Mountain Lion 6XXX GPU Issues - FIX INSIDE!

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Support' started by Colton328, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 25, 2012 #1
    Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Since many of you have issues getting your AMD Radeon HD 6000 series card to work in Mountain Lion (when it worked great in Lion), I decided to make this guide.

    Credits: Haysphere

    Part 1: Setting up the UniBeast Drive
    1. Insert your UniBeast Flash Drive into a working Mac. Maybe your MacBook Pro, working Lion installation, etc.
    2. Run this command in terminal to unhide files "defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles 1" (copy and paste that into terminal and hit enter)
    3. Force Finder to quit. You can do this in activity monitor. It will automatically restart.
    4. Open Finder and navigate to your UniBeast Drive
    5. Navigate to System/Library/Extensions
    6. MAKE A BACKUP OF the kext "ATI6000Controller.kext" and then DELETE it.

    Part 2: Booting from your UniBeast Drive
    1. Boot from your UniBeast drive like you usually would. Use the command "GraphicsEnabler=No" in order to boot into Mountain Lion Installer
    2. Install Mountain Lion as you usually would
    3. After installation, bootup Mountain Lion by booting into your flash drive and then booting into ML, using the command "GraphicsEnabler=No"
    4. Copy the ATI6000Controller.kext kext to your new desktop
    5. Run KextBeast (Download: http://www.tonymacx86.com/downloads.php?do=cat&id=3)
    6. Reboot

    Now your graphics should work. I have two monitors (Apple Cinema Display and another 25" 1080p monitor) running with full graphics acceleration Very fast and no lag!

    For those wondering, I fixed my machine in my sig by replacing the parts with the exact same things. Not everything blew. I now run a surge protector on my phone line and computer.

    You're welcome!
     
  2. 10terabyte

    10terabyte

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    Z68x-UD5-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 #2
    10terabyte

    10terabyte

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    Z68x-UD5-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Giving this a shot now. Thanks for the consolidated info. Will report back.
     
  3. iGee

    iGee

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Mobo:
    GA Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    Radeon 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 #3
    iGee

    iGee

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Mobo:
    GA Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    Radeon 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I worked this out earlier and it aloud me to boot, but i only have one resolution. Does anyone know how to fix that?
     
  4. Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 26, 2012 #4
    Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Follow part 2. Restore the kext using KextBeast and then fix permissions. Reboot and you should be up and going.

    After doing that, and rebooting, I had native resolutions on both my displays and full graphics acceleration support.
     
  5. 10terabyte

    10terabyte

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    Z68x-UD5-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 #5
    10terabyte

    10terabyte

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    Z68x-UD5-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Perfect. Now onto MultiBeast. Thanks!
     
  6. stevodevo

    stevodevo

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68XP-UD3 MB
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE ATI Radeon HD6870 1GB
    Jul 26, 2012 #6
    stevodevo

    stevodevo

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68XP-UD3 MB
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE ATI Radeon HD6870 1GB
    Thanks so much guys! I followed these instructions and am now writing this from my ML install with dual monitors working (and I think the screen looks sharper and better than in Lion)!
     
  7. ptrezby1

    ptrezby1

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 (F8)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850
    Jul 26, 2012 #7
    ptrezby1

    ptrezby1

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 (F8)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850
    Works Like a Charm

    Many thanks! Followed the post verbatim and it worked perfect ... now on 10.8!!
     
  8. NickRno77

    NickRno77

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68MX-UD2H-B3 v1.3 F13
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz
    Graphics:
    Saphire HD 6870
    Jul 26, 2012 #8
    NickRno77

    NickRno77

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68MX-UD2H-B3 v1.3 F13
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz
    Graphics:
    Saphire HD 6870
    Worked for me as well, thanks very much. Only problem I have because I use the Display Port if the org.chameleon.Boot.plist changes back to defaults after reboot Monitor does not sync, I have to login to computer remotely to restore the org.chameleon.Boot.plist file.
     
  9. TheEdge_

    TheEdge_

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-D3H BIOS F22
    CPU:
    Intel i5 K @3,4
    Graphics:
    MSI R9 390 Gaming 8G
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Jul 26, 2012 #9
    TheEdge_

    TheEdge_

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-D3H BIOS F22
    CPU:
    Intel i5 K @3,4
    Graphics:
    MSI R9 390 Gaming 8G
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Thanks!! that worked great for me.

    Now i am up and running
     
  10. jpa

    jpa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,168
    Mobo:
    10.8
    CPU:
    i7 930
    Graphics:
    6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 #10
    jpa

    jpa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,168
    Mobo:
    10.8
    CPU:
    i7 930
    Graphics:
    6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    thanks for info
     

Share This Page