10.11.4+ Skylake Starter Guide

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by ammulder, May 22, 2016.

  1. Tulaga

    Tulaga

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 20, 2016 at 10:49 PM #81
    Tulaga

    Tulaga

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can't even get to the OS installer... stuck on the apple logo. So i went into verbose mode and here's what i got... anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
     
  2. osxfr33k

    osxfr33k

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Motherboard:
    HP Inspiron G6-1d28dx
    CPU:
    i7-2720QM
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 23, 2016 at 2:54 PM #82
    osxfr33k

    osxfr33k

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Motherboard:
    HP Inspiron G6-1d28dx
    CPU:
    i7-2720QM
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @wildwillow,

    This makes no sense my SSD is Samsung 850 Pro AHCI non NVme yet I get the same issue as this one post #51. I will try genericNVme to see what happens. I also have the IOAPIC clover patch for the Skylake MB's and that did not help. After that last line line in post #51 I keep waiting and I see the message Still Waiting for Root Device, then the screen text becomes shattered and unreadable with the prohibited sign.

    This Post:

    http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/10-11-4-skylake-starter-guide.193628/page-6#post-1274123

    My System:

    Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha (Latest Bios 1902 same problem in v1702)
    Corsair Vengeance 64 GB on Asus's QVL memory list
    Evga GTX 770 4Gb
    Samsung SSD (AHCI) 850 Pro
    EC 10.11.6
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2016
  3. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,640
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Sep 17, 2016 at 5:00 PM #83
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,640
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Apologies for the late reply. Where are you with this installation? Waiting for root means its looking for the OS/installer. Installing the GenericNVMe.kext will do nothing for your issue with a SATA device. The post you read required the user to install the NVMe driver due to the fact that was what he was using. The IOAPIC patch is no longer required in later version of El Capitan.
     
  4. the_utah

    the_utah

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Motherboard:
    GA z170x UD5 th
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 770
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Oct 5, 2016 at 3:26 AM #84
    the_utah

    the_utah

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Motherboard:
    GA z170x UD5 th
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 770
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Hi Ammulder,
    Thanks for your outstanding and detailed work here. I have a skylake system and I have followed you usb procedure with general success. I have 14 listed in the IO registry, however I can't seem to get power to my lacie USB 3 drive through any of these ports. Wondering if I have made a blunder somewhere or am missing something. Would appreciate your input.
     
  5. Alanhack

    Alanhack

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    MSI H170A GAMING M3 SKT 1151 M
    CPU:
    INTEL I5 6500 SKYLAKE 65W 3.20
    Graphics:
    None
    Oct 12, 2016 at 6:43 AM #85
    Alanhack

    Alanhack

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    MSI H170A GAMING M3 SKT 1151 M
    CPU:
    INTEL I5 6500 SKYLAKE 65W 3.20
    Graphics:
    None
    Hi all thanks for this unfortunately whenever I load these settings my machine works perfectly for exactly two days then starts playing up again. Is there something I am doing wrong? It also does not store my multibeast settings when I try to relead the build it says file corrupted. I have tried reloading multibeast but got the same results.

    Thanks in anticipation.
    Alan
     
  6. Alanhack

    Alanhack

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    MSI H170A GAMING M3 SKT 1151 M
    CPU:
    INTEL I5 6500 SKYLAKE 65W 3.20
    Graphics:
    None
    Oct 13, 2016 at 8:54 AM #86
    Alanhack

    Alanhack

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    MSI H170A GAMING M3 SKT 1151 M
    CPU:
    INTEL I5 6500 SKYLAKE 65W 3.20
    Graphics:
    None
    Hi, SeasideMike! Thanks for your input. I have re downloaded MultiBeast and re done the build. The latest build is a bit worse as it does not pick up sound system now. Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.
     
  7. ElfinHilon10

    ElfinHilon10

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    HD530
    Nov 27, 2016 at 12:10 AM #87
    ElfinHilon10

    ElfinHilon10

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    HD530
    I am FINALLY getting my new build here Monday/Tuesday next week. I will have a GTX 1080 and a i7-6700K in my build using the Z170 model of this motherboard. It seems like most people have been able to go through this build using the Z170 WIFI model just fine, but with the GTX 1080, I am a little worried.

    Should I leave GPU unplugged while using macOS? Or would it be ok to plug it in have two HDMI cables plugged into the computer, so that one would be plugged in to the GTX 1080 and the other would be plugged into the motherboard its self.

    Ultimately, if I am using macOS with a GTX 1080, what steps do I need to do to hopefully avoid errors? I plan on dual booting the computer with TWO separate drives, so that macOS is on one SSD and Windows is on another SSD. Is there any guide on how to do this safely?
     
  8. lenat

    lenat

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Asus H170M-PLUS
    CPU:
    i5-6500
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Dec 9, 2016 at 6:53 AM #88
    lenat

    lenat

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Asus H170M-PLUS
    CPU:
    i5-6500
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    My iHack:
    iMac17,1 - Asus H170M-PLUS, Intel Core i5-6500@3,20GHz (Skylake), Intel HD Graphics 530, i219-V, Crucial 2x8GB DDR4-2133, 2SSDs + HDD, VH2453MH 24'', El Capitan 10.11.6 (SSD2 - Ubuntu MATE 16.04 + Windows 10), Clover 3944.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2016
  9. sjpapa2

    sjpapa2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Motherboard:
    GA-B150M-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia + Intel
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 25, 2016 at 8:34 AM #89
    sjpapa2

    sjpapa2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Motherboard:
    GA-B150M-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia + Intel
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    B150M-DS3H
    Success: Booted from USB -> Installed El Capitan -> trying to use Multibeast...
    .. cannot make display work
    .. retrying Multibeast (-x) : log says: msdodfs.kext failed to load operation not allowed..
    .. cant mount ESP partition disk1s1

    How do I patch your patches? Text edit?
     
  10. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,621
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 9, 2017 at 3:04 PM #90
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,621
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    TextEdit can lead to problems with your config.plist if you are not very careful. We recommend patching .plist files with Xcode or Plist Edit Pro.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice