Contribute
Register

10.8.3: AMD Radeon HD 7xxx Graphics Testing Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3700K
Graphics
MSI Nvidia 780GTX
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It's worth noting that this trick DOES NOT work for more than 2 monitors, even if you add the third monitor's device ID to the script. No idea why, but my third monitor remains off until I put it to sleep and wake up (then all 3 are working fine). This rotation script works GREAT if you have 2 or 1 monitor, but not for 3 or more.

Which is actually why I'm back here, anyone have a fix for 3+ monitors? :D

I can't even get it working properly on 2 monitors. 1 Monitor is fine with the rotate script, but when i plug in my second monitor and add it to the script, i just get white screen with corruption at the bottom. How do we find the device ID? I checked the monitor setup in safe mode but it only identified 1 monitor, and mirrored the displays. Using hdmi for one and DVI for the other.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
intel
CPU
i7 3770 @ 4.30 GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 680 Super Overclock
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Any theories as to why the HD7970 smokes the GTX680 by such a difference in tonymacx86's Unigine test? On Windows there's no such difference: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1881/14/

Was the 7970 benchmark done with comparable settings to the Nvidia tests here? http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...nchmarks-10-8-3-geforce-gt-640-gtx-680-a.html


AMD cards Have Stream Processors which work great with open GL things, the 7970 have more Stream Processors than Cuda cores on the 680.

To Simplify everything the 7970 is faster for gaming specially in windows HOWEVER the 680 is better for productivity, work related programs such as Photoshop, Affterefects, Cad and Premier and you can get some good gaming in windows.
 
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
Sapphire 7950 3GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

When I boot my machine I obtain this screen when chimera/chameleon is launched.
http://www.tonymacx86.com/attachmen...w-7870-xt-10-8-3-can-you-help-me-img_2550.jpg
I'm not the only one with this problem.
The way to obtain a sucessful boot is booting from USB with Unibeast and I have white screen (sleep trick works!). Why is this?
I read I have to install Clover but I don't know how to config it for obtain the same experience as Chimera.

Somebody knows a solution?

My build is:

* GA-Z77-DS3H
* i5 3570k
* Gigabyte 7870OC Edition
* 16 Gb @1600 Mhz


Thank you.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
laptop
CPU
i7
Graphics
460m
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I got my 7950 working on a fresh install with latest clover and graphicsenabler=no and using sleep method..

Only problem I have is OpenGL valley benchmark is giving me grief.... Anybody have a solution ?

JR7kuKy.jpg


oPXTbik.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel 3770
Graphics
7970 + HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I got my 7950 working on a fresh install with latest clover and graphicsenabler=no and using sleep method..

Only problem I have is OpenGL valley benchmark is giving me grief.... Anybody have a solution ?

JR7kuKy.jpg


oPXTbik.jpg



i think its a bug with AA with the 7xxx cards. i get the messed up looking screen when i try running the benchmark w/ AA on too.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Hackintosh
CPU
i7 2600K sandybridge
Graphics
MSI 6950
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Using tonymacs method works for my MSI R7950 2PMD3GD5.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
29
Motherboard
ga x58a-ud3r
CPU
i7 930 oc 4.2ghz
Graphics
HIS 7950 3gb
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi all,

When I boot my machine I obtain this screen when chimera/chameleon is launched.
http://www.tonymacx86.com/attachmen...w-7870-xt-10-8-3-can-you-help-me-img_2550.jpg
I'm not the only one with this problem.
The way to obtain a sucessful boot is booting from USB with Unibeast and I have white screen (sleep trick works!). Why is this?
I read I have to install Clover but I don't know how to config it for obtain the same experience as Chimera.

Somebody knows a solution?

My build is:

* GA-Z77-DS3H
* i5 3570k
* Gigabyte 7870OC Edition
* 16 Gb @1600 Mhz


Thank you.

dont you need to add a fat32 partition to your osx boot drive? that was the case with mine!
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel 3770
Graphics
7970 + HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi all,

When I boot my machine I obtain this screen when chimera/chameleon is launched.
http://www.tonymacx86.com/attachmen...w-7870-xt-10-8-3-can-you-help-me-img_2550.jpg
I'm not the only one with this problem.
The way to obtain a sucessful boot is booting from USB with Unibeast and I have white screen (sleep trick works!). Why is this?
I read I have to install Clover but I don't know how to config it for obtain the same experience as Chimera.

Somebody knows a solution?

My build is:

* GA-Z77-DS3H
* i5 3570k
* Gigabyte 7870OC Edition
* 16 Gb @1600 Mhz


Thank you.

this fixed my garbled screen problem:

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...xx-graphics-testing-thread-36.html#post590866
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
9
Motherboard
ga-z77x-ud5h
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
intel hd 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
have problems with my mobo H77N-Wifi (UEFI)

I can not set
Init Display First: IGFX
Internal Graphics: Disabled (OS X will recognize fully)

if I want to save it, it puts everything back to the original settings
what can i do?

System : i7 3770K, 16GB ram, 7970 (Powercolor), H77N-Wifi, 10.8.3
thanks for help

Same for me with ga-z77x-ud5h. You get a solution yet? I can boot but osx only recognized my 7770.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top