The GTX 650 Ti Thread

Discussion in 'General Hardware Discussion' started by hamiltus, Oct 10, 2012.

  1. hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 10, 2012 #1
    hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    [​IMG=full]

    Welcome to the GTX 650 Ti Thread. This is the place where u can ask questions, buying advice and post success/failure stories involving the use of the new GK106 based GTX 650 Ti with your Hackintosh.

    I started this thread because :
    1) I'm in the market for a video card to move away from my ivy bridge iGPU onto a dedicated graphics card and the GTX 650 Ti seemed like a perfect sweet spot between the 650 & 660
    2) I've really come to enjoy interacting with the community on stuff and helping others out and I saw the GTX 660 Ti thread and I thought I could do a similar discussion but for the 650 Ti

    Tonymacx86 Amazon link : http://www.amazon.com/s/?tag=tonymacx86com-20&link_code=wsw&_encoding=UTF-8&search-alias=aps&field-keywords=gtx+650+ti&Submit.x=15&Submit.y=17&Submit=Go
     
  2. hater69

    hater69

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    -
    CPU:
    i7-3770k
    Graphics:
    -
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 10, 2012 #2
    hater69

    hater69

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    -
    CPU:
    i7-3770k
    Graphics:
    -
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    i want to buy gtx 650ti. is it compatible with 10.8?
     
  3. hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 11, 2012 #3
    hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    In theory yes thanks to nvidia's drivers but I haven't got my hands on a card. Hence why I made the thread here.
     
  4. sundanc3

    sundanc3

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    GA-H61N-USB3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 12, 2012 #4
    sundanc3

    sundanc3

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    GA-H61N-USB3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I am also interested in the 650 ti. Im interested to see if it would work in 10.7.5 but I'll update to 10.8.2 if I have to even though Id rather not ruin an already working machine...
     
  5. damorgia

    damorgia

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X 10.8.3
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 650
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 13, 2012 #5
    damorgia

    damorgia

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X 10.8.3
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 650
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  6. jaystrou

    jaystrou

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core I7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 13, 2012 #6
    jaystrou

    jaystrou

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core I7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6359/the-nvidia-geforce-gtx-650-ti-review

    According to that well written article, this card uses a GK106 gpu, the same used on the GTX660, not the same used on the GTX650. Therefore, you will probably have to install it the same way as the GTX660. Also, from that review, it appears that the card is positioned to perform well at up to 1600 x 900 resolutions, not 1080P (1920 x 1080). And, if you are contemplating going to a 27" monitor with extended resolution and maybe an IPS display, this may not be the right card. The article details all of the GPU reductions made to the GTX660 to create this card at a lower price point. I am not sure that it is worth it given the 2-3 years many people will use a graphics card.
     
  7. sundanc3

    sundanc3

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    GA-H61N-USB3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 13, 2012 #7
    sundanc3

    sundanc3

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    GA-H61N-USB3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Actually it performs extremely well at 1080p. It smokes the 550ti which is the previous generation card of this level which was a very able gaming card. It supports resolution well above 1080p as well, just don't expect to be gaming at the level.
     
  8. jaystrou

    jaystrou

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core I7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 13, 2012 #8
    jaystrou

    jaystrou

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core I7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Quote from the article:

    For what little tradition there is, NVIDIA’s x50 parts are traditionally geared towards 1680x1050/1600x900 resolutions. And while NVIDIA is trying to stretch that definition due to the popularity of 1920x1080 monitors, the loss of the ROP/memory cluster all but closes the door on the GTX 650 Ti’s 1080p ambitions. The GTX 650 Ti will be for all intents and purposes NVIDIA’s fastest sub-1080p Kepler card.
     
  9. hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 13, 2012 #9
    hamiltus

    hamiltus

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Which is why it interested me because I use a 1680x1050 20" Apple Cinema Display which is the kind of resolution this card appears to excel at.
     
  10. bpseal

    bpseal

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Hacktintosh
    CPU:
    3.4 GHz Intel i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX 650 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 13, 2012 #10
    bpseal

    bpseal

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Hacktintosh
    CPU:
    3.4 GHz Intel i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX 650 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have the EVEA 650ti card and it works natively with my hackintosh. My MB is the GA Z77X-UD5H with the Intel i5 3570k. Everything works great with my setup excluding automatic sleep and wake. It goes to sleep without actually turning off the tower, but turns off the monitors. Make sure and get the TP-Link wireless card for native WIFI as well!
     

Share This Page