Contribute
Register

16gb Ram?

Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
95
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac
Is it possible to put 16gb ram into the pro book (officially they only support a maximum of 8gb)
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2011
Messages
92
Motherboard
"PovoMac"
CPU
Intel Celeron G530
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce 210
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I would venture to guess that it can support 16GB (2 x 8GB). 8GB modules wouldn't have been common at the time of finalising the technical specifications, so they would have played it safe with 8GB (2 x 4GB). A lot of motherboard manufacturers are also guilty of this.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
95
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac
the answer is yes....

:)

i just got 2x8gb sticks of ram from fry's electronics and put it in the 4530s...and its recognized by the system
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
95
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac
i thought (was hoping) the extra ram would fix the random lines and freezes on the graphics, but no luck unfortunately...does anyone know if there is a fix for this?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
18
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
namio said:
the answer is yes....

:)

i just got 2x8gb sticks of ram from fry's electronics and put it in the 4530s...and its recognized by the system

are you serious!? ughhh i should've upgraded mine to 16gb... i thought you could only install 2 x 4gb coz in hp manual it says 8gb is the maximum...
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
3,250
1333 will work. You can get 1600 and if your CPU doesn't support it, it will slow it down to 1333
 
Top