Contribute
Register

[05/02 Added Temporary Fix] Pascal / GTX 1060 Glitching after waking from sleep

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
ASROCK LGA
CPU
i3 Quad
Graphics
GTX 1050Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Oh, I did not know that someone else was also talking with NVIDIA! I messaged them whenever it was when I first commented on this thread, and they were able to replicate the issue on their machines. Seemed promising, but then I saw no signs of driver updates for at least a month.

Now, it hasn't even been a month since you last talked with them, but I suppose my having just sent another e-mail to Ray now may potentially uncover some new things. It's good that we have more people in contact with NVIDIA.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
339
Motherboard
Asrock Z270X ITX Fatality
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630 + RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Oh, I did not know that someone else was also talking with NVIDIA! I messaged them whenever it was when I first commented on this thread, and they were able to replicate the issue on their machines. Seemed promising, but then I saw no signs of driver updates for at least a month.

Now, it hasn't even been a month since you last talked with them, but I suppose my having just sent another e-mail to Ray now may potentially uncover some new things. It's good that we have more people in contact with NVIDIA.
Thanks for pinging Nvidia on this. I believe there is also a lot of Kernel Exception crashes when using opencl, hopefully they address some of that as well.
 
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
Intel i7-6700K
Graphics
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC 6GB
Update -

After changing my setup slightly I can sleep / wake my system with no issue. Specifically I upgraded the primary (middle) monitor in a 3-monitor setup.

New/working setup:
Primary monitor (LG 27UD69P-W) connected via DisplayPort (to the upper-left-most DP port on EVGA GeForce GTX 1060).
Monitor 2 connected via DP (DP-to-DVI cable)
Monitor 3 connected via DVI (DVI cable)

Previous/non-working setup:
Primary monitor connected via DVI. (The old primary monitor was an Apple 20" CinemaDisplay circa 2004 with ADP-to-DVI adapter. Nostalgia!)
Monitor 2 connected via DP (hdmi-to-DP cable)
Monitor 3 connected via DP (hdmi-to-DP cable)

If it matters, no exact match for the new primary monitor exists in "/System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-1e6d", which corresponds to LG. There are a few other/default LG monitors listed in there though.

Sorry for the lack of specific info, but it's all I have! Side note, the LG 27UD69P-W monitor is awesome.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
ASROCK LGA
CPU
i3 Quad
Graphics
GTX 1050Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Interesting... I wonder if direct connection to DP has something to do with it. Alas, I have no monitors which use DP. My main is plugged in with HDMI, and my 2002 23" Apple Cinema HD Display (when used) is plugged in with DVI.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
ASROCK LGA
CPU
i3 Quad
Graphics
GTX 1050Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
UPDATE:

I had e-mailed NVIDIA again because I hadn't heard from them in a long time. I got a response from Ray. Unfortunately, progress is slow.

"Our development team is still investigating the issue but unfortunately not much progress yet. We were able to easily replicate the same glitches in our lab and development is seeing quite a few channel exception errors when attempting to sync with the display, although we're not exactly sure why yet. Last update from development was they are still debugging, so unfortunately not much more update."
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte z77-ds3h
CPU
3570k
Graphics
Gtx 1060 6GB Gainward Phoenix
this in happening to me too. gainward phoneix gtx 1060 6gb
very rare though,once a week
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
MSI MPG Z370 Gaming Plus
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi - I have a similar problem but seems to be slightly different. It manifests itself as lots of inverted colours etc on the screen which seems to move between three different states of noise/static when I click. It is fixed by unplugging display, changing res, display on/off. Is this likely the same deal or do I have something else going on?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
26,029
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi - I have a similar problem but seems to be slightly different. It manifests itself as lots of inverted colours etc on the screen which seems to move between three different states of noise/static when I click. It is fixed by unplugging display, changing res, display on/off. Is this likely the same deal or do I have something else going on?
as per rules, please update your hardware profile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top