Contribute
Register

980 ti working in Yosemite but not accelerated only 1 monitor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
68
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79 PRO
CPU
i7-3930K @ 3.2 GHz
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just recently upgraded from my old AMD 6870 to a Gigabyte Windforce OC 980 ti. I've been researching on the forums here and thanks to the great posts, I have my new card running. The problem is, it is performing worse than my previous card and the HDMI port is not working.

After installing the correct nvidia drivers, in order to get the card to boot, I used Chameleon Wizard to add the following boot args to my setup:
  • graphics enabler
  • Use Nvidia ROM
  • VBIOS
My second display is still not working and the performance is below my previous card in all programs (example: my cinebench score went from 85 w/ the 6870 to 74 w/ 980ti). I noticed there are many more options for graphics in Chameleon Wizard that are unknown to me, is there a chance that someone could point me to some recommended reading to figure out how to get both my displays working and full acceleration. Much appreciated, thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
68
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79 PRO
CPU
i7-3930K @ 3.2 GHz
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just recently upgraded from my old AMD 6870 to a Gigabyte Windforce OC 980 ti. I've been researching on the forums here and thanks to the great posts, I have my new card running. The problem is, it is performing worse than my previous card and the HDMI port is not working.

After installing the correct nvidia drivers, in order to get the card to boot, I used Chameleon Wizard to add the following boot args to my setup:
  • graphics enabler
  • Use Nvidia ROM
  • VBIOS
My second display is still not working and the performance is below my previous card in all programs (example: my cinebench score went from 85 w/ the 6870 to 74 w/ 980ti). I noticed there are many more options for graphics in Chameleon Wizard that are unknown to me, is there a chance that someone could point me to some recommended reading to figure out how to get both my displays working and full acceleration. Much appreciated, thanks!

Here is a simple comparison of benchmark to Stork's GTX 980 build just to prove something is not right here:
IMG_0429.JPG IMG_0430.JPG IMG_0425s.jpgIMG_0431.JPG
 
Last edited:

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,453
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
68
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79 PRO
CPU
i7-3930K @ 3.2 GHz
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks so much Adrian! So I disabled all my graphics options in Chameleon Wizard and changed my chameleon.boot.plist to the following:
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>IGPEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>kext-dev-mode=1 npci=0x2000 nvda_drv=1 InjectNvidia=False GraphicsEnabler=No </string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>SSDT</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Scan Single Drive</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>AngelBird</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>​

I still am getting the same results. Maybe this is due to the order of my boot.plist flags? Or "kext-dev-mode=1", not sure what that one is there for.
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,453
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Make the following highlighted changes.

<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>

<key>IGPEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>kext-dev-mode=1 npci=0x2000 nvda_drv=1</string>

<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>SSDT</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Scan Single Drive</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>AngelBird</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
68
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79 PRO
CPU
i7-3930K @ 3.2 GHz
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks so much for continuing to follow up with me Adrian!

So, I made the changes and still no change in acceleration and no second monitor.

In your initial link, they state:
Kepler- & Maxwell-Generation: InjectNvidia=False / GraphicsEnabler=No

So, should I add the InjectNvidia=False to the kernel flags? Any other suggestions?

I'm using MacPro 5,1 if that makes any difference. And because I am on 10.10.5 using chameleon, I do not have Nvram working.
 
Last edited:

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,453
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Thanks so much for continuing to follow up with me Adrian!

So, I made the changes and still no change in acceleration and no second monitor.

In your initial link, they state:
Kepler- & Maxwell-Generation: InjectNvidia=False / GraphicsEnabler=No

So, should I add the InjectNvidia=False to the kernel flags? Any other suggestions?

It is only used for Clover - which is why I removed it from your .org.chameleon.Boot.plist - you are using the Graphics Enabler=No option for Chameleon/Chimera

using MacPro 5,1 if that makes any difference. And because I am on 10.10.5 using chameleon, I do not have Nvram working.

MacPro 5,1 should be fine but if the nvram is not working then this may be an issue - it is certainly a known issue with some Skylake boards and stops the nVidia drivers from working.
It might be worth you trying a Clover installation to overcome this issue. If you have a spare 16GB Usb drive and a spare HDD/SSD to hand then I would recommend giving a Clover test installation a try.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
68
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79 PRO
CPU
i7-3930K @ 3.2 GHz
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It might be worth you trying a Clover installation to overcome this issue. If you have a spare 16GB Usb drive and a spare HDD/SSD to hand then I would recommend giving a Clover test installation a try.

I had a feeling you were going to say this :)

I have been postponing updating since clover still confuses me and upgrading sound like a pain from my limited research. But it is definitely worth a test, so I'll try on a backup drive to see if it makes any changes when I get some free time. Thanks so much Adrian for the continued support, very much appreciated! I'll post back if I discover any changes or improvements.
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,453
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
I had a feeling you were going to say this :)

I have been postponing updating since clover still confuses me and upgrading sound like a pain from my limited research. But it is definitely worth a test, so I'll try on a backup drive to see if it makes any changes when I get some free time. Thanks so much Adrian for the continued support, very much appreciated! I'll post back if I discover any changes or improvements.

Clover isn't as bad as you may think and there is plenty of good experienced people to help if you get lost. For the nvram issue see problem 6 for the clover solution:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/solving-nvidia-driver-install-loading-problems.161256/
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
68
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79 PRO
CPU
i7-3930K @ 3.2 GHz
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Oh man, this clover thing is a huge mess to my brain. I spent the last 4 hours getting a spare drive to successfully install and run Sierra, and even then I have no idea what settings to use for a P9x79pro, 3930k and GTX 980 TI. I tried following other suggestions from the forum, but what I settled on just seems wrong. Even my command key doesn't work. My RAM is showing up as 4GB chips, not 8GB (32GB total, not the full 48GB).

In Sierra, I see a very small bump in performance, but still no HDMI second monitor and nowhere near the performance I should see from a 980, not to mention a 980ti. I tried the NvidiaWeb thing from tonymac here, no change. In the system profiler, it shows Metal: supported. In the system preferences, Nvidia driver shows web driver is in use, but the G-Sync and ECC show no slot for the card - slots 1-4 show "no device found" empty and the 980ti has a "-". Maybe that is cosmetic, but it seems odd to me, like a setup issue in clover?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top