Contribute
Register

5K Resolution (5120x2880) via NVIDIA Drivers on Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor

Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
Asus H97M-PLUS
CPU
Core i7-4790K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 970
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Interesting, If you get 50 Hz with the Nvidia drivers in windows then maybe 50 Hz really is the cap at 4096 x 2160 for the GTX 760. I agree, 50 Hz isn't bad for work! I have a 2013 rMBP that I've been able to get up to about 51 Hz at 3840x2160 even though OS X only wants it to hit 30 Hz max.
On the LG web site it gives the minimum recommended Nvidia card for this monitor that will give 60hz as the as the 780, so it is looking like 50hz is the 760's limit.

Still a great monitor, except the built in speakers which are truly awful :)
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
182
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-Gaming 5
CPU
Core i7 4790K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 760
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
On the LG web site it gives the minimum recommended Nvidia card for this monitor that will give 60hz as the as the 780, so it is looking like 50hz is the 760's limit.

Still a great monitor, except the built in speakers which are truly awful :)
Interesting. Well, I expect Nvidia to have a better handle on what is actually supported than LG since they write the drivers, make the hardware, etc. Their website says:

"4096x2160 (including 3840x2160) at 60Hz supported over Displayport."

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-760/specifications
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
Asus H97M-PLUS
CPU
Core i7-4790K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 970
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Interesting. Well, I expect Nvidia to have a better handle on what is actually supported than LG since they write the drivers, make the hardware, etc. Their website says:

"4096x2160 (including 3840x2160) at 60Hz supported over Displayport."

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-760/specifications
Ah yes, I hadn't seen that. Clearly it should be possible then.

The drivers that I'm using in windows are LG's own for this monitor but even those only give me 50hz so I'm not sure what the problem is.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
182
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-Gaming 5
CPU
Core i7 4790K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 760
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ah yes, I hadn't seen that. Clearly it should be possible then.

The drivers that I'm using in windows are LG's own for this monitor but even those only give me 50hz so I'm not sure what the problem is.
Have you tried running without LG's drivers and just using the very latest Nvidia drivers in Windows? Just a thought, not sure it would fix anything. I presume you're hooked up through Displayport, otherwise you'd probably be at like 24 Hz!

Also, have you tried using the web drivers from Nvidia in OS X? They might navigate 4096 x 2160 better than the OS X native Nvidia Kepler drivers.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
Asus H97M-PLUS
CPU
Core i7-4790K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 970
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Have you tried running without LG's drivers and just using the very latest Nvidia drivers in Windows? Just a thought, not sure it would fix anything. I presume you're hooked up through Displayport, otherwise you'd probably be at like 24 Hz!

Also, have you tried using the web drivers from Nvidia in OS X? They might navigate 4096 x 2160 better than the OS X native Nvidia Kepler drivers.
Yes to all those, both Nvidia drivers and Display port and the latest web drivers in OS X. Can't get above 50hz in either operating system without dropping the resolution.

I've had the monitor since Xmas and I've pretty much given up on getting the last 10hz out of it. I'm not sure if I would notice any difference any way. Maybe 10.10.3 will make a difference......
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
182
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-Gaming 5
CPU
Core i7 4790K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 760
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yes to all those, both Nvidia drivers and Display port and the latest web drivers in OS X. Can't get above 50hz in either operating system without dropping the resolution.

I've had the monitor since Xmas and I've pretty much given up on getting the last 10hz out of it. I'm not sure if I would notice any difference any way. Maybe 10.10.3 will make a difference......
Oh well! 50 Hz isn't too bad, I agree! Better to do that and get the whole 4096 x 2160.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
148
Motherboard
Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel 2500K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
IIRC, you'll need a GTX 980 with at least two DisplayPorts, connecting to the Dell, to get to the 5K. But, this 5K compatibility is still "early in the game." So, stay tune for more info.
Do you know if the GTX 760 can support 2 4K monitors? I'm thinking of getting 2 Dell P2415Q screens.

Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
182
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-Gaming 5
CPU
Core i7 4790K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 760
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Do you know if the GTX 760 can support 2 4K monitors? I'm thinking of getting 2 Dell P2415Q screens.

Thanks
Yes @ 60 Hz each IF your GTX 760 has two display ports. If you're working with one display port and one HDMI then probably 1 4K @ 60 Hz, 1 @ 30 Hz.
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
74
Motherboard
G5 case Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-Gaming 5
CPU
i7 4770 32GB DDR3 RAM 1066
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I received my up2715k in the mail today and it is working at 5k with hiDPI available following the instructions provided. I am also running a p2715q 4k off of the GTX 980. One thing differed for me - I have to start up my computer with both monitors off, then wait till I have given sufficient time to get to desktop. Then I turn both monitors on and voila! Beauty! One other thing is that upon trying to sleep my monitors go black but the computer never sleeps. If I try to click mouse to wake them nothing happens. Not sure if the computer is crashed or what. Must try to remote in. Ill post more if I find solutions or if you have solutions, please let me know.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
112
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
i7 4770
Graphics
nVidia GTX 980, 4K Dell UP2414Q
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
One thing differed for me - I have to start up my computer with both monitors off, then wait till I have given sufficient time to get to desktop. Then I turn both monitors on and voila! Beauty!
If you are using Clover with UEFI boot type - try going BIOS and set OS type to "Windows 8" and make CSM to "Never"
 
Top