4530s Upgrades

Discussion in 'HP ProBook 4530s' started by nikstar, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,163
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 17, 2012 at 12:26 PM #141
    Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,163
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    See topic "a question about ssd's" or something like that, mine just arrived and it's perfect and cost £7 inc delivery from hong kong!
     
  2. atriaventrica

    atriaventrica

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Jan 20, 2012 at 11:38 AM #142
    atriaventrica

    atriaventrica

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Processor swap went well. Bye bye celeron hello i5! Running the install tomorrow. Wish me luck.
     
  3. liposuction

    liposuction

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    Dell Vostro 460
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850
    Jan 20, 2012 at 4:40 PM #143
    liposuction

    liposuction

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    Dell Vostro 460
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850
    Awesome! I'll bet the celeron models are really cheap, and a great option if you're already planning on upgrading the proc from the i3 to an i5/i7
     
  4. atriaventrica

    atriaventrica

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Jan 25, 2012 at 1:31 AM #144
    atriaventrica

    atriaventrica

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    So I remember hearing about someone who had a like a DIY ViDock, an external express card graphics card... Anyone have a link or remember what it was called?
     
  5. Songokussm

    Songokussm

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Mobo:
    4530s
    CPU:
    2310m
    Graphics:
    intel hd 3000
    Jan 25, 2012 at 4:01 AM #145
    Songokussm

    Songokussm

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Mobo:
    4530s
    CPU:
    2310m
    Graphics:
    intel hd 3000
    Its called DIY egpu. It costs around $70 usd. If your planning on ordering the parts wait a month for version 2.0. It will be a major improvement.

    link

    With a 1x setup and a gtx460 i get the following
    3dmark06 : 14102
    3dmark11 GPU: 3054
    3dmark Vantage GPU:12604

    on an i7-2630qm + 8gb of ram+external monitor.

    keep in mind this is windows only.
    SWTOR: runs at 40-50 fps high settings. drops down to 15 fps during aoe combat. If you play fast past games, you will get a fair amount of lag, because of the bandwidth limitation.
     
  6. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 25, 2012 at 9:12 PM #146
    DavGerm4

    DavGerm4

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I've got a ProBook 4430s that has an i5 inside, and wanted to know if it's possible to swap that with an i7? Does the system overheat too much and not function? Anyone tried it with the 4430s? Also, if I did an i7 can it only be the dual core one, or can it be the quad core one? Would love to have a quad in my 4430s!

    Thanks!
     
  7. pnguyen951

    pnguyen951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Feb 6, 2012 at 4:34 PM #147
    pnguyen951

    pnguyen951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Hi timohour,

    I just bought a 4430s and it should be here in a few days. I'm looking to upgrade the CPU to the same one you did (i7-2630QM). Any issues cropping up for you now that you've had it for a month? The full 45w TDP causing any issues? Extra heat? Anything?

    Also read the thread on the v3.1 installer taking advantage of the Turbo stepping and OS X Geekbench scores are now on par with Windows scores. Am I correct?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  8. dropdeadike

    dropdeadike

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Hac Pro
    CPU:
    i7-2600k
    Graphics:
    AMD HD 6870
    Feb 26, 2012 at 12:41 PM #148
    dropdeadike

    dropdeadike

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Hac Pro
    CPU:
    i7-2600k
    Graphics:
    AMD HD 6870
    bump...

    im interested in upgrading my 4530s from the i5 2410m to possibly an i7 2820qm Qualification Sample, any hints tips ideas or drawbacks?
     
  9. pnguyen951

    pnguyen951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Feb 27, 2012 at 1:42 AM #149
    pnguyen951

    pnguyen951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    My 2630QM upgrade went super smooth on my 4430s. Its been running really great. With the 2630QM SSDT from bkribbs' package, I think it has made it perfect. Thanks bkribbs and all who have helped!

    I was going to go the QS/ES cpu route too, but I'm super happy to have gone the OEM cpu route instead. One less thing to have to deal with...IMHO. YMMV though.
     
  10. Inmike09

    Inmike09

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Mobo:
    EP45-UD3R / Z77MX-D3H / Z77A-G43 / HP Probook 4530s / HP ENVY 15t-j100
    CPU:
    Q9550 / i7-3770 / i7-3770K / i7-2720qm / i7-4800MQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 660 2 GB / GTX 760 2 GB / GTX 760 FTW 4 GB / GTX 970 4 GB / HD3000 / HD4600
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 27, 2012 at 7:08 PM #150
    Inmike09

    Inmike09

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Mobo:
    EP45-UD3R / Z77MX-D3H / Z77A-G43 / HP Probook 4530s / HP ENVY 15t-j100
    CPU:
    Q9550 / i7-3770 / i7-3770K / i7-2720qm / i7-4800MQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 660 2 GB / GTX 760 2 GB / GTX 760 FTW 4 GB / GTX 970 4 GB / HD3000 / HD4600
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey Guys! I was wondering if there is a wireless mini-pcie card upgrade on the atheros chipset that I could put in that gives wireless-N 300 MBps speeds? Obviously it has to be compatible with the Probook BIOS and Lion compatible. Any recommendations?
     

Share This Page