Contribute
Register

5k Resolution with original iMac Panel and Nvidia Card

Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA Z170M
CPU
I7 6700k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I ordered a LG LM270QQ1 5K display panel, which is the replacement Display for 5K iMacs.
With this driver Board I can use it as a normal Monitor. So I can build a 5K display in a real iMac Case. In windows, its works perfectly! The 5K resolution is stunning.
But it doesn't work in macOS. I only get a 4K resolution.

The driver board has two DisplayPort 1.4 Ports and one MST SST DisplayPort

Board2.jpg



I have a GTX 1070 with Web-Drivers on macOS Sierra. My Hackintosh is running as iMac 17.1 5K, because I have a i7 6700K CPU

What I tried so far:
  • Using 1 DisplayPort 1.4 Cable --> still 4K
  • Using two DisplayPort Cables. I tried using both "normal" DisplayPort Ports, and using one DP an one MST Port. --Still 4K
  • switch resolution with switchResX Set 5120x2880 --> looks smaller, but not sharp. In the Display informations I can see its still 4K
  • replaced Whatevergreen with NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext and adding CoreDisplayFixup.kext
I read so many Posts of Problems with 5K Displays on a Hackintosh, but I found no solution. I read something about editing the Nvidiagraphicsfixup.kext or the AppleDeviceGraphicsPolicy.kext but I don't know and what I should change.
Right now I am a little bit desperate, because I spend a lot of money for the Parts and can't give them back.
I am grateful for any help :)
 

Attachments

  • Board.jpg
    Board.jpg
    428.5 KB · Views: 92
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
911
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It´s the same panel Apples uses for their iMacs. It´s a LG LM270QQ1 Panel.
I have a Thread here.

I tried switchResX. nothing happened. Here is the EDID. I don't know what I should check in the EDID.
You have a couple custom resolutions with invalid settings (32768 pixels?). When you make a custom resolution, select the CVT-RB timing mode to let SwitchResX calculate the number of pixels for the horizontal and vertical blanking. I don't think you need to create custom resolutions because the EDID seems to include a 5120x2880 resolution already (931.5 MHz).

In the Display Information tab, you might need to enable Frequency Range override and change the Pixel clock from 540 MHz max to 940 MHz max. And change the Horizontal frequency range minimum from 217 kHz to 15 kHz and the max from 217 kHz to 415 kHz.

I don't know if this panel works with a single cable DisplayPort 1.4 connection at 5K. Did it work as single cable in Windows? Are you sure it wasn't MST 5K (two streams of DisplayPort 1.4 on the same cable?) Maybe GPU-Z Advanced tab says the display connection lanes and speed?

macOS supports 4K MST DisplayPort 1.2 displays. They didn't list any 5K MST displays.

The macOS Nvidia graphics driver supports two cable DisplayPort 1.2 5K only on the Dell UP2715K. There is a patch in this forum for supporting dual DisplayPort 1.2 with the LG UltraFine 5K display instead. If you need a dual cable connection, then you'll need to change this patch to match your display.

Maybe dual cable will work with Intel or AMD graphics?
With Intel and AMD graphics you can use the following command to get EDID directly from the display:
Code:
/System/Library/Extensions/AppleGraphicsControl.kext/Contents/MacOS/AGDCDiagnose -a > AGDCDiagnose_a.txt 2>&1
Do that for each DisplayPort connector of the display. Then use edid-decode (you can compile this on the Mac) to look at the information.

I'm not sure the AGDCDiagnose command will get EDID for an MST display (I think there should be one EDID for each stream?)

dual link / dual cable 5K displays have mtdd files in the /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides folder.

I'm not sure how 4K MST displays work. Look at the list of 4K MST displays, find EDID's for them to learn their EDID vendor and product ID, then see if they exist in the overrides folder.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA Z170M
CPU
I7 6700k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for helping me :)

I think the custom resolutions with invalid settings (32768 pixels) come from SwitchResX.
The Display definitely worked with one DP-Cable in nativ 5K on Windows.

It never worked with two. I don't think the Controller Board supports MST.
All the other Displays which require MST where recognized as two displays and showed two Pictures. I never had that.
The MST Displayport on the Side of the Board is not really usable in the settings from the Panel. its greyed out.


I don't think I understand what you mean with this:
I don't have an AMD Card. And the CPU graphics can't do 5K
Maybe dual cable will work with Intel or AMD graphics?
With Intel and AMD graphics you can use the following command to get EDID directly from the display:
Code:
/System/Library/Extensions/AppleGraphicsControl.kext/Contents/MacOS/AGDCDiagnose -a > AGDCDiagnose_a.txt 2>&1
Do that for each DisplayPort connector of the display. Then use edid-decode (you can compile this on the Mac) to look at the information.

Whats exactly is compile? And for what is this Website?


I changed Frequency range in Display Information. But nothing happens.
Ohne Titel.jpeg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
911
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think the custom resolutions with invalid settings (32768 pixels) come from SwitchResX.
Look at the Custom Resolutions tab in SwitchResX. Do you have custom resolutions setup there? Delete them if they have weird values. Create a new timing that is 5120x2880 30Hz, CVT-RB. Save and restart.

For your display, SwitchResX creates an override file in the /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-4a8b folder.

An override file from Apple has a name based on the product id. In your case, it would be DisplayProductID-40b6. But SwitchResX creates an override file based on the year of manufacture and week of manufacture. In your case, it would be called DisplayYearManufacture-2014-DisplayWeekManufacture-37. Post a copy of this file.

The Display definitely worked with one DP-Cable in nativ 5K on Windows.

It never worked with two. I don't think the Controller Board supports MST.
All the other Displays which require MST where recognized as two displays and showed two Pictures. I never had that.
The MST Displayport on the Side of the Board is not really usable in the settings from the Panel. its greyed out.
Ok. There might be hope.

I don't think I understand what you mean with this:
I don't have an AMD Card. And the CPU graphics can't do 5K
With the display connected to Nvidia, for each DisplayPort connection, use the AGDCDiagnose command to get info about the connections. Rename the text file for each port. Maybe you can connect all 3 DisplayPort connections at once. The AGDCDiagnose should give info for all three.

I believe that Nvidia doesn't give all the information that AMD or Intel does so you should do the same from Intel CPU graphics (iGPU) even though it won't support 5K, it will give more info about the connection. What I'm looking for is proof that the display can accept a single stream DisplayPort 1.4 signal to obtain 5K 60Hz.

Post a screenshot of GPU-Z Advanced tab in Windows. First grow the GPU-Z window so it shows all the info.

Whats exactly is compile? And for what is this Website?
edid-decode is a program that you can run from the command line to output information that is in the EDID. First you need to download the source code by typing the following command in Terminal.app
Code:
git clone git://linuxtv.org/edid-decode.git
Then change the directory to the new folder that was downloaded:
Code:
cd edid-decode
Then make the executable:
Code:
make
Then install the executable so you can run it from anywhere:
Code:
make install
You might need Xcode to do the above.

Next, you need to create a binary EDID file using the hex bytes that you obtain from some EDID reader such as the output from SwitchResX or AGDCDiagnose. Then you can use edid-decode to view the information in the binary file.

Code:
echo '00FFFFFF FFFFFF00 4A8BB640 53363430 25180104 B53C2278 337225AC 5033B726 0B505421 08008100 B300D100 A9408180 D1C00101 01014DD0 00A0F070 3E805020 650C5550 2100001A 000000FF 00445858 58523439 39303436 530A0000 00FC0044 50205151 48440A20 20202020 000000FD 003090D9 D936010A 20202020 2020037E 020335F1 23090707 83010000 5A040510 13141F20 21222748 494A4B00 5D5E5F62 63646768 696061E2 00C0E305 C000E606 05016262 004DD000 A0F0703E 80502065 0C555021 00001856 5E00A0A0 A0295030 20350055 50210000 1A000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000066 70127900 00120016 82101000 FF093F0B 00000000 0052544B B6405336 34300300 3CDD6B01 84FF139F 002F801F 003F0B3D 00020004 00105D00 04FF099F 002F801F 003F0B28 00020009 00C4BC00 84FF099F 002F801F 003F0B51 00020009 0007000A 08810008 04000402 10000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00002F90 70113803 00030028 FFFFFF00 FF13FFFF FFFFFFFF 3F0BFFFF FFFFFFFF FFFFFF00 FF13FFFF FFFFFFFF 3F0BFFFF FFFFFFFF 0B000A53 77697463 68526573 58E60000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000090' > QQHD.hex
xxd -p -r QQHD.hex > QQHD.bin
edid-decode QQHD.bin > QQHD_edid-decode.txt 2>&1
edit-decode shows some information that SwitchResX doesn't show. For example, SwitchResX doesn't show a "Tiled Display" block that shows the EDID belongs to the right 2560x2880 pixels of the display. In other words, this display might have a dual cable mode and the AGDCDiagnose commands should be able to find the left 2560x2880 connection.

I changed Frequency range in Display Information. But nothing happens.
Vertical minimum should be something like 10 instead of 200.
Pixel clock minimum should be something like 15 instead of 540.
Save changes and restart.
 

Attachments

  • EDID from Arstidir.zip
    10.7 KB · Views: 48
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA Z170M
CPU
I7 6700k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @joevt
After 3 hours I did everything you wrote (I Think).
I am very very thankful that you are trying to help me. I hope you can understand me, I´m not a native speaker.
And I hope everything I did today was right and was a little step in the right direction.

Yesterday I installed High Sierra on another SSD, to have a OS I can "play" with and not destroying my Main OS.
From now on, everything I did/do is in High Sierra. Is there anything I should do in my EFI folder or the Config.plist with Clover Configurator?
In My Kext folder, there are the basics. FakeSMC, Lilu, Whatevergreen & USBinjectAll

Here are the Screenshots from GPU-Z
GPU-Z 1.PNGGPU-Z 2.PNG

I did the part with EDID-Decode.

When I used this code:
Code:
/System/Library/Extensions/AppleGraphicsControl.kext/Contents/MacOS/AGDCDiagnose -a > AGDCDiagnose_a.txt 2>&1
I got a File but I did not use it because the Hex format was different. Its called AGDCDiagnose_a.txt an I Attached it.
So I used the Export EDID button in SwitchResX and used this file for EDID-Decod. Is that ok too?
The File I exported with SwitchResX is DP QQHD High Sierra D0

The File I created with EDID-Decode is: QQHD_edid-decode.txt

When I used another DP-Port, or Two Ports, the File SwitchResX exported, was exactly the same. I used a Website which can check Text and search for differences. There where none. Is that bad?

When you asked for the File DisplayYearManufacture-2014-DisplayWeekManufacture-37, that was when used Sierra on my Main OS. Now im under High Sierra. In the Path /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-4a8b folder is the Same File in High Sierra too. Is that also ok?

Here is a Screenshot from Windows with the 5K Resolution.
Windows1.jpg

And here is a Picture from the Resolution Information from the Display Settings
IMG_1948.jpg
 

Attachments

  • AGDCDiagnose_a.txt
    10.9 KB · Views: 59
  • QQHD_edid-decode.txt
    5.5 KB · Views: 73
  • DP QQHD High Sierra D0.txt
    14.1 KB · Views: 50
  • DisplayYearManufacture-2014-DisplayWeekManufacture-37.zip
    652 bytes · Views: 27
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
911
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there anything I should do in my EFI folder or the Config.plist with Clover Configurator?
In My Kext folder, there are the basics. FakeSMC, Lilu, Whatevergreen & USBinjectAll
I don't think there's anything to do in the EFI or Clover folder.

Here are the Screenshots from GPU-Z

Here is a Screenshot from Windows with the 5K Resolution.

And here is a Picture from the Resolution Information from the Display Settings
I like the picture from the Displays Settings. This is the first display I've seen that shows horizontal scan rate (176.5KHz) and pixel clock (931.7MHz). Does the display come with a user manual? Is there a menu item that shows the color format (GPU-Z Advanced tab shows YCbCr, 4:2:2 chroma subsampling, 8 bpc)

I see 931.7MHz. 5.4 Gbps (DisplayPort 1.2 HBR2). 4 DisplayPort lanes. 4:2:2 chroma subsampling. 8 bpc. I don't know if macOS can support that mode on Nvidia graphics. I've attached a spread sheet that shows maximum pixel clock using different connections. 4:2:2 8bpc is 16bpp. That color format can allow a pixel clock up to 1080 MHz with 4 lanes of HBR2 which should be enough for this 931.7MHz timing.

I did the part with EDID-Decode.

So I used the Export EDID button in SwitchResX and used this file for EDID-Decod. Is that ok too?
The File I exported with SwitchResX is DP QQHD High Sierra D0

The File I created with EDID-Decode is: QQHD_edid-decode.txt
Very good. Those new EDID's you've sent to me have the extra SwitchResX block removed, as expected for a fresh install of macOS.

When I used this code:
Code:
/System/Library/Extensions/AppleGraphicsControl.kext/Contents/MacOS/AGDCDiagnose -a > AGDCDiagnose_a.txt 2>&1
I got a File but I did not use it because the Hex format was different. Its called AGDCDiagnose_a.txt an I Attached it.
You just need the hex parts without the address parts. A "sed" command can remove the unwanted parts to create a hex file. Then the "xxd -p -r" command can create the EDID binary file.
Code:
echo '
  /* 000: */  0x00, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0xff, 0x00,
  /* 008: */  0x4a, 0x8b, 0xb6, 0x40, 0x53, 0x36, 0x34, 0x30,
  /* 010: */  0x25, 0x18, 0x01, 0x04, 0xb5, 0x3c, 0x22, 0x78,
  /* 018: */  0x33, 0x72, 0x25, 0xac, 0x50, 0x33, 0xb7, 0x26,
  /* 020: */  0x0b, 0x50, 0x54, 0x21, 0x08, 0x00, 0x81, 0x00,
  /* 028: */  0xb3, 0x00, 0xd1, 0x00, 0xa9, 0x40, 0x81, 0x80,
  /* 030: */  0xd1, 0xc0, 0x01, 0x01, 0x01, 0x01, 0x4d, 0xd0,
  /* 038: */  0x00, 0xa0, 0xf0, 0x70, 0x3e, 0x80, 0x50, 0x20,
  /* 040: */  0x65, 0x0c, 0x55, 0x50, 0x21, 0x00, 0x00, 0x1a,
  /* 048: */  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0xff, 0x00, 0x44, 0x58, 0x58,
  /* 050: */  0x58, 0x52, 0x34, 0x39, 0x39, 0x30, 0x34, 0x36,
  /* 058: */  0x53, 0x0a, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0xfc, 0x00, 0x44,
  /* 060: */  0x50, 0x20, 0x51, 0x51, 0x48, 0x44, 0x0a, 0x20,
  /* 068: */  0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0xfd,
  /* 070: */  0x00, 0x30, 0x90, 0xd9, 0xd9, 0x36, 0x01, 0x0a,
  /* 078: */  0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x02, 0x7f,
  /* 080: */  0x02, 0x03, 0x35, 0xf1, 0x23, 0x09, 0x07, 0x07,
  /* 088: */  0x83, 0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x5a, 0x04, 0x05, 0x10,
  /* 090: */  0x13, 0x14, 0x1f, 0x20, 0x21, 0x22, 0x27, 0x48,
  /* 098: */  0x49, 0x4a, 0x4b, 0x00, 0x5d, 0x5e, 0x5f, 0x62,
  /* 0a0: */  0x63, 0x64, 0x67, 0x68, 0x69, 0x60, 0x61, 0xe2,
  /* 0a8: */  0x00, 0xc0, 0xe3, 0x05, 0xc0, 0x00, 0xe6, 0x06,
  /* 0b0: */  0x05, 0x01, 0x62, 0x62, 0x00, 0x4d, 0xd0, 0x00,
  /* 0b8: */  0xa0, 0xf0, 0x70, 0x3e, 0x80, 0x50, 0x20, 0x65,
  /* 0c0: */  0x0c, 0x55, 0x50, 0x21, 0x00, 0x00, 0x18, 0x56,
  /* 0c8: */  0x5e, 0x00, 0xa0, 0xa0, 0xa0, 0x29, 0x50, 0x30,
  /* 0d0: */  0x20, 0x35, 0x00, 0x55, 0x50, 0x21, 0x00, 0x00,
  /* 0d8: */  0x1a, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  /* 0e0: */  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  /* 0e8: */  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  /* 0f0: */  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  /* 0f8: */  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x66,
  /* 100: */  0x70, 0x12, 0x79, 0x00, 0x00, 0x12, 0x00, 0x16,
  /* 108: */  0x82, 0x10, 0x10, 0x00, 0xff, 0x09, 0x3f, 0x0b,
  /* 110: */  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x52, 0x54, 0x4b,
  /* 118: */  0xb6, 0x40, 0x53, 0x36, 0x34, 0x30, 0x03, 0x00,
  /* 120: */  0x3c, 0xdd, 0x6b, 0x01, 0x84, 0xff, 0x13, 0x9f,
  /* 128: */  0x00, 0x2f, 0x80, 0x1f, 0x00, 0x3f, 0x0b, 0x3d,
  /* 130: */  0x00, 0x02, 0x00, 0x04, 0x00, 0x10, 0x5d, 0x00,
  /* 138: */  0x04, 0xff, 0x09, 0x9f, 0x00, 0x2f, 0x80, 0x1f,
  /* 140: */  0x00, 0x3f, 0x0b, 0x28, 0x00, 0x02, 0x00, 0x09,
  /* 148: */  0x00, 0xc4, 0xbc, 0x00, 0x84, 0xff, 0x09, 0x9f,
  /* 150: */  0x00, 0x2f, 0x80, 0x1f, 0x00, 0x3f, 0x0b, 0x51,
  /* 158: */  0x00, 0x02, 0x00, 0x09, 0x00, 0x07, 0x00, 0x0a,
  /* 160: */  0x08, 0x81, 0x00, 0x08, 0x04, 0x00, 0x04, 0x02,
  /* 168: */  0x10, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  /* 170: */  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  /* 178: */  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x2f, 0x90
' | sed -E 's/(  \/\* ...: \*\/  )?(, )?(0x)?//g' > EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6.hex
xxd -p -r EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6.hex > EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6.bin

edid-decode EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6.bin > EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6_edid-decode.txt 2>&1
The result EDID is the same as the one from SwitchResX which means there's no overrides for this display.

The AGDCDiagnose_a.txt shows the display supports DisplayPort 1.4 but it does not show that it supports HBR3 speed. You did not get HBR3 (8.1 Gbps) speed in Windows either. Maybe this display does not support HBR3 speed. If that's true, then you need to use the 4:2:2 chroma subsampling mode at 8bpc to achieve 5120x2880 60Hz.

I am surprised that you are able to get Register Dump from AGDCDiagnose using your Nvidia 1070 card. I got a "WARNING: getDeviceCaps failed" message when I try with a Kepler (GTX 680) or Maxwell (Titan X) Nvidia card. But I tried now with a Pascal (GTX 1070) card and it works here too.

When I used another DP-Port, or Two Ports, the File SwitchResX exported, was exactly the same. I used a Website which can check Text and search for differences. There where none. Is that bad?
We need the AGDCDiagnose output for each port to be sure. In a dual cable setup, SwitchResX will not show the EDID of the second connection. Connect all three, then do the AGDCDiagnose. Do the same for each port individually. Describe the port used in each case.

When you asked for the File DisplayYearManufacture-2014-DisplayWeekManufacture-37, that was when used Sierra on my Main OS. Now im under High Sierra. In the Path /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-4a8b folder is the Same File in High Sierra too. Is that also ok?
That's ok. The file in High Sierra that you sent just contains Frequency Range modification made by SwitchResX. Show a screenshot of the Frequency Ranges you are using in SwitchResX. The file in Sierra probably contains the added custom resolutions that we don't need. You can view the contents of the file using a text editor. The "<data>" elements are encoded using Base64. You can view the hex of the data by using a command "plutil -p DisplayYearManufacture-2014-DisplayWeekManufacture-37". There is a /usr/libexec/PlistBuddy command that can extract each element by name. Neither one will tell you how to interpret the "trng" element. That info is located elsewhere, maybe in Apple source code or header files. But it doesn't matter since SwitchResX knows what it is.

For High Sierra, you should try to create a 5120x2880 30 Hz CVT-RB custom resolution. Save changes. Restart. This 30Hz mode should allow RGB or 4:4:4 at 10bpc but I don't know if the display will allow it. The EDID says the display supports continuous frequency so it might work.

After that, we might try creating a custom EDID and adding it to the override file. There's an app for macOS that can do that called AWEDIDEditor.app. It can't edit some parts of some EDIDs but should be good enough.
 

Attachments

  • DisplayPortRates v2.0.xlsx.zip
    32.5 KB · Views: 42
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA Z170M
CPU
I7 6700k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @joev

Now I have 5K with 30hz :D
IMG_1962.jpg

But now, I don't know why, I don't have a boot screen anymore. I don't see the Gigabyte logo, I don't see clover.
Only when macOS is booted I have a picture.
Before I added the 5k 30hz custom resolution I was able to see The Gigabyte logo an clover with two cables connected.
Do you know why?



I did what you said with the AGDCDiagnose_a.txt files. I attached them here, and the edited one with EDID Decode.
I compared them again and there were many differences.
If I compare AGDCDiagnose_a-All 3 Ports with AGDCDiagnose_a-PortD0andD1 there were differences too. But after creating text files with EDID-Decode, there were the Same.

Now the Computer recognizes two Displays when D0 and D1 is connected. I never had that before.
The selected one as Input is D0. If I remove D1 the Display gets back to 4K. When I put D1 back I have 5K again.
EDIT: I bootet again with ONE Cable. Now I have a boot Logo, clover and I have 5K 30Hz.
So one Cable ist enough I think. Is it also enough for 60hz?




Displays.jpegSwitchResX2.jpegSwitchResX1.jpeg


Does the display come with a user manual? Is there a menu item that shows the color format (GPU-Z Advanced tab shows YCbCr, 4:2:2 chroma subsampling, 8 bpc)

No, there is no manual.
This is the only thing I found for color format

IMG_1960.jpgIMG_1961.jpgIMG_1957.jpg
 

Attachments

  • EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6_edid-decode-Port-D0.txt
    5.5 KB · Views: 47
  • AGDCDiagnose_a-PortD0andD1.txt
    18.3 KB · Views: 43
  • AGDCDiagnose_a-Port-D0.txt
    10.9 KB · Views: 54
  • AGDCDiagnose_a-Port-D1.txt
    11 KB · Views: 55
  • EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6_edid-decode-Port-D0andD1.txt
    9.7 KB · Views: 54
  • EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6_edid-decode-Port-D1.txt
    5.5 KB · Views: 48
  • AGDCDiagnose_a-All 3 Ports.txt
    18.3 KB · Views: 59
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
911
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Now I have 5K with 30hz :D
That's good. It has better image quality than you can get with 5K 60Hz. Read about chroma subsampling to see why you might want to avoid it.

Now the Computer recognizes two Displays when D0 and D1 is connected. I never had that before.
The selected one as Input is D0. If I remove D1 the Display gets back to 4K. When I put D1 back I have 5K again.
EDIT: I bootet again with ONE Cable. Now I have a boot Logo, clover and I have 5K 30Hz.
So one Cable ist enough I think. Is it also enough for 60hz?
The following is a list of possible 5K (5120x2880) connections and some of their supported pixel formats:

1) DisplayPort 1.2, HBR2, 4 lanes: 5K 30Hz 10bpc RGB, 5K 60Hz 8bpc YCbCr422
2) DisplayPort 1.3, HBR3, 4 lanes: 5K 60Hz 8bpc RGB, 5K 60Hz 10bpc YCbCr422
3) DisplayPort 1.2, HBR2, 8 lanes: 5K 60Hz 10bpc RGB

#1 is your display with one cable. You might be able to get 5K 46Hz 8bpc RGB (715MHz) if you want a higher refresh rate. You can create custom resolutions with all the refresh rates between 30Hz and 60Hz and see which ones work. Anything higher than 46Hz requires chroma subsampling (8bpc YCbCr422).

#2 is something like the Planar IX2790. Your display can't do this if it can't accept an HBR3 signal (there appears to be no indication in the AGDCDiagnose file that the display can accept anything better than HBR2).

#3 is the LG UltraFine 5K or Dell UP2715K. Your display might be able to support this mode with AMD or Intel graphics. Nvidia graphics would require a patch like the one created to support the LG UltraFine 5K.

But now, I don't know why, I don't have a boot screen anymore. I don't see the Gigabyte logo, I don't see clover.
Only when macOS is booted I have a picture.
Before I added the 5k 30hz custom resolution I was able to see The Gigabyte logo an clover with two cables connected.
Do you know why?
Display overrides in macOS should not affect EFI boot screen or Clover which appear before macOS is loaded. Make sure only one DisplayPort is connected. Make sure the main display is connected to the first DisplayPort of the Nvidia graphics card.

I did what you said with the AGDCDiagnose_a.txt files. I attached them here, and the edited one with EDID Decode.
I compared them again and there were many differences.
If I compare AGDCDiagnose_a-All 3 Ports with AGDCDiagnose_a-PortD0andD1 there were differences too. But after creating text files with EDID-Decode, there were the Same.
There doesn't seem to be a difference between D0 and D1. There should be a difference if they are meant for a dual cable connection like the Dell UP2715K. Maybe they exist to connect different computers to the same display. Is there a menu item to change the input source? Is there a menu option to enable dual cable connection so that each port connects to half of the display? Maybe D0 to left half and D1 to right half?

You made a small mistake with EDID_RTK_4a8b_40b6_edid-decode-Port-D0andD1.txt by concatenating the two different EDIDs together - each EDID should be a different file. It doesn't matter since this file contains the same info as the separate files.

The "All 3 Ports" file only shows two connections. Maybe the third port is only for MST or SST output to another display (same as my Dell P2415Q which has an MST port for display chaining). If you have a second DisplayPort display or DisplayPort adapter, then you should be able to connect it to the MST port and see it in Windows. Both displays will share the bandwidth so they will have to use a lower resolution like 2560x1440 60Hz or 4K30Hz each. You might need to use a menu option to enable MST?

macOS does not support MST for display chaining. The two displays might be duplicated or mirrored though.

You still need to lower the minimum vertical frequency from 200 to 10 and the minimum Pixel clock from 540 to 15. Save changes. Restart.

No, there is no manual.
This is the only thing I found for color format
There is no useful information in those screens. I think BG Color is the background color of the onscreen display menu.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
911
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Question: did the controller board come with the panel? Are there other controller boards for the same panel? Maybe there's a controller board that accepts HBR3 or dual HBR2 to get 5K60Hz RGB?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA Z170M
CPU
I7 6700k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @joevt

I tried several Custom Resolution settings. 31hz, 46hz. It doesn't work. When I apply the new create setting after a restart my screen turns black. It took me some time to get the Picture back.

I attached a zip, which contains a Video to show you the Panel Settings.



I changed the numbers in the Frequency area.
SwitchResX1.png

This are my Settings in the Custom Resolution. Are they ok?

SwitchResX2.png

The Controller Board did not come with the Panel. The Controller Board is from AliExpress and I can't send it back.
There was another one, which required using two DP cables to achieve 5K. The Seller told me, that he would recommend the never one (that, that I have now) because its DP 1.4 and much more reliable.


Is there anything I can do or try? I would prefer to have 60hz (or maybe 46) instead of 30
everything feels a little bit slow and not as smooth as i know it from my 4K display.
How can I achieve Option 3? DisplayPort 1.2, HBR2, 8 lanes: 5K 60Hz 10bpc RGB
Do you think the patch for the Nvidia Card will work? How does the patch work or where can I find it?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1970.MOV.zip
    9.3 MB · Views: 40
Last edited:
Top