Contribute
Register

100% Success with the Acer Aspire E5-575G-53VG and Sierra 10.12.5

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No need to use signature with a single laptop.
As per FAQ all required data can go into the three profile fields (Mobo, CPU, Graphics).
There are limitations on signature (so if ever you do use it, don't go crazy with specs).
@RehabMan,

I Removed signature stuff.

Is my profile (single laptop) good enough for you ?

Problem I had with build signature (here https://www.tonymacx86.com/account/build-signature) is that CPU-Z report other stuff for Chipset and Manuf and I can't find a match (see attached)
- There is no Intel for chipset, hence "other"
- There is no Manufacturer for "Acer"
 

Attachments

  • Mainboard.jpg
    Mainboard.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 611
  • cpu.jpg
    cpu.jpg
    4.7 MB · Views: 419

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is my profile (single laptop) good enough for you ?

"Graphics" is missing screen resolution.

- There is no Intel for chipset, hence "other"

Your chipset is 100-series. It is implied by the CPU you have, as the only mobile chipset compatible with Kaby Lake is 100-series.

- There is no Manufacturer for "Acer"

You should not have been using "build signatures" anyway.
If you need to use the signature, use the freeform text signature.
But you don't need signature, as you only have one system (which fits nicely in the profile)...
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
"Graphics" is missing screen resolution.



Your chipset is 100-series. It is implied by the CPU you have, as the only mobile chipset compatible with Kaby Lake is 100-series.



You should not have been using "build signatures" anyway.
If you need to use the signature, use the freeform text signature.
But you don't need signature, as you only have one system (which fits nicely in the profile)...

Thank you,

Graphics : I update the screen res.

I read your posts very carefully.

I tried UEFI boot with this bios.
- I cannot set secure boot to disabled. It does not allow me to select.
- For some reason or another UEFI boot does not see the USB 2.0. or even USB 3.0

The best way for me to install is to try and install using legacy boot. The machine does see the USB (see attached "F12-boot menu.jpg"). Hence , I installed clover legacy boot.


Selecting USB from Boot manager shows for a spilt second or 2 the
"boot1 : /boot"
6

and then I see this boot menu from Acer "Boot-Acer.jpg"

I have no idea what this means. I googled , came across a link in a language that I don't know off . Any ideas from the guru ?
 

Attachments

  • F12-boot menu.jpg
    F12-boot menu.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 297
  • Boot -Acer.jpg
    Boot -Acer.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 390

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried UEFI boot with this bios.
- I cannot set secure boot to disabled. It does not allow me to select.
- For some reason or another UEFI boot does not see the USB 2.0. or even USB 3.0

Some BIOS need to enable legacy boot to be able to disable secure boot.
Some BIOS need to set a password before you can change such settings.
Up to you to determine how. You might find clues in the documentation provided by the OEM.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
P
Some BIOS need to enable legacy boot to be able to disable secure boot.
Some BIOS need to set a password before you can change such settings.
Up to you to determine how. You might find clues in the documentation provided by the OEM.

problem is that selecting legacy boot makes the secure boot option completely disappear.

Sorry for posting again. Please ignore above if your have read it.

Managed to set password. Now Secure boot can be disabled.

Need to figure out a few things now, will get back to you @RehabMan
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
P


problem is that selecting legacy boot makes the secure boot option completely disappear. I have no clue what to do

As long as selecting legacy boot does not disable UEFI boot, that is fine...
It really is not something I can help you with from here...
You will need an understanding of your own BIOS and how to boot non-secure UEFI...
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As long as selecting legacy boot does not disable UEFI boot, that is fine...
It really is not something I can help you with from here...
You will need an understanding of your own BIOS and how to boot non-secure UEFI...
Ok,

You are a guru man.

After being able to disable secure boot.

Set the bios back to UEFI and NOT Legacy. Used an old El Capitan UEFI boot installer. Walla, I saw the clover boot menu.

As we speak I'm recreating the USB installer for UEFI boot.

Will let you know a little bit later.

Thank you for not giving up on me. !!!!! and a TON of reading material :crazy::crazy::crazy:
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As long as selecting legacy boot does not disable UEFI boot, that is fine...
It really is not something I can help you with from here...
You will need an understanding of your own BIOS and how to boot non-secure UEFI...
Hi @RehabMan,

Ok, was able to boot installer (UEFI) in verbose mode and took a video.
- Boot process report a lot of disk3s1 : 0x3s0 (UNDEFINED) and process crashed.... See " disk3s1 undefined.png". This is
unusual, never seen this before. Not sure why

- At the end the system report cpu halt. (See attached "cpu halt.jpg"). No idea why this is happening
 

Attachments

  • cpu halt.png
    cpu halt.png
    925.9 KB · Views: 293
  • disk3s1 undefined.png
    disk3s1 undefined.png
    513 KB · Views: 316

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
28,523
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @RehabMan,

Ok, was able to boot installer (UEFI) in verbose mode and took a video.
- Boot process report a lot of disk3s1 : 0x3s0 (UNDEFINED) and process crashed.... See " disk3s1 undefined.png". This is
unusual, never seen this before. Not sure why

- At the end the system report cpu halt. (See attached "cpu halt.jpg"). No idea why this is happening
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting"
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

(upload problem reporting files here)
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting"
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

(upload problem reporting files here)
@feartech,

Read through the FAQ.

I can submit EFI.zip Used F4 and F2 key before the installer started. Therefore it is the contents of the USB installer when installing macOs Sierra on the laptop.

NOTE: I have NOT been able to complete the installation process on this laptop. Therefore, I can only produce the contents of
patchmatic, IORegexplorer, output of kextstat and sudo touch command on my own iMac and NOT the laptop which is giving the problem.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    1.5 MB · Views: 88
  • boot verbose - disk3s1 undefined.png
    boot verbose - disk3s1 undefined.png
    513 KB · Views: 224
  • boot verbose - cpu halt.png
    boot verbose - cpu halt.png
    925.9 KB · Views: 239
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top