Contribute
Register

3 monitors on Yosemite

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
MSI P55-CD53
CPU
i5 750
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello!

Im a fresh user of Mac because tonymacx86 solutions:)

Im happy with it, but i have one thing i cant resolve. I have 3 monitors setup. 2 monitors are working great, but 3 are black.

On the settings menu in Yosemite they are displaying 3 monitors. But only 2 are visible. I have radeon card.
Any ideas how to fix it?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
MSI P55-CD53
CPU
i5 750
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
OK. Its Radeon HD 7850 Series. One DVI, one HDMI, one DP connections.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2011
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
HD 7970 x2
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
per Novuake @ Toms Hardware forums:

"At least ONE of the monitors needs to be connected via display port, if you use any sort of adapter for one of the monitors, that adapter needs to be ACTIVE not PASSISVE. "

This is true for my setup using the Radeon HD7970s.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
MSI P55-CD53
CPU
i5 750
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Does anything happen if you boot up, unplug the black monitor then plug it back in again whilst still booted up?

Nothing happens. Screens are flashing when i plug it off, and are flashing once when i plug in again. Its te same result = black screen on 3rd monitor.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,873
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello!

Im a fresh user of Mac because tonymacx86 solutions:)

Im happy with it, but i have one thing i cant resolve. I have 3 monitors setup. 2 monitors are working great, but 3 are black.

On the settings menu in Yosemite they are displaying 3 monitors. But only 2 are visible. I have radeon card.
Any ideas how to fix it?
Ok, Breathless, since you didn't read the Rules when you signed up and we're not telepathic, please provide complete details in your profile.

System: motherboard manufacturer/model
CPU: detailed CPU model (e.g., i7-4770K)
Graphics: Video card manufacturer/model and/or Intel Integrated Graphics version (e.g., HD4600)

See my Profile items to the left of my post, under my name and my signature block (hint, hint). TIA.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
MSI P55-CD53
CPU
i5 750
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi,
I filled up my profile. Hope its ok now.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
MSI P55-CD53
CPU
i5 750
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So there is no hope to have 3 monitors with my build?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2010
Messages
2,717
Motherboard
AsRock Z370M ITX/ac
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
AMD 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So there is no hope to have 3 monitors with my build?

They already answered your question above and told you what to do. Connect 1 via DVI, 1 via HDMI, and 1 via either HDMI or DVI via an ACTIVE DP adapter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top