[obsolete] HP ProBook Installer 6

Discussion in 'HP ProBook' started by philip_petev, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. philip_petev

    philip_petev

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI F4
    CPU:
    i7-3770 @ 3.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Nov 2, 2012 #1
    philip_petev

    philip_petev

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI F4
    CPU:
    i7-3770 @ 3.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    117,582
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 2, 2012 #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    117,582
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    This is great! Not only are we able to install/update to the latest releases, we should have an easier time adapting to future versions.

    :thumbup:

    For those of you that don't know, philip has been working on this for a while. It takes an incredible amount of time to put these packages together and it is a significant contribution for ProBook owners. Thanks for this and your other contributions, philip!

    Both myself and BigDonkey (and perhaps others) have been testing this for the last couple of days, but we need additional testing to verify that it is working with a variety of hardware configurations. So, if you have the ability to do an install to an extra partition or spare harddrive, please do so and report back. Or maybe you have it in mind that you'd like to do a fresh install... now would be a good time to try that with philip's new installer.
     
  3. BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,086
    Mobo:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Nov 2, 2012 #3
    BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,086
    Mobo:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    OK guys, let's roll.

    Philip has been with Probook Forum from the beginning so he knows all the ins and outs to make a really good installer.
    We need everybody's participation to iron out all the bugs.
    I'm going myself, to wipe my hard drive out and test 10.6.8 10.7.5 and 10.8.2 since these versions most likely will be used.

    A long weekend ahead of us.
     
  4. nysos3

    nysos3

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4730s F.29 10.8.2
    CPU:
    i7-2670QM
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000 + ATI 6490M
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 2, 2012 #4
    nysos3

    nysos3

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4730s F.29 10.8.2
    CPU:
    i7-2670QM
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000 + ATI 6490M
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    I'll also be testing this this weekend with my 4730s i7-2670QM. Next weekend I'll be able to test the same machine with a 1080p LCD.

    Thanks for everything you guys do. My, as well as others, appreciation could never be overstated.
     
  5. ryman95

    ryman95

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    Intel i3 2330m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 2, 2012 #5
    ryman95

    ryman95

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    Intel i3 2330m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    Nice work!!! Thank you so mutch for creating the new installer.

    Edit: I got a KP after rebooting. The SSDT for i3 2330m seems to be not the right one. After changing back to the old one from Installer 5 from Windows I can boot again.
     
  6. philip_petev

    philip_petev

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI F4
    CPU:
    i7-3770 @ 3.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Nov 3, 2012 #6
    philip_petev

    philip_petev

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI F4
    CPU:
    i7-3770 @ 3.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    I've just checked the i3 2330m SSDTs from the old and the new installer and their md5 sums have matched. Are you sure?

    Edit: I've just checked them all and the checksums of the other SSDTs have matched as well. I've also checked all menu entries in the Installer for differences between the entry label and the package to which the label points and they was ok too.

    Edit2: I've also checked all DSDTs and all their md5 sums have matched the sums of the DSDTs from the old Installer.
     
  7. Bloom

    Bloom

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m/HM65
    Graphics:
    HD3000/1366x768
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 3, 2012 #7
    Bloom

    Bloom

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m/HM65
    Graphics:
    HD3000/1366x768
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    I can confirm that this installer is working flawlessly for my system (BIOS F20). Upgraded from 10.8.0 to 10.8.2. Thanks for your support.
     
  8. bthall

    bthall

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    427
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #8
    bthall

    bthall

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    427
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    As a very appreciative beneficiary of all the HP Probook work that you guys have done, I would be glad to try help out and will try to do a fresh 10.8.2 install. I've got a spare 2.5" hard drive just looking for something to do this weekend!

    -bth
     
  9. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    117,582
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #9
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    117,582
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    I've used it for 10.7.5 Lion install so far... No issues to report. Although I did select the EDID generator... and I did forget to unplug my external HMDI monitor while doing it, so it did fail (folks... this is a known issue... best to unplug external monitor during installs).

    Next I'm working on a SL 10.6.8 install... Go easy on me... I've not done a SL install yet.
     
  10. philip_petev

    philip_petev

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI F4
    CPU:
    i7-3770 @ 3.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Nov 3, 2012 #10
    philip_petev

    philip_petev

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI F4
    CPU:
    i7-3770 @ 3.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    HP ProBook Installer 6 (beta 3)

    Yes guys, this is a known issue. For best results, always disconnect the external display before doing the installation, since the included EDID generator is designed to work with the internal display only. It doesn't play well with external displays (actually, it doesn't play at all) and this is an issue I've never able to solve.

    BigDonkey have reported that the 10.6.8 option has broken kexts or something (these are the same kext from BlueKing's Installer v.3.3.0, but anyway, he wasn't able to make this OS working at all with them), I've received a message from him this morning that he have managed to make it work with an archive, containing the kexts he have used. The next beta will probably have a brand new 10.6.8 option.

    Thank you, BigDonkey!
     

Share This Page