Contribute
Register

6 monitors hackintosh

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 16, 2014
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi everybody,

I want to build my Hackintosh (for the first time), and I have a small question :

May I setup 6 monitors with a hackintosh ? if yes, with wich graphic card (the Geforce GTX familly allow only 4 monitors)?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2014
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you for your answer trs96,

1/ I need 6 Monitors for trading

2/ Do you have a suggestion for a quasi no-bezel monitors

3/ Are you sure that no conflict is possible between GTX 760 and Logicboard graphic card, is there something to configure, have you ever tried that ?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
22,511
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thank you for your answer trs96,

1/ I need 6 Monitors for trading

2/ Do you have a suggestion for a quasi no-bezel monitors

If you'll be looking at text/numbers all day you've got to have a good quality IPS monitor. The
best that are affordable have some bezel. These new Dell 24 inch IPS panels will be the easiest
on your eyes during long hours at the office. You would need a couple of DVI to HDMI adapters.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824260149

3/ Are you sure that no conflict is possible between GTX 760 and Logicboard graphic card, is there something to configure, have you ever tried that ?

The default in Multibeast is now IGPenabler=yes so if you've got a cpu with HD4600 gfx you can
use the 760 and integrated gfx at the same time. I've never used 6 monitors though maybe some
one else with experience could add their input.

Dell also makes a dual monitor stand that would work well with these 23.8 inch monitors.

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=bsd&cs=04&sku=dp2414h
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
135
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 570 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Plus
  7. Power Mac
  8. Quadra
  9. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have 6 monitors, but I'm using a GTX 660 and an Apple 8800 GT from an old mac pro. Things work pretty smoothly. The only reason though is that I've been collecting a whole bunch of random monitors. If i were a trader, and getting this for work, I would get all 1440p monitors, or all 4k monitors, depending on budget. I would highly recommend IPS panels. The two I have are by far the best that I have. If you have the cash, I would suggest getting 4 to 6 of what I've linked to below, which is 27" 1440p. These use the same LG IPS panels that apple uses in the iMac 27". You can only connect 3 of these per GPU (and only if you use a display port to dual link dvi converter), so I would suggest 2 gpus, Maybe 2 GTX 760s. You won't get to SLI them but you can still use both of them at the same time. (SLI will only really help in gaming and CUDA anyways). This will give you 14.75 or 22.11 Megapixels of display space. Thats the same as 8 or 11 1080P monitors, and with much less bezel to get in your way. They have fairly small bezels, smallest of any of the 6 different monitors on my desk. I have had mine on my desk for over a year now, still working great.

http://www.amazon.com/CROSSOVER-27Q-LED-P-2560X1440-Monitor/dp/B008B6I5UW

-Best of luck
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
269
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm glad I came across this thread. I have a couple of different systems one of which uses 3x ASUS 27" monitors and two other systems that uses one AURIA EQ276W 27" WQHD IPS 2560x1440 monitor each.

I was thinking of upgrading my Wife's system which uses one of the AURIA EQ276W 27" Monitors with a Samsung 28" Ultra High Definition 4K LED Monitor (U28D590D) which has just now (today) actually reached its MSRP of ~$699.99 USD (before it was inflated to around ~$859 USD on Amazon, Newegg and elsewhere).

This would help free up her 27" monitor and I could basically just add the other 27" monitor as well (if I use a KVM) to the system using the three ASUS monitors. That would be five monitors on one system and I could always add a sixth monitor later. My problem was that I didn't really know how to add more monitors on my current GTX670 and this thread helped with that by suggesting the addition of a second card.

Edit:

I think I would probably want to go with dual AMD R9 280 / 280X video cards for the 5 to 6 monitor setup (assuming OS X Mavericks will support this) and move the GTX670 to the single monitor Samsung 28" U28D590D 4K monitor system.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
Hackintosh
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm glad I came across this thread. I have a couple of different systems one of which uses 3x ASUS 27" monitors and two other systems that uses one AURIA EQ276W 27" WQHD IPS 2560x1440 monitor each.

I was thinking of upgrading my Wife's system which uses one of the AURIA EQ276W 27" Monitors with a Samsung 28" Ultra High Definition 4K LED Monitor (U28D590D) which has just now (today) actually reached its MSRP of ~$699.99 USD (before it was inflated to around ~$859 USD on Amazon, Newegg and elsewhere).

This would help free up her 27" monitor and I could basically just add the other 27" monitor as well (if I use a KVM) to the system using the three ASUS monitors. That would be five monitors on one system and I could always add a sixth monitor later. My problem was that I didn't really know how to add more monitors on my current GTX670 and this thread helped with that by suggesting the addition of a second card.

Edit:

I think I would probably want to go with dual AMD R9 280 / 280X video cards for the 5 to 6 monitor setup (assuming OS X Mavericks will support this) and move the GTX670 to the single monitor Samsung 28" U28D590D 4K monitor system.


Octavean,

Were you able to get it to work?

I'm trying to get 4 monitors using 2 GPUs but it's not working. Could you assist me?

Here is my thread: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/140797-multiple-gpus-4-monitors-mavericks-help.html

Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
51
Motherboard
LION
CPU
i7950
Graphics
AMD 6800
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did you ever get the 6 monitors to work for you? What did you end up using as far as Monitors and Video cards ?

Thank you
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte > Need model # > See Rules!
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
> Need model #/version # > See Rules!
Hiya mate, what trading software are you using?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top