400w-500w PicoBox PSU

Discussion in 'Hardware/Parts' started by minihack, Jun 12, 2015.

  1. luchazo

    luchazo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    ASRock X99E-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel 5820k 6 core up to 3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte mini GTX 970 OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 17, 2015 at 1:33 PM #11
    luchazo

    luchazo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    ASRock X99E-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel 5820k 6 core up to 3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte mini GTX 970 OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nice test!
    So it's basically having 2 of the good old 200w Pico PSU in the same place, allowing a powerful processor (140W TDP perhaps, like the one I have i7 5280k) plus a powerfull GPU, then, right?
    If it passes your upcoming load tests, it's going to be a very good upgrade for the Cube!
     
  2. rafamundez

    rafamundez

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Mobo:
    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)
    CPU:
    2.3 GHz Intel Quad Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 18, 2015 at 4:14 AM #12
    rafamundez

    rafamundez

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Mobo:
    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)
    CPU:
    2.3 GHz Intel Quad Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nice job minihack!! :headbang:
     
  3. minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jul 19, 2015 at 3:30 PM #13
    minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    So - something that makes me uneasy that I had not noticed before now.

    When the computer is shut down, power is still being supplied to the motherboard (and not just by the 5vSB connection) as my case power LED stays on at (slightly) reduced brightness unless the power input to the back is unplugged and re-plugged. I wondered if there was something wrong with my power LED and so did some testing with other supplies and found that with them this phenomena does NOT occur, i.e. when using another PSU or PicoPSU the power LED goes out promptly on shut down.

    After multimeter testing I see that the 5v lines (red) remain at 5v after shutdown, and the 3.3v lines (orange) also do. The 12v lines are inactive (well, actually about 0.2v).

    On first plugin these lines are NOT active (just the 5vSB).

    I have used the contact facility of Aliexpress to ask the manufacturer if this is normal for his supply.

    It means of course that in standby there is a significant power draw that for my ASUS Maximus VI Impact which amounts to 12watts according to my power meter. As a contrast if you unplug the power supply and re-plug it (so that only 5vSB is active) then this figure is 3 watts.
     
  4. fabycae

    fabycae

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA H61N USB3
    CPU:
    Intel I7 4790k
    Graphics:
    nVidia GT210 silent
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 15, 2016 at 7:59 PM #14
    fabycae

    fabycae

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA H61N USB3
    CPU:
    Intel I7 4790k
    Graphics:
    nVidia GT210 silent
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi @minihack, thanks for the specs about this AC-ATX psu.

    I've two questions.
    This PSU can work with a single power-brick but,
    if I use for example a X51 Dell power-brick (or more powerful one),
    will I be able to make the most of all the 330W on the only 24pin + 4pin (for CPU) + 4 pin (for sata)?
    (in a hypothetical computer without a discrete video card)
    Or instead, if I combine 2 power-bricks,
    can I use the two line-in, to use only 24pin + 4pin + 4pin?
    (without a discrete video card in this case also)
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2016
  5. fabycae

    fabycae

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA H61N USB3
    CPU:
    Intel I7 4790k
    Graphics:
    nVidia GT210 silent
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 16, 2016 at 12:40 PM #15
    fabycae

    fabycae

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA H61N USB3
    CPU:
    Intel I7 4790k
    Graphics:
    nVidia GT210 silent
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I've found this thread that suggests me the answer for the first question, what do You think about it?
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2016

Share This Page