Contribute
Register

3rd Party eSATA not working

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
199
Motherboard
GA-Z370M D3H v1.0 Bios F13
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
Hi guys,
After installed AHCI_3rdParty_eSATA.kext in /Library/Extensions using new multibeast, the kext is installed, but is not working, it can't be load. I also have the efi mount error, but its ok i think the program do what is suppose to do.
Any one tested this kext? i d love to use my hot plug esata bays again.
Thanks
 

Obvious Answer Man

Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,407
As stated in the description in MultiBeast.app and MultiBeast.pdf:

Provides support for the ASMedia ASM1061, JMicron 36x (aka GSATA) and Marvell 88SE912x, 88SE9172 and 88SE9230 SATA controllers. All drives connected to these ports show on the desktop as External and can be hot swapped. Installs AHCI_3rdParty_eSATA.kext in /Library/Extensions.

If your eSATA controller is not one of the models listed above, it won't do anything.
 

MacMan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
8,456
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING - 2606 - UEFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Device ID injector kexts never show as loaded in System Profiler -> Software -> Extensions.

If the eSATA ports don't show as Unknown in System Profiler -> SATA/SATA Express then it's working as designed.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
199
Motherboard
GA-Z370M D3H v1.0 Bios F13
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
Thanks for the reply :)
This is my SATA/SATA Express info
Screen Shot 2017-11-10 at 19.39.50.png

I think kext is not work because Marvell port act like a normal SATA. If i boot with hdd connect to this port i can access to drive, and work like normal SATA. If i hot remove the drive it give me eject error message and i can't hot plug it back. can it be other configuration ? i didn't change anything on bios and this problem start only in High Sierra.

Thanks for the help
 

MacMan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
8,456
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING - 2606 - UEFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
199
Motherboard
GA-Z370M D3H v1.0 Bios F13
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
Ok seems like its a High Sierra bug.
i found this topic here
UPDATE:
Apple has decided to turn off hot plug support for all SATA devices (including eSATA). This happened somewhere in the betas. Here's a version I'm using on my own system that has resolved the problem for me. I haven't noticed any downsides yet.

I tried the @sunki's Clover "on the fly" patches
and its seems working (only ports show on the desktop as External not working). I can hot plug disks :)
here the copy/past i used

"
Then add @sunki's patches to config.plist/KextsToPatch...
Code:
<dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>fix IO error ICH10 for 10.13, credit SunKi</string>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.13.x</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>RYX2D5XCiciD4P5mhcl4D4TSdQs=</data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>iciD4P5mhckPmMFBCMyQkJCQdQs=</data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>fix hotplug ICH10 for 10.13, credit SunKi</string>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.13.x</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>icglQGACAD1AIAAAdQyB4b9///+Ji1EBAAA=</data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>kJCQkJCQkJCQkJCQkJCQkJCQkJCQkJCQkJA=</data>
            </dict>

"
 
Joined
May 13, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3-B3 (rev. 1.0)
CPU
i7 2600
Graphics
Titan X
Hi,

I am working about the same problem, my external RAID unmount in High Sierra, look fine in windows with Mac Drive,
i can see the Disk in Disk Utility but not the partition.
I try manualy to add the @synki's line in to config.plist (attach file here), it's ok like that ?
Did i need additionnal kext or line it's enough ?

I try to download the AppleAHCIport.kext v328, but it's impossible to log in in Insanely mac right now, don't know why, can you share the AppleAHCIport.kext v328 ?


Thanks a lot !
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    7.6 KB · Views: 134
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top