processor B940 and intel hd2000

Discussion in 'HP ProBook 4530s' started by abakobo, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. abakobo

    abakobo Guest

    Jan 13, 2012 #1
    abakobo

    abakobo Guest

    hi

    a friend bought a 4530s but with a B940 processor and a intel hd2000..
    I advised him to buy a 4530s for his macos compatibility but didn't know that model was existing...

    is it possible to install osx 6 or 7 on that one (it looks like it's a sandy bridge and in the faq's it looks like it's the condition. but I have a bad feeling about that)?

    thx

    ako
     
  2. gerard71

    gerard71 Guest

    Jan 13, 2012 #2
    gerard71

    gerard71 Guest

    hd 2000 is not compatible
     
  3. blueking

    blueking

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,255
    Jan 13, 2012 #3
    blueking

    blueking

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,255
    This is correct. The hd 3000 is required, meaning you need a sandy bridge CPU.
     
  4. atriaventrica

    atriaventrica

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Jan 13, 2012 #4
    atriaventrica

    atriaventrica

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    However I also bought the celeron and the processor is upgradeable. So you can buy an i3 or i5 and swap it and then install.
     
  5. blueking

    blueking

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,255
    Jan 13, 2012 #5
    blueking

    blueking

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,255
    That I guess it true.
     
  6. Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,163
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2012 #6
    Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,163
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Does it happen to have a second graphics card as in the radeon?
    If you can upgrade the processor and with the independant radeon card it may just work
     
  7. blueking

    blueking

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,255
    Jan 13, 2012 #7
    blueking

    blueking

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,255
    The upgraded processor has the hd 3000, so that would be the easiest.
     
  8. Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,163
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2012 #8
    Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,163
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    the graphics is in the processor not the board? damn.. if it didn't then it could have maybe been a stepping stone for ours to see what made it tick
     
  9. liposuction

    liposuction

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    Dell Vostro 460
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850
    Jan 13, 2012 #9
    liposuction

    liposuction

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    Dell Vostro 460
    CPU:
    i7 2600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850
    That's correct. The GPU is in the CPU with regards to the Intel graphics.
     
  10. Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,163
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2012 #10
    Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,163
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Tell him to take it back to the shop and tell them he's had 3 blue screens in the last few days and he wants to return it and chose a different model. (then pay the extra if relevant) :shh: :shh:
     

Share This Page