VGA out

Discussion in 'HP ProBook' started by blaraka, Jul 28, 2012.

  1. blaraka

    blaraka

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    10.8.4
    CPU:
    i3-2330M
    Graphics:
    HD3000 512MB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 28, 2012 #1
    blaraka

    blaraka

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    10.8.4
    CPU:
    i3-2330M
    Graphics:
    HD3000 512MB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi,

    As there is no "detect displays' button in Mountain Lion in order to have VGA display working I have to restart. Is there any workaround for that?

    __

    EDIT:
    It's still there, you just have to press command while in displays preferences.
     
  2. riodoro1

    riodoro1

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Mobo:
    ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310M
    Graphics:
    HD3k & Radeon 6450M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 1, 2012 #2
    riodoro1

    riodoro1

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Mobo:
    ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310M
    Graphics:
    HD3k & Radeon 6450M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My VGA is not working at all, Any one knows which kext is responsible for that ?
     
  3. Beastlymac

    Beastlymac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    i5 2500K (Sandy)
    Graphics:
    XFX 6870 dual fan
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac, Lisa, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 1, 2012 #3
    Beastlymac

    Beastlymac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    i5 2500K (Sandy)
    Graphics:
    XFX 6870 dual fan
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac, Lisa, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    i don't think that vga out is natively supported in mountain lion so it would just be luck if it worked
     
  4. riodoro1

    riodoro1

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Mobo:
    ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310M
    Graphics:
    HD3k & Radeon 6450M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 1, 2012 #4
    riodoro1

    riodoro1

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Mobo:
    ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310M
    Graphics:
    HD3k & Radeon 6450M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is not, we need a special kext for that, and i would like to know which kext is it :)
     
  5. Beastlymac

    Beastlymac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    i5 2500K (Sandy)
    Graphics:
    XFX 6870 dual fan
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac, Lisa, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 1, 2012 #5
    Beastlymac

    Beastlymac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    i5 2500K (Sandy)
    Graphics:
    XFX 6870 dual fan
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac, Lisa, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    ahh ok that makes more sense
     
  6. trusteh

    trusteh

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4730s
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 1, 2012 #6
    trusteh

    trusteh

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4730s
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    When using the kext's from the first probook v5 installer I have VGA out "working".

    But I have to sleep and unsleep my 4730s before the external monitor is recognized.

    Don't know wich kext exactly though, sorry.

    But now in Mountain Lion, when I have a monitor on VGA-out I get major artifacts.
     
  7. aschewe

    aschewe

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i7 - 2670QM
    Graphics:
    HD 3000 / 6490M
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 1, 2012 #7
    aschewe

    aschewe

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i7 - 2670QM
    Graphics:
    HD 3000 / 6490M
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My VGA sort of worked but I had to add the attached kext to get it to work properly. Give it a try and let us know.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. doncarlos

    doncarlos

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77-HD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3470
    Graphics:
    AMD 7790 1 GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 13, 2012 #8
    doncarlos

    doncarlos

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77-HD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3470
    Graphics:
    AMD 7790 1 GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hi!

    I installed the kext which was attached to the last post but the VGA out is a no go for me. :( HDMI works fine. Under lion the VGA worked perfectly. I also have some graphical glitches but not very often and they are gone after closing the glitchy window. I need the VGA port, can somebody help me?

    DC
     
  9. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    117,780
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 13, 2012 #9
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    117,780
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Did you try restarting your laptop with the VGA device connected? When I did that using the kexts now in tegezee's ProBook installer, I was able to get it to work. Supposedly you can hold down Alt/CMD while in Display Preferences and the "Detect Displays" will magically show up. Why the Apple folks made it hidden by default is beyond my comprehension.
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    117,780
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 13, 2012 #10
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    117,780
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    P.S. It is the Windows key on our keyboards, which I guess in Mac-land is the Option key.
     

Share This Page