4K / 60Hz over HDMI ITX Build, advise please ?!

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by damjaybam, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Jan 10, 2017 at 3:58 PM #1
    damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Hello,

    I need a new ITX build but i have the problem that it HAS to work with my TV-Display which has only HDMI as input option.

    I thought of an Skylake H170 MotherBoard + Intel i7 6700 + AMD RX460

    Can please anybody tell me their experience which HDMI 4K / 60Hz ?

    Thanks a lot in advance !
     
  2. Amble

    Amble

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    HP EliteBook 8570p (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3520M/QM77
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7570M, 1600x900 (QE/CI), Dell U3417W
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:09 PM #2
    Amble

    Amble

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    HP EliteBook 8570p (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3520M/QM77
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7570M, 1600x900 (QE/CI), Dell U3417W
    You'll need DP for such a high resolution at 60Hz. HDMI is not capable for that kind of bandwidth.
     
  3. damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:10 PM #3
    damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    It is i´m using it with my Windows PC for over a year...!
     
  4. Amble

    Amble

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    HP EliteBook 8570p (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3520M/QM77
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7570M, 1600x900 (QE/CI), Dell U3417W
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:17 PM #4
    Amble

    Amble

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    HP EliteBook 8570p (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3520M/QM77
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7570M, 1600x900 (QE/CI), Dell U3417W
    Oh sry, HDMI 2.0 does it. What is the maximum resolution you'll get now on Mac OS?
     
  5. damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:21 PM #5
    damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Like i said i need a new machine... Right now i have none Hackintosh.
    Thats why i ask of experience BEFORE i buy new components.
     
  6. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,806
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:38 PM #6
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,806
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    There are more new Z and H270 motherboards with onboard DP outputs. Even if you can get HDMI 2.0 it's still best to use DP because it is well supported in macOS. HDMI 2.0 isn't. HDMI 2.0 is capable of 4K/60Hz in Windows as you've already discovered.
    Macs are quickly losing all of their HDMI ports.
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/buyersguide/special/early-adopters-guide-kaby-lake-200-series
     
  7. damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:40 PM #7
    damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Yeah, but like i said HDMI is the ONLY Option...
    It doesn't´t have to come from the motherboard !
     
  8. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,806
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:42 PM #8
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,806
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Then use the Club3D DP to HDMI 2.0 active adapter from your graphics card. That's what most do for 4K at 60Hz on macOS.
     
  9. damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:43 PM #9
    damjaybam

    damjaybam

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Is there a guarantee that this will work ?
    I don´t want to buy a whole 4K System with the "possibility" to have a 4K output...
     
  10. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,806
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 10, 2017 at 4:52 PM #10
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,806
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Success with this will depend mainly on your graphics card and 4K TV. You'll need to do more research in the forums to find out which are the best choices. Most have used an Nvidia GTX 960 or better for the best results. It's not simply plug and play, some patches are required. That's just the nature of Hackintoshing as you will learn with more experience.
     

Share This Page