Contribute
Register

128GB RAM and 16 cores / 32 threads X9DAI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
813
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
GXGOW said:
That is the strongest PC/Hackintosh/Mac that I've seen in my entire life. It's going to be a real challenge to get the 128 GB of RAM completely full :p
Maya3D

You don't need much more for that =3
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z68XP-UD5
CPU
i7-2700k
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Wow, really nice! :)
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Dark Hero X570
CPU
5950X
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. Apple
  3. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thanks all.

Yes, there are a few video apps that use the memory really quickly.

Well, I tried setting it to Macpro 3,3 and 5,1 and other settings, but can't get more than 13,000 on geekbench when the win7 version gets 40,000.

Wonder what other tweaks there are to try.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2010
Messages
218
Motherboard
GA Z77X UD5H (F14)
CPU
CORE I7 3770K
Graphics
EVGA GTX 670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Simply Phenomenal. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
728
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD3R
CPU
X5650
Graphics
R9 290
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
lightninhopkins said:
Thanks all.

Yes, there are a few video apps that use the memory really quickly.

Well, I tried setting it to Macpro 3,3 and 5,1 and other settings, but can't get more than 13,000 on geekbench when the win7 version gets 40,000.

Wonder what other tweaks there are to try.

Search for the folks who did the SR-2 builds, with dual CPUs. One of them was hitting 40K+ on OS X. Sure they could give some tips.

Have you tried overclocking this? Might be difficult with all that RAM, but I bet those chips run at 4 Ghz pretty easily, probably even 10% higher. That should get your GeekBench scores up to 60K, I'd think.

In any case, this is a beautiful, purty, lovely build. Congrats!

(And it makes me think of the guy who posted his i7-2600K build and called it the fastest Hackintosh ever... hehe.)
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Dark Hero X570
CPU
5950X
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. Apple
  3. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@justruss - The SR-2 worked out of the box, as I remember. It was the 5520 chipset, where this is the new C606 chipset. I'm going to assume that's the reason. Maybe Lion hasn't been coded for the new chipset. Maybe 10.8 has, if Apple is planning on releasing this platform. (or something like that).
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
813
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
lightninhopkins said:
Maybe 10.8 has, if Apple is planning on releasing this platform. (or something like that).
Could be. In the end it's just that; a benchmark. Real life work and application performance still depend on personal workflow and tasks at hand. So nice number crunching, 'tis all.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Dark Hero X570
CPU
5950X
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. Apple
  3. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
shibirian said:
Could be. In the end it's just that; a benchmark. Real life work and application performance still depend on personal workflow and tasks at hand. So nice number crunching, 'tis all.

I agree with you. Some software poorly written on a ton of cores might be slower than properly coded software on a single core.

It's a pretty good way to see if the machine is working properly though, since it's the same software being compared on other machines. If a guy with a slower machine is getting higher numbers, something must be wrong. Someone I know is helping solve some issues.
 
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,689
Motherboard
Z68X-UD4-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
lightninhopkins said:
Thanks all.

Yes, there are a few video apps that use the memory really quickly.

Well, I tried setting it to Macpro 3,3 and 5,1 and other settings, but can't get more than 13,000 on geekbench when the win7 version gets 40,000.

Wonder what other tweaks there are to try.

looks like you're only running 8 cores in OSX based on your OSX GB score.

Are you using a DSDT?

There's a section in the DSDT that looks like this

Scope (_PR)
{
Processor (CPU0, 0x00, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
Processor (CPU1, 0x01, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
Processor (CPU2, 0x02, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
Processor (CPU3, 0x03, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
Processor (CPU4, 0x04, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
Processor (CPU5, 0x05, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
Processor (CPU6, 0x06, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
Processor (CPU7, 0x07, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
}

Yours should probably go up to CPU15.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top