Graphics
GTX 970 G1
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Along side my hack, I have also taken on the project of building a RepRap 3D printer. Just kinda wondering how many other people here are into the art of having a machine build things for you. Currently mine is not working due to some bad electronics:banghead:, but I am working with the seller on that matter :beachball:. Anyway, I opened this thread for people to talk about it and see if there are others out there!

Wow, RepRap, your brave.
Life as it is I can't justify getting a 3D printer at home, but I have one at work.
A MB Rep2, that I negotiated work into getting at the beginning of the year.
I'm glad we got the Rep2 over the latest stuff from MakerBot. The Rep2 has matured well and doesn't suffer from a lot of the nasty faults found on the newest MBs.

Background-wise. I studied Product Design in university, used a range of 3D printers and CNC machines. The head of prototyping one year left me in charge of a MB Thing-O-Matic that needed fixing (it wasn't built properly). I learnt so much from that tiny beast. Twas a labour of love to get the smallest of prints from it.

What made you choose a RepRap over what's available on the market?
Also, which RepRap are you building?

Me? Brave? That is debatable. Anyway, what exactly do you do with that rep2? You mentioned product design and prototyping, but for what?

To answer your question, I chose to build a questionably cheap reprap kit because I am a highschool student with very limited funds. Believe me, if I had over 2k to blow, I would have an ultimaker 2 and a fancy graphics card.