Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
I hope this finds you well...I'm actually a CIO for a bank and have done quite a bit PC building, configuring, etc. but I am a noob when it comes to Mac. I've decided to purchase PC components and build a hackintosh with my son. So, first i will lay out my hardware, then go over the steps I took, and finally the issues i am having...so, without further ado:
1. COMPONENTS:
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU: intel i7-2600K LGA1155
Memory: 16GB (only 4gb currently installed) Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B
Video: EVGA Geforce GTX460 1gb GDDR5
Case: Antec Three-Hundred
DVD: LG SATA 24x OEM
HDD: WD 500gb SATA
Mouse: Apple USB wired
Keyboard: Apple USB Wired
2. STEPS:
a. Downloaded iBoot, burned to CD, booted to iBoot screen
b. Inserted purchased copy of Max OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.3
c. Partitioned / formatted drive and installed Snow leopard
d. Installed combo pack 10.6.7
e. Installed Multibeast (tried many different things here - will explain later)
3. ISSUES:
a. I cannot get network card to work (although, I had it working once, but when I rebooted it stopped working and hasn't worked since)
b. I cannot get it to boot from hard drive...I have to boot from CD. When I boot from hard drive, I get the apple in the center of the screen and it just hangs.
c. I haven't been able to get the sound to work.
d. If my DVD drive is empty, it will not eject by pressing button on front unless hackintosh is booting up. If there is a dvd in the drive, I can eject it from with the OS.
4. MISCELLANEOUS
The files currently in my /extra/extensions folder are:
- AHCI_3rdParty_SATA.kext
- EvOreboot.kext
- FakeSMC.kext
- JMicron36xATA.kext
- LegacyAppleRTC.kext
- NullCPUPowerManagement.kext