4440s Webcam / Camera not found. Is there a kext or dsdt edit I'm missing?

Discussion in 'HP ProBook' started by willpower101, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jun 17, 2013 at 5:56 PM #1
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    What steps do I need to take to get the camera working? Every program on my system or on the web says webcam not found.

    I have a fully edited dsdt according to rehabman's guide.
     
  2. rob1980

    rob1980

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    726
    Mobo:
    HP Elitebook 8470p
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3360m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000, 1366x768
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 17, 2013 at 8:01 PM #2
    rob1980

    rob1980

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    726
    Mobo:
    HP Elitebook 8470p
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3360m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000, 1366x768
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    do you have another Os installed to check the hardware is ok?

    If not, I'd download an ubuntu, or any linux live cd for that matter, run it, test it on that first.

    Obviously check its not disabled in bios too.
     
  3. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jun 18, 2013 at 12:14 AM #3
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    yeah, works fine in windows.

    What kext is it attached to? Is it one in the probook installer?
     
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,764
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 18, 2013 at 12:32 AM #4
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,764
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The webcam in the 4x30s is handled natively by the system. No DSDT edits or kexts are required. It is on the USB-bus and is handled by the system class driver.

    I don't know how this differs from the 4x40s as I don't have one. But I do know that even on the 4x30s, there are several different webcams from various manufacturers, and one with different quirks.

    Do you see your camera listed in System Information -> Hardware -> USB?
     
  5. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jun 18, 2013 at 12:44 AM #5
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    nope. Two apple ehci devices and my mouse receiver

    [​IMG]
     
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,764
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 18, 2013 at 12:50 AM #6
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,764
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    When was the last time you did a fresh install?
     
  7. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jun 18, 2013 at 1:57 AM #7
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Just a few weeks ago.
    Apparently it was disabled in the bios. I enabled it, and now it works properly in windows.
    edit: The camera appears to work fine for online stuff that uses html5/flash access like google hangout or test webcam websites.

    In osx the light comes on when opening photobooth, but I just get a spinning icon in the middle of photobooth, even after sleep.
    It's a Chicony Electronics webcam

    On side note, my right side usb doesn't appear to work in windows or osx :p
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,764
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 18, 2013 at 2:26 AM #8
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,764
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Didn't you just report in post #3 that it was working in Windows? So, it works in Windows when it is disabled in BIOS??

    Strange!?
     
  9. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jun 18, 2013 at 2:29 AM #9
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I had just used it in windows a few days ago. I must have accidentally disabled it when I was trying to get the right side USB working. Now I'm just having the typical problems with it and trying to get FaceTime working.
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,764
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 18, 2013 at 5:56 AM #10
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,764
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    For your right side USB... have you had the laptop apart? Right side USB is connected via its own ribbon cable to the motherboard, so you might want to check that.

    Side note: One time (while doing the fan hardware mod), I forgot to reconnect it, and didn't realize it until I went to re-install the SSD in the main HDD bay. The cable for the right-side USB was disconnected and snug right around the SATA connections blocking my ability to re-connect the SSD...
     

Share This Page