Trouble booting installer 10.8.0 with ProBook 4440s

Discussion in 'HP ProBook' started by willpower101, May 25, 2013.

  1. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    May 25, 2013 #1
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    No matter what flags I use, I can't get the 4440s to boot to the installer.
    Always hangs on IOBluetoothHCIController Start Completed
    (sometimes hangs on mac framework successfully initialized.)

    I reset the bios.
    Changed the value you mentioned.
    Used the boot flags and tried a variety of others.

    I'm using 10.8.0 on a 4440s with a SANDY bridge i3 processor (That was working fine on my g770)
    Using unibeast 1.7.0 and don't want to download 10.8.3 installer right now because with my internet connection it would take 5 hours. So I'm using the 10.8.0 saved in my apps folder on the other laptop.
     
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 25, 2013 #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    That points to some kind of graphics issue (everything booted ok, you just don't see result on your laptop display). You might try plugging in an HDMI monitor. It is something that "-x" (safe mode) should take care of. You could also try removing /S/L/E/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext from your Unibeast USB.

    There probably isn't that many people who have tried 10.8.0 on the ProBook 4x40s.
    I recommend using 10.8.3. It is all that is supported by the ProBook Installer for 4x40s anyway.

    I don't think you have a choice. Might as well start downloading now...
     
  3. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    May 26, 2013 #3
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    10.8.3 finally and not working either.

    hdmi does the same thing.

    Is /S/L/E/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext removal the only other thing that could be preventing boot at this point?
     
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 26, 2013 #4
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    What boot flags are you using?
     
  5. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    May 26, 2013 #5
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Tried:

    -v -x PCIRootUID=0 GraphicsEnabler=No
    -v PCIRootUID=0 GraphicsEnabler=No
    -v -x PCIRootUID=0
    -v -x npci=0x2000 PCIRootUID=0 GraphicsEnabler=No

    edit
    And just tried verbose by itself as well. Still hung up on the ioblutoothhcicontroller :(
     
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 26, 2013 #6
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Does the laptop have Radeon switchable graphics? If so, have you disabled it in BIOS?
     
  7. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    May 26, 2013 #7
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nope. No onboard
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 26, 2013 #8
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  9. willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    May 26, 2013 #9
    willpower101

    willpower101

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Followed exactly. Should I try renaming ssdt-1 to ssdt?

    outpute is:

    MAC Framework successfully initialized
    using 16384 buffer headers and 10240 cluser IO buffer header
    []

    Then just the cursor, not flashing. No output on hdmi either.
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 26, 2013 #10
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,556
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No. The order in which SSDTs are loaded doesn't matter.

    Hmmm... Have you verified that this laptop runs Windows or Linux correctly?
     

Share This Page