Contribute
Register

100% Success with the Acer Aspire E5-575G-53VG and Sierra 10.12.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,969
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@RehabMan,

I used the AppleHDA patcher with the clover patch method.

Did not drag any file files onto the application. I just selected the patch button and it generate a folder under Desktop/MironeAudio

Made changes to the Clover/config and copied the aDummyHDA.kext to Clover/kexts/other.

Reboot. Still no sound device under systemPreferences/Sound.

Not sure what I'm missing ?

You did not install aDummyHDA.kext properly. It does not work from EFI/Clover/kexts.
As per guide, all kexts you need must be installed to the system volume.

Also...
Must rebuild cache as per FAQ (boot without caches, rebuild cache in terminal, then reboot).
Also, you may need "IRQ Fix".
And you may need FakePCIID.kext + FakePCIID_Intel_HDMI_Audio.kext.
Also... as per FAQ (again), you will likely need CodecCommander.kext.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You did not install aDummyHDA.kext properly. It does not work from EFI/Clover/kexts.
As per guide, all kexts you need must be installed to the system volume.

Also...
Must rebuild cache as per FAQ (boot without caches, rebuild cache in terminal, then reboot).
Also, you may need "IRQ Fix".
And you may need FakePCIID.kext + FakePCIID_Intel_HDMI_Audio.kext.

Yes you a right again !!!

Did it before reading this and realized I'm a fool. Not very professional from me.

Nonetheless it is working !!

Now for Full QE/CI support on HD Graphics 620. Can this be done ?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,969
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Now for Full QE/CI support on HD Graphics 620. Can this be done ?

See guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/

It has the correct config.plist settings. Then you just need to add FakePCIID.kext + FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics.kext. And you will probably need Lilu.kext + IntelGraphicsFixup.kext as documented here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/readme-common-some-unsolved-problems-in-10-12-sierra.202316/

Note: Your ioreg already shows correct settings in config.plist and working CI. But you forgot to install the FakePCIID kexts, which is why you don't have QE.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
See guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/

It has the correct config.plist settings. Then you just need to add FakePCIID.kext + FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics.kext. And you will probably need Lilu.kext + IntelGraphicsFixup.kext as documented here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/readme-common-some-unsolved-problems-in-10-12-sierra.202316/

Note: Your ioreg already shows correct settings in config.plist and working CI. But you forgot to install the FakePCIID kexts, which is why you don't have QE.
@RehabMan,

Once again a perfect guide that worked 100%. Thank you.

QE support is working.

I noticed this morning that track pad was not working, believing that would be my next step. Had a look now and what a surprise, not sure what happened but somewhere in between all this it is working !!

I'm going to have a rest now. its late night here in SA and I have to work tomorrow. I will take stock and then do what is left and let you know. Also I have ordered a WIFI card (1 week ago) similar to @jackharvest. When that arrives I will install it.

Allow me to say thank you so much GURU for not sidelining me and answering all my post rapidly. THAT IS HIGHLY APPRECIATED !!!

I know I was a handful initially with the bios. None of that was due to you.

Be sure I will post here again to finish a product that can confirm @jackharvest findings. By the way my model is slightly different than his E5-575-51BZ (with internal HD 620 and the kaby lake 7200 CPU).
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Chipset Intel Kaby Lake, Manuf. Acer, Model Ironman_SK (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 (1080 x 1920)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@RehabMan,

Still with this machine. :crazy:

I'm hoping you could point me in the right direction. Backlight brightness is working perfect (slider). There is keyboard shortcuts that I want to assign.

To get a handle on the value of the keys I had a looked at this thread : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/dsdt-debugging-tracing-to-system-log.111868/

and here : https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-ACPI-Debug

I'm fairly new to the world of DSDT etc.

I have installed ACPIDebug.kext (no problem).

I can also patch the DSDT to add the RMDT device (no problem).

My challenge is with "adding code to my DSDT to where you wish to cause trace messages to system.log (call \RMDT.PUSH)"

I do not know where that best place (in my DSDT) is to add this call.

Can you perhaps give me a hint ?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,969
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@RehabMan,

Still with this machine. :crazy:

I'm hoping you could point me in the right direction. Backlight brightness is working perfect (slider). There is keyboard shortcuts that I want to assign.

To get a handle on the value of the keys I had a looked at this thread : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/dsdt-debugging-tracing-to-system-log.111868/

and here : https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-ACPI-Debug

I'm fairly new to the world of DSDT etc.

I have installed ACPIDebug.kext (no problem).

I can also patch the DSDT to add the RMDT device (no problem).

My challenge is with "adding code to my DSDT to where you wish to cause trace messages to system.log (call \RMDT.PUSH)"

I do not know where that best place (in my DSDT) is to add this call.

Can you perhaps give me a hint ?

Brightness keys guide is in the main brightness guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-patching-dsdt-ssdt-for-laptop-backlight-control.152659/
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
57
Motherboard
Acer Lyra_SK
CPU
i5-7200u
Graphics
940mx 620hd
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
:banghead:

View attachment 258172

Well, I've modified the .dsl files until all instances of GFX0 were gone, as well as the other items in the guide. Here's my final .aml files, as well as the .dsl versions of the same thing (in case its easier to parse through that instead of the .aml files):
Hey I have travel mate p2 from acer and its quite similar to your laptop and I did everything except I am not able to diable Nvidia graphic card can you help in that?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
74
Motherboard
MSI B450I GAMING PLUS AC
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hey I have travel mate p2 from acer and its quite similar to your laptop and I did everything except I am not able to diable Nvidia graphic card can you help in that?

Follow the guide. Return with questions. Follow it SLOWLY. This was likely the hardest part (not the step, just following slow, haha)
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
57
Motherboard
Acer Lyra_SK
CPU
i5-7200u
Graphics
940mx 620hd
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Follow the guide. Return with questions. Follow it SLOWLY. This was likely the hardest part (not the step, just following slow, haha)
I tried to follow but seriously not able to understand more over when ever I made DropOem=true all i get is this image
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20170627_121047.jpg
    IMG_20170627_121047.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 81
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top