10.8.1 Update

Discussion in 'HP ProBook' started by Inmike09, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. Inmike09

    Inmike09

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Motherboard:
    X299 | Z170
    CPU:
    i7-7800X | i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 | GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 at 12:06 AM #1
    Inmike09

    Inmike09

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Motherboard:
    X299 | Z170
    CPU:
    i7-7800X | i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 | GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Smooth upgrade. Download the 10.8.1 installer from Apple website. Run it and reboot. No need to reinstall any kexts or reapply any settings. I did ask me to sign into iCloud and go through the iCloud setup again. No issues though.
     
  2. guru1234

    guru1234

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310m
    Graphics:
    1080p HD 3000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 at 1:54 AM #2
    guru1234

    guru1234

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310m
    Graphics:
    1080p HD 3000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for clarifying! I was having doubts if I should update or not
     
  3. guru1234

    guru1234

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310m
    Graphics:
    1080p HD 3000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 at 2:21 AM #3
    guru1234

    guru1234

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310m
    Graphics:
    1080p HD 3000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I just updated and restarted... my mouse and keyboard did not work, and it seems that the ahci-mlion patch didn't work (I have a ssd and the boot time took much longer than usual). The only noticeable difference for me was the mouse and keyboard (bluetooth, wifi etc all worked) so I reinstalled the kext and ahci patch and after a reboot my mouse and keyboard works.

    The only thing that seems not to be good now is the boot speed. After reinstalling the ahci patch, the boot time is still slow, cutting back about 15 seconds from before I updated... :( anyone have any Ideas?
     
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,509
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 at 2:25 AM #4
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,509
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Couple of things to note for those considering updating. If you do so, you should:

    - reinstall AppleSmartBatteryManager.kext after running the update. This is for some third party apps that expect to find things about battery status in AppleSmartBatteryManager ioreg areas.

    - if you needed the AHCI patch, you will have to re-install 10.8 vanilla IOAHCIFamily.kext (specifically the IOAHCIBlockStorage part) and redo the patch.
     
  5. Chipsybg

    Chipsybg

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 24, 2012 at 6:25 AM #5
    Chipsybg

    Chipsybg

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Not the case for me, broke a perfectly good installation. Now can't boot and have to reinstall everything. Beware!!!
    Got the STOP sign above the Apple logo and won't boot.
    I'm not going to try to update again before **** is sorted out.

    P.S. Tried on my personal 4530s, but this time via the AppStore and everything went smooth. Weird. Now I'm reinstalling the other ProBook and see where it goes with the AppStore update

    P.S.2. Fixed the first one by booting with -f and reinstalled the AHCI kext + cache rebuild and it's working fine now
     
  6. kant1988

    kant1988

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Z77M-D3H
    CPU:
    I5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HD3000
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 at 11:58 AM #6
    kant1988

    kant1988

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Z77M-D3H
    CPU:
    I5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HD3000
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I update from Apple website.

    Install + Restart.

    Everything work.
     
  7. steventt

    steventt

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    osx8.1
    CPU:
    i7 2630qm
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 at 9:19 PM #7
    steventt

    steventt

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    osx8.1
    CPU:
    i7 2630qm
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    tried to update from website and from "the software update", both doesn't work.

    after the installation complete, reboot, stuck on the screen with apple logo and a prohibited sign.

    tried to use disk utitilies to fix the premission, ram reset,

    but still doesn't work.

    my oen is hp pro 4530s i7 2630qm, f09, 4gb ram, 500gb hd,radeon graphics.
     
  8. k_roy

    k_roy

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i7-2720qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    512K, eMac, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 at 9:47 PM #8
    k_roy

    k_roy

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i7-2720qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    512K, eMac, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    This was in another thread, but now I can't find it. You need to grab the ACHI kext from 10.8. Fortunately for us, 10.8.1 actually makes a backup, so this is what you can do:

    Start up in safe mode (-x to Chameleon)
    Open up the Terminal (from cd to MacOS/ is one line).
    Code (Text):

    cd /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/
    sudo cp IOAHCIBlockStorage.hpinst.orig IOAHCIBlockStorage
    sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions
     
    Then just rerun the ProBook Installer and install the AHCI patch. I'm not entirely sure if this step is necessary, but it doesn't seem to harm anything and my ProBook started up regularly after I reboot.

    Edit:

    Just to give original credit (Post 648):

    http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook/63348-hp-probook-installer-4-1b1-65.html#post428441
     
  9. Chipsybg

    Chipsybg

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 24, 2012 at 10:39 PM #9
    Chipsybg

    Chipsybg

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Just boot with -f and it should start. After that replace the IOAHCIblockstorage and apply the AHCI patch and it should run.
     
  10. steventt

    steventt

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    osx8.1
    CPU:
    i7 2630qm
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 at 10:43 PM #10
    steventt

    steventt

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    osx8.1
    CPU:
    i7 2630qm
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thankyou!!!!! it works!!!!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice