Contribute
Register

8700k + RX 580 + Asus Z370

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
220
Motherboard
Asus H370M-Plus
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Pulse RX580 8GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I repeat, if you can share the setting you used, I can tell you how much time do I need.
The sample should be the "Sony: Camping In Nature HDR".


Just tried with the following settings:
View attachment 354453

4m and 6 second. Background render disabled.

What do you want me to do ? I am not in a quicksync battle or something. Quicksync is a sollution that originally is thought of when kaby lake came out. I do not need it on my config with the sapphire pulse rx580.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
235
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-I
CPU
i9-9900K OC 5GHz
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What do you want me to do ? I am not in a quicksync battle or something. Quicksync is a sollution that originally is thought of when kaby lake came out. I do not need it on my config with the sapphire pulse rx580.

It's just a test. If you don't poste any real data or comparison it's impossible to trust you.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
235
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-I
CPU
i9-9900K OC 5GHz
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i just posted you some data and screenshots.

As I said previously, it doesn't mean that hardware decoding is fully working. You should run some benchmark (and compare it) in order to understand if it's running at his max speed or not.

I was relying on software decoding for month. It was slow but I think it was normal. Then I run an OpenCL test and compared and I noticed that my score was 1/3 than the other that other people used to get.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
220
Motherboard
Asus H370M-Plus
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Pulse RX580 8GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As I said previously, it doesn't mean that hardware decoding is fully working. You should run some benchmark (and compare it) in order to understand if it's running at his max speed or not.

I was relying on software decoding for month. It was slow but I think it was normal. Then I run an OpenCL test and compared and I noticed that my score was 1/3 than the other that other people used to get.

ok, i will do some testing later with the igpu enabled and let you know if it helped.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
220
Motherboard
Asus H370M-Plus
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Pulse RX580 8GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As I said previously, it doesn't mean that hardware decoding is fully working. You should run some benchmark (and compare it) in order to understand if it's running at his max speed or not.

I was relying on software decoding for month. It was slow but I think it was normal. Then I run an OpenCL test and compared and I noticed that my score was 1/3 than the other that other people used to get.

in my screenshots you see the sytem is using a metal driver and not opencl. but ok, i will try the difference with the igpu when i have some time left. let you know.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
202
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Formula IX
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630 / RX560
What do you want me to do ? I am not in a quicksync battle or something. Quicksync is a sollution that originally is thought of when kaby lake came out. I do not need it on my config with the sapphire pulse rx580.

Heh, yeah, I think Michelinu is getting confused in that "Quicksync" isn't a synonym for "Hardware encode/decode", it's a brand name Intel uses for their implementation of that. AMD doesn't use Quicksync because AMD is not Intel; AMD calls their implementation "Video Coding Engine" IIRC.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
220
Motherboard
Asus H370M-Plus
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Pulse RX580 8GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Heh, yeah, I think Michelinu is getting confused in that "Quicksync" isn't a synonym for "Hardware encode/decode", it's a brand name Intel uses for their implementation of that. AMD doesn't use Quicksync because AMD is not Intel; AMD calls their implementation "Video Coding Engine" IIRC.

Yes, you are right. I tried to explain it :)
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2018
Messages
43
Motherboard
Asus Z370-I ROG Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, you are right. I tried to explain it :)
So youre saying you don't need iGPU enabled to get hardware acceleration? It will work with just the RX 580? I had this setup installed prior to all of this but I was getting freezing issues when I opened up the Photos app (cursor would move, nothing else would respond), which is why I tried getting iGPU enabled and working with Mojave to prevent the freezing issue. Maybe something else in my CLOVER was causing the freezing issue?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
391
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Apple is definitely using some kind of hardware acceleration on the iMac Pro. Maybe it's custom Xeon with Quick Sync, or they are using decode/encode logic in AMD's Vega, called UVD and VCE.

The same time people are complaining about H264 encoding on iMac Pro, because usual iMac with Quick Sync do it faster. So enabling hardware acceleration is a good idea.

But from my experience, I noticed, that when I export videos in H264 fast encoding, my RX560 is in full load, and my iGPU do some work too. Probably Apple is slowly adopting hardware acceleration from AMD too.

Screen Shot 2018-10-01 at 10.51.26 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top