4K Monitor Support in OS X 10.9.3 - Testing Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, May 16, 2014.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,172
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 2:45 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,172
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 12.44.50 AM_678x452.png
    Just came across a few articles on testing the new 4K support in OS X 10.9.3. Looks like retina resolutions are available from mini-DP ports at 60 hz now.

    Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 9.43.03 AM.png

    Has anyone here tested a 4K monitor or TV with the new update? Let us know!

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/8023/apple-releases-osx-10-9-3-improved-4k-display
    http://www.macworld.com/article/2155464/hands-on-improved-4k-display-support-in-os-x-10-9-3.html

    Updated:
    Apple has documented what displays work, and how to use the new Display Resolutions on their site:

    Sharp PN-K321
    Choose Menu > Setup > DisplayPort STREAM > MST > SET


    ASUS PQ321Q
    Choose OSD menu > Setup > DisplayPort Stream


    Dell UP2414Q and Dell UP3214Q
    Choose Menu > Display Setting > DisplayPort 1.2 > Enable


    Panasonic TC-L65WT600
    Choose Menu > Display Port Settings > Steam Setting > Auto

    Your Mac will automatically detect an MST-enabled display. However, your display may require a firmware update to support 60Hz operation. Please contact your display vendor for details. If your specific DisplayPort display is not listed above, check with the display’s manufacturer for compatibility information.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT6008?utm_source=dlvr.it
     
  2. mendozal

    mendozal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire AMD R9 290X 8Gb
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 3:56 PM #2
    mendozal

    mendozal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire AMD R9 290X 8Gb
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have a UP2414Q and a GTX-770.
    Retina resolutions are gorgeous, just like MBP.

    I can't get 60hz to work tough. I don't see the option to change it to 60Hz.
    I'm using mini DP cable connected to displayport on the GTX-770.

    I have 4K 60Hz working on Windows.
     
  3. TurbineSeaplane

    TurbineSeaplane

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    415
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Hero
    CPU:
    Core i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    7970x2 (Sapphire Ghz Ed + Diamond stock 7970)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 5:29 PM #3
    TurbineSeaplane

    TurbineSeaplane

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    415
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Hero
    CPU:
    Core i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    7970x2 (Sapphire Ghz Ed + Diamond stock 7970)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Anyone with UP3214q on DisplayPort that could report on results?

    I have one coming and hoping all will be ok! :)
     
  4. millmadman

    millmadman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H LGA
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    GTX760
    May 16, 2014 at 7:10 PM #4
    millmadman

    millmadman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H LGA
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    GTX760
    I'm also able to get scaling working great on a Dell UP2414Q driven by a Gigabyte GTX760 via DisplayPort, but no dice on 60Hz.
    I've use MacPro3,1 system definition, have tried MacPro6,1 and MacBookPro8,1 with no dice.
     
  5. TurbineSeaplane

    TurbineSeaplane

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    415
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Hero
    CPU:
    Core i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    7970x2 (Sapphire Ghz Ed + Diamond stock 7970)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 7:23 PM #5
    TurbineSeaplane

    TurbineSeaplane

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    415
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Hero
    CPU:
    Core i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    7970x2 (Sapphire Ghz Ed + Diamond stock 7970)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well that isn't good news at all.
     
  6. Cougarcat

    Cougarcat

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Mobo:
    P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    4 Ghz i5 760
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 8:46 PM #6
    Cougarcat

    Cougarcat

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Mobo:
    P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    4 Ghz i5 760
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  7. mendozal

    mendozal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire AMD R9 290X 8Gb
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 8:48 PM #7
    mendozal

    mendozal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire AMD R9 290X 8Gb
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I was just checking the document.

    My display has DP 1.2 option enabled. With this option on, I can see 4K 60Hz on Windows. But not in Mac OS.

    I will check tonight if holding the option key reveals more resolutions and refresh rate.

    Also checked at Dell's support site, but no firmware update is available.
     
  8. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,172
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 8:50 PM #8
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,172
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    (Added to top post)

    Apple has documented what displays work, and how to use the new Display Resolutions on their site:

    Sharp PN-K321
    Choose Menu > Setup > DisplayPort STREAM > MST > SET


    ASUS PQ321Q
    Choose OSD menu > Setup > DisplayPort Stream


    Dell UP2414Q and Dell UP3214Q
    Choose Menu > Display Setting > DisplayPort 1.2 > Enable


    Panasonic TC-L65WT600
    Choose Menu > Display Port Settings > Steam Setting > Auto

    Your Mac will automatically detect an MST-enabled display. However, your display may require a firmware update to support 60Hz operation. Please contact your display vendor for details. If your specific DisplayPort display is not listed above, check with the display’s manufacturer for compatibility information.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT6008?utm_source=dlvr.it
     
  9. gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 9:10 PM #9
    gabrieljsmith1

    gabrieljsmith1

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I have Samsung U28D590 - it supports 60Hz - cost $599, and looks great!

    However I have a GTX 650Ti (with no display port, only HDMI) showing up at 30Hz currently.

    However it should be noted it does look super sharp (retina quality), and has minimal ghosting! It is hands down better than the Dell 28" 4K and Seiki 39" 4K displays I tested.

    One day I would like to update to the GTX 760 or higher.


    -G
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 3.01.23 PM.png  (94.3 KB, 811 views)
    • Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 3.06.08 PM.png  (311.1 KB, 863 views)
    • Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 3.06.23 PM.png  (339.1 KB, 1,038 views)
    • Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 3.06.59 PM.png  (208.1 KB, 888 views)
  10. mendozal

    mendozal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire AMD R9 290X 8Gb
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 16, 2014 at 9:24 PM #10
    mendozal

    mendozal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD7-TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire AMD R9 290X 8Gb
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Could it be that UP2414Q and UP3214Q need a firmware update to work in 4K 60hz mode?

    Can anyone owning these products confirm this with Dell support? I'm not able to call because I'm not in the US.
     

Share This Page