Contribute
Register

10.13.6 double boot + can't do security update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

Been a 6 year hacker but I have been lucky that I have never really had any problems I couldn't figure out through the forum posts.

Recently I updated my computer from 3770k to a 8700k w/ Asus Maximus X + 1tb Sandisk SSD(Data) + Raid 0 SSD(2xsdd for video) + WD Black Nvme drive + 980ti. I used Storks guide to do this.

It was not a new install. All I did was update the hardware and put my boot HD and started updating kexts as needed.

I kept the System at iMac 14,2 and the CPU is OC to 4.7ghz.

I worked through updating Mulitbeast and got everything working, Audio, Internet, iCloud, iGPU..... everything works. Yay right??!!! Well all except this needing to double boot before the system fully loads.

Well funny thing, I went to update the latest security update and it just hung and would not install.

Now I am lost. I am suspecting that from moving from my very stable 3770k Hack to my updated one I have some kexts that might be causing a problem or I might have the wrong settings in Clover.

Either way a double boot is not a good sign.

Attached is the Verbos -v from the 2 boots.

I also am including my bootlog from Clover.

I hope someone will be able to look it over and tell me what I messed up on.

If I need to include anything else please do tell me.

Thank you in advance!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_8891.JPG
    IMG_8891.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 24
  • IMG_8886.JPG
    IMG_8886.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 27
  • IMG_8873.JPG
    IMG_8873.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 37
  • IMG_8872.JPG
    IMG_8872.JPG
    592.3 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_8884.JPG
    IMG_8884.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 62
  • IMG_8877.JPG
    IMG_8877.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 23
  • IMG_8883.JPG
    IMG_8883.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 28
  • IMG_8881.JPG
    IMG_8881.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 25
  • IMG_8882.JPG
    IMG_8882.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 28
  • IMG_8880.JPG
    IMG_8880.JPG
    842.3 KB · Views: 20
  • IMG_8874.JPG
    IMG_8874.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 53
  • IMG_8876.JPG
    IMG_8876.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_8878.JPG
    IMG_8878.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 19
  • IMG_8885.JPG
    IMG_8885.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 16
  • IMG_8888.JPG
    IMG_8888.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 25
  • IMG_8871.JPG
    IMG_8871.JPG
    610.2 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_8879.JPG
    IMG_8879.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 22
  • IMG_8889.JPG
    IMG_8889.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 22
  • IMG_8887.JPG
    IMG_8887.JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 23
  • IMG_8875.JPG
    IMG_8875.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 28
  • IMG_8890.JPG
    IMG_8890.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 23
  • bootlog.txt
    27.2 KB · Views: 47
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Firstly, thank you for the reply!

Well that is crazy as my monitor is securely inserted into the 980ti. What could that sillyness be about??!!! Any suggestions on why or how to fix this?

I see the NVidia GFX injection is missing from the Bootlog. You think I need to setup to do this?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,336
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After viewing those messy photos you posted...(video interlacing is awful)

The best I can offer is that you have a few things going on that are not common, such as the HorNDIS Tethering Driver..
I have not seen that one before. Is there a guide that you followed? Perhaps a re-read of your original install document guide might help.

Me, not so much... sorry. BTW - my GFX Graphics Injection is also "not set"
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After viewing those messy photos you posted...(video interlacing is awful)

The best I can offer is that you have a few things going on that are not common, such as the HorNDIS Tethering Driver..
I have not seen that one before. Is there a guide that you followed? Perhaps a re-read of your original install document guide might help.

Me, not so much... sorry. BTW - my GFX Graphics Injection is also "not set"

The HorNDIS Tethering Driver has something to do with my audio fix which came from here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/high-sierra-desktop-realtek-applehda-audio.226433/

I removed the Kext and then my audio did not work and when I put it back my audio works so I must need it.

I attached my config.plist if you see anything in there strange please please PLEASE help tell me.

I am still using the old serial from my 3770k build do you think I need a new serial # or should I try a different iMac version for 8700k?

Also in clover I do not have a SmUUID.

I am attaching all my Clover screens and my updated bootlog from Clover.

Any help is very appreciated. Thank you.
 

Attachments

  • after-audio-before-hotswap-config.plist
    5.1 KB · Views: 27
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.32 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.32 PM.png
    576.8 KB · Views: 28
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.24 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.24 PM.png
    427.9 KB · Views: 29
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.18 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.18 PM.png
    489.4 KB · Views: 25
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.13 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.13 PM.png
    324.4 KB · Views: 26
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.07 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.07 PM.png
    353.5 KB · Views: 24
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.01 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.16.01 PM.png
    412.4 KB · Views: 25
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.54 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.54 PM.png
    376.7 KB · Views: 16
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.48 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.48 PM.png
    575.3 KB · Views: 27
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.41 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.41 PM.png
    567.5 KB · Views: 22
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.34 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.34 PM.png
    548.2 KB · Views: 24
  • Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.29 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.15.29 PM.png
    531.2 KB · Views: 22
  • bootlog.txt
    27.1 KB · Views: 29
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,336
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, I checked on the HorNDIS and according to it's documentation:
HoRNDIS (pronounce: “horrendous”) is a driver for Mac OS X that allows you to use your Android phone's native USB tethering mode to get Internet access. I

It does not even mention AUDIO...

Anyway, I think your trouble lives with that failed Security Update. I just went and updated my Hero IX. First I made sure that my main KEXTs were all updated. Ones like FakeSMC, Lilu, WhateverGreen and of course Clover itself. Then I downloaded the correct video driver for my 1080Ti and the used MAS to install the Security Update (2019-001) and then when that finished - Two reboots later - It loaded up using the default video drivers. I then installed the correct one and bang! Bob's Your Uncle!

You might need to reinstall you OS and update after that. Just DON'T use Mojave.... no nVidia drivers yet.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
7,422
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-G Gaming (Wi-Fi) - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi both :)

I'm just wondering if the failure of the Security Update might be linked to the fact the OP's SMBIOS only has a System Definition and a Serial no. but no UUIDs or .. basically anything else. :crazy:

Maybe they were removed from the screenshot for privacy reasons? If so I apologise.

Any which way, bring down the overclock too until the system is stable and working as it should. It could be tripping over.

o_O
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,336
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi both :)

I'm just wondering if the failure of the Security Update might be linked to the fact the OP's SMBIOS only has a System Definition and a Serial no. but no UUIDs or .. basically anything else. :crazy:

Yeah, THAT... but the OP did say this was a working computer in its older state. I think what @UtterDisbelief is saying is that it appears that you are not using the same config.plist as your original build.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah, THAT... but the OP did say this was a working computer in its older state. I think what @UtterDisbelief is saying is that it appears that you are not using the same config.plist as your original build.

Hi UtterDisbelief and Bob_the_Tomato . Thank you so much for your reply.

@UtterDisbelief , I am looking for the UUIDs and or ssUMID and I am don't see anything in my Clover because it is not there. I do have a serial posted in Clover but when I click to authenticate it says it does not exist.

What can I do to resolve this? Do I need these? Computer boots up even it takes 2 boot runs to do so and is working fine other than that.

Advise? I want a solid system. For sure something went screwy when I moved over to new hardware after 5 years.

Anyway I can try it out without breaking my system as this is a work computer.

@Bob_the_Tomato I updated Lilu, WhateverGreen and AppleALC and removed the HoRNDIS and got audio work so that is a plus.

Computer still gives me a double boot before launching fully.

I searched for FakeSMC and can't find updated kext. Where did you find yours?

@UtterDisbelief and @Bob_the_Tomato I am attaching my config.plist if you see something bad please tell me.

Thank you again for your time and help.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.8 KB · Views: 65

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
7,422
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-G Gaming (Wi-Fi) - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
How about renaming your config.plist to something like config-1.plist and then copying the config.plist from your UniBeast stick into place? You can then boot to Clover, but instead of selecting the drive icon, scroll down to the smaller 'Options' icon, then second line 'Config>' and here choose which to boot from.

If booting now works as expected with the UniBeast config - albeit with some hardware not configured correctly - then the error will be in the original config.plist.

I can see a couple of things in there I would delete, but not being familiar with your motherboard or RAID I will wait to hear before recommending alteration etc. o_O

:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top