Contribute
Register

128 GB RAM on Z490 Motherboard!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Messages
110
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55-S2H
CPU
i3-530
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@anannyo I plan on doing a Gigabyte Z490 Vision D build with 128gb ram also. Wanted to see if you had any luck with your build and which ram you used?

@ChromeGuy I have not added 128GB ram into my system yet. I am also waiting for someone to do it first before splashing the cash :lol:
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 680 / HD 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@anannyo I looked up supported RAM on the ASUS website and this is what they had for memory for 4x32GB
Vendors Part No. Size RAM Speed Run Speed SS/DS Chip Brand Timing Voltage Socket Support
Hyper X HX432C16FB3K4/128 4x 32GB 3200 3200 DS - 16-20-20-39 1.35 1,2,4
Hyper X HX430C16FB3K4/128 4x 32GB 3000 3000 DS - 16-19-19-36 1.35 1,2,4
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Messages
110
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55-S2H
CPU
i3-530
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@anannyo I looked up supported RAM on the ASUS website and this is what they had for memory for 4x32GB
Vendors Part No. Size RAM Speed Run Speed SS/DS Chip Brand Timing Voltage Socket Support
Hyper X HX432C16FB3K4/128 4x 32GB 3200 3200 DS - 16-20-20-39 1.35 1,2,4
Hyper X HX430C16FB3K4/128 4x 32GB 3000 3000 DS - 16-19-19-36 1.35 1,2,4
I know, plus I talked with ASUS support; the told me that as long as all 32 GB dims are same modules with same speed and are in kit of 2 or 4; they will support on ASUS Z490 motherboards.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I9 109000k
Graphics
Radeon RX 5700 XT
@ChromeGuy I have not added 128GB ram into my system yet. I am also waiting for someone to do it first before splashing the cash :lol:

Well wish me luck then lol, i bought 128gb i will receive all my components next wednesday, this will be my first hackintosh i hope everything will going well, i bought the G.Skill DDR4 Ripjaws-V 2x32GB 3200Mhz [F4-3200C16D-64GVK]. I cannot see my ram in the list that @dadamo provided so i hope it works. And yes all my ram are exactly the same
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Messages
110
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55-S2H
CPU
i3-530
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well wish me luck then lol, i bought 128gb i will receive all my components next wednesday, this will be my first hackintosh i hope everything will going well, i bought the G.Skill DDR4 Ripjaws-V 2x32GB 3200Mhz [F4-3200C16D-64GVK]. I cannot see my ram in the list that @dadamo provided so i hope it works. And yes all my ram are exactly the same

I think then it will work out fine as I have been told by both Asus and Gigabyte. But still want to get confirmation from you once you test it out
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I9 109000k
Graphics
Radeon RX 5700 XT
i will keep you updated! enjoy your weekend! :)
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580 Pulse 8GB
Well wish me luck then lol, i bought 128gb i will receive all my components next wednesday, this will be my first hackintosh i hope everything will going well, i bought the G.Skill DDR4 Ripjaws-V 2x32GB 3200Mhz [F4-3200C16D-64GVK]. I cannot see my ram in the list that @dadamo provided so i hope it works. And yes all my ram are exactly the same

Awesome! I'm about to purchase G.Skill Trident Z 2x32gb 3200 RAM for my build this week, with the plan to buy another 2x32 later. So hopefully it all works out for us! I think if we use OpenCore, we should be good.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I9 109000k
Graphics
Radeon RX 5700 XT
A bit late, i received my components a bit later then expected. As promised i keep u updated. i installed 128gb and its working!
Screenshot 2020-08-11 at 23.29.26.png
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Messages
110
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55-S2H
CPU
i3-530
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
A bit late, i received my components a bit later then expected. As promised i keep u updated. i installed 128gb and its working!
View attachment 483899

That is massive news for so many like me!! Thank you so much for confirming. By the way, which DDR4 RAM brand and model are you particularly using for this build? I think that will help people who want to be certain about the support of 128GB in their build :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top