridge card working. In the meantime I'm going to try the Inateck USB three add-on card and see if that is plug-and-play, as some have said.
I have an inateck usb3 card and the chip on it is marked FL1100. check yours; it's probably the same. then you're good to go.
 
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
GA-H170M-DS3H
CPU
i5-6400
Graphics
GTX 750 Ti
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello.

Check the "port count" in your SSDT.

You have posted the compiled .aml rather than the template .dsl, but it looks as though "port-count" is set at "0x00" instead of the actual highest port of "0x16".

Also remember when you use the SSDT you no longer need the port-limit removal patch.

:)
Okay, maybe you can tell me simple way convert aml to dsl format back? Thanks for your advice!
 
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170N-WIFI
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mobile Phone
iOS
Okay,

For the port total:

6x USB 3/2 ports = 12x configurations (HS and SS)

2x USB 2 ports = 2x configurations (HS)

1x USB-C - which can operate as USB2 or 3 in theory = 2x configurations

Total = 16

As for HS08 - yes, that happens for special internal stuff. For example in my build HS10 was AWOL.

How you wish to configure them is your choice etc :thumbup:

Easiest way to remove the port-limit patch is with Clover Configurator. Either tick the disable boxes or edit them out etc.

:)
Either I'm really stupid or gigabyte got us both confused as hell.

They list the internal header as rated for USB 2.0 only (which is backwards compatible with 1.0)
so that makes the available ports on the internal header as HS01 and HS02 only.

But they ALSO include these 2 internal ports along side with the 4 physical blue USB 3.0 ports on the back
as saying that there are 6 possible USB 2.0 ports but only 4 USB 3.0 ports (plus the single USB-C which makes it 5)

So that means there could be no 12 configurations... as the internal header can't act as USB 3.0 so they can't appear as SS01 and SS02.

notice they how they list these ports:
6 x USB 3.0/2.0 ports (4 ports on the back panel, 2 ports available through the internal USB header)
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Okay, maybe you can tell me simple way convert aml to dsl format back? Thanks for your advice!
My suggestion was just check the "port-count" value etc. you have used. It doesn't look right. But if you are happy "0x00" is correct, that's fine. Sorry I couldn't help.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Either I'm really stupid or gigabyte got us both confused as hell.

They list the internal header as rated for USB 2.0 only (which is backwards compatible with 1.0)
so that makes the available ports on the internal header as HS01 and HS02 only.

But they ALSO include these 2 internal ports along side with the 4 physical blue USB 3.0 ports on the back
as saying that there are 6 possible USB 2.0 ports but only 4 USB 3.0 ports (plus the single USB-C which makes it 5)

So that means there could be no 12 configurations... as the internal header can't act as USB 3.0 so they can't appear as SS01 and SS02.

notice they how they list these ports:
As far as I can see the motherboard features two internal headers other than the wifi module. There is a twin USB 3.0 port header with 19-pins. You have labelled it HS01 & HS02. There is also a twin USB 2.0 port header with 9-pins. It is white and next to a similar audio header at the end of the PCIe slot.

To clarify, the ports you labelled HS01/02 are USB3.0 ports so SS also.

You therefore have 4x internal ports available - 2x USB3 and 2x USB2

Hope that helps
 
Top