i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Plus
pleasure to meet you,

i'm a 3d artist working in the games industry BUT i've worked mainly on macs during most of my career.
my 2011 macbook pro served me well but my current project is pretty demanding and it's really time to invest in a new, proper workstation.
i mostly use adobe creative suite, autodesk maya and unity3d.

the current mac pro is 3000$, about 3 years old and doesn't really suit my needs.
since apple doesn't seem to care about updating it i decided to put together a hackintosh.

my goals for the system would be:

— has to look like a mac (bought a nice G4 quicksilver for 25 euros)
— current intel skylake chipset (efficient and future proof)
— plenty GPU power (might do 4K and VR stuff soon)
— be very quiet

i kinda lost track of PC hardware over the years, but put together this hardware list:

Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
Corsair CX Series Modular CX650M
Intel Core i7-6700K, 4x 4.00GHz
MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G, GeForce GTX 980, 4GB GDDR5
Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4-2666 UDIMM 32GB Kit (8GB x 4)
Samsung SSD 850 Evo 1TB

the case is 80% done,
i just received the GPU so i can adapt the standoffs to the microATX board
and do a nice backplate for the ports.

i'm still trying to figure out how to properly cool the system,
and would love to hear your input on that.
would you recommend a water-cooling solution?
are there any that provide long enough tubing for the side-door construction?

let me share some pictures of the case-mod :)
(first time i did this, with great metalwork-help from my dad)

IMG_8408.jpg
emptied case

IMG_8413.jpg
test-aligning the mainboard

IMG_8419.jpg
cutting air-vents

IMG_8431.jpg
paper mock-up for the backplate
(will probably be a black, laser-cut PVC piece)

G4 cooling scheme.png
diagram for the cooling, do you think this could work?

thank you!
r.

most of the components are in.
the corsair PSU fits perfectly!