Contribute
Register

4k Display HiDPI above 1080p

Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi,

I've seen a couple of posts on this, but not seen any answers. I have an ASUS PB287Q monitor with a display resolution of 3840x2160. This works fine on my Hackintosh with AMD XFX 290X graphics card, but I can only see HiDPI modes up to 1920x1080 in the display panel. What I really want is 2560x1440 as HiDPI so that I can get more real estate and still benefit from the 4k resolution (my MBPr does 1920x1200 HiDPI on its 2880x1800 15" display). I have tried to create 5120x2880 in switchresx as a scaled resolution, but it does not activate. The following article suggests this works with Nvidia cards (he used a GTX 780). Can anyone confirm this is true? I've already switched once from an Nvidia GTX 760 to the AMD 290x as originally I wanted to run OS X as a VM in ESXi with PCI passthrough and Nvidia cards weren't supported for the passthrough. That experiment didn't work, so now I'm running OS X natively (under Clover) and then using VMware Fusion for my VMs. If anyone has got this working, please could you let me know your exact card make/exact model so that I can buy the same and get this working? This is the link I was talking about:

http://www.journaldulapin.com/2014/01/10/ultra-1440p-hidpi-and-mac-os-x-it-works/

thanks in advance

Karl
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
696
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD5 - 18G 1600Mhz DDR3 OSX-10.10
CPU
980x
Graphics
Radeon r9 290x + ATi 6850
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
4k Display HiDPI above 1920p

I'm running GTX-770 with 4K screen. And everything works but graphics performance is mediocre. I was actually thinking of buying the card you have now. But hearing of your woes I guess I'll wait. Seems like Dual graphics card might be the answer but I'll wait to see someone else get an actual real world improvement before I give these graphics card makers another #$%*ing penny.

I run Linux and Windows VMs in Virtualbox and one Windows 7 VM in Parallels, ( Parallels handles USB devices better, but Virtualbox sandboxes better so each has it's strengths. The VDIs for the VMs are on a separate SSD drive so running them from SSD really improves speed.
I also have one Separate 40Gig SSD with a single Linux install on it and another one with windows 7 on it because sometimes I need to be able to boot into windows or Linux.

I can run full 4K but find 2560x1440 suits my purposes best.

I use a little App called "Display Menu" to change resolution.

I hope that helps.

r.

4k.jpg
 
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks, that's good to hear it works on a 770. Must just work with nvidia like the article says. It's my last day to return the 290x today, so I will probably go for a 780. The shop I buy from only sells the 780 Ti. Hope this is OK and same as the 780.

When you say you're having trouble with the 770, what sort? I will mainly be using the machine for labs (IT work), but want to do some Xcode, photo editing and a bit of video editing.
 
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Meant 1080p in the title BTW, tried to edit it, but can't change it.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
696
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD5 - 18G 1600Mhz DDR3 OSX-10.10
CPU
980x
Graphics
Radeon r9 290x + ATi 6850
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
4k Display HiDPI above 1920p

The only other thing I can suggest is try to get at least 4Gigs of VRAM as the 2Gigs I have is grossly inadequate.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Core i5
CPU
i5-4670k
Graphics
Onboard HD4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not to resurrect an old thread... but I had the same exact problem with the ASUS PB287Q.

I bought a motherboard that could handle 4K through displayport, with a max resolution of 4096x2304@60 Hz.
However, this is not enough resolution to display "scaled at 1440p" on a 4K display. I was locked at full 4K output or "scaled 1080p" output.

I had to buy a graphics card that could handle a resolution greater than 4096x2304.

In other words, you need a graphics card capable of 5K resolution (5120 × 2880), so that you can render a "scaled 1440p" resolution. Remember, 5K resolution is like putting four 1440p monitors together. Likewise, 4K resolution is similar to putting four 1080p monitors together.
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    148.9 KB · Views: 415
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
121
Motherboard
HP EliteBook 840 G4
CPU
i7-7600U
Graphics
HD 620, 1920x1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not to resurrect an old thread... but I had the same exact problem with the ASUS PB287Q.

I bought a motherboard that could handle 4K through displayport, with a max resolution of 4096x2304@60 Hz.
However, this is not enough resolution to display "scaled at 1440p" on a 4K display. I was locked at full 4K output or "scaled 1080p" output.

I had to buy a graphics card that could handle a resolution greater than 4096x2304.

In other words, you need a graphics card capable of 5K resolution (5120 × 2880), so that you can render a "scaled 1440p" resolution. Remember, 5K resolution is like putting four 1440p monitors together. Likewise, 4K resolution is similar to putting four 1080p monitors together.

I'm running an HP EliteBook 850 G3 with Intel HD 520 and can't get 1440p HiDPI on a 4K display. The annoying thing is with an older EliteBook 850 G2 with Intel HD 5500 graphics 1440p HiDPI was possible on this same 4K display. This new rule of having to have at or over 5K to achieve 1440p HiDPI must be a new development in the world of Intel Graphics. I can't explain why these HiDPI resolutions are missing on this newer EliteBook. I tried everything from switchresx to the Pixel Clock Patch to RDM https://github.com/avibrazil/RDM and nothing works.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,434
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm running an HP EliteBook 850 G3 with Intel HD 520 and can't get 1440p HiDPI on a 4K display. The annoying thing is with an older EliteBook 850 G2 with Intel HD 5500 graphics 1440p HiDPI was possible on this same 4K display. This new rule of having to have at or over 5K to achieve 1440p HiDPI must be a new development in the world of Intel Graphics. I can't explain why these HiDPI resolutions are missing on this newer EliteBook. I tried everything from switchresx to the Pixel Clock Patch to RDM https://github.com/avibrazil/RDM and nothing works.

Are you using kernel flag -cdfon (for WhateverGreen.kext)?
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
121
Motherboard
HP EliteBook 840 G4
CPU
i7-7600U
Graphics
HD 620, 1920x1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you using kernel flag -cdfon (for WhateverGreen.kext)?
Yes I did use -cdfon. It does not make 2560x1440 hi DPI available. The only way I can acheive 1440p hiDPI is to rotate the screen 90 degrees which "tricks" the OS into thinking I have a 5k display because of the super tall vertical height. I just can't work on a vertical rectangular screen. When I restore the screen to horizontal 1440p hiDPI dissappears and it reverts to 4k (too tiny) or 1080p (too big) or 1440p low resolution which is blurry.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,434
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes I did use -cdfon. It does not make 2560x1440 hi DPI available. The only way I can acheive 1440p hiDPI is to rotate the screen 90 degrees which "tricks" the OS into thinking I have a 5k display because of the super tall vertical height. I just can't work on a vertical rectangular screen. When I restore the screen to horizontal 1440p hiDPI dissappears and it reverts to 4k (too tiny) or 1080p (too big) or 1440p low resolution which is blurry.

Read HiDPI guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/adding-using-hidpi-custom-resolutions.133254/
 
Top