Loosing wifi after wake from sleep 10.7.4 - TL-WDN8400

Discussion in 'Network' started by colorfuel, May 20, 2012.

  1. colorfuel

    colorfuel

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    3570K
    Graphics:
    AMD 6870
    May 20, 2012 #1
    colorfuel

    colorfuel

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    3570K
    Graphics:
    AMD 6870
    Hi,

    I have this TP-Link WDN4800 PCIe card since yesterday, and it is working very nicely. The only major drawback is that I loose the wifi connection after I wake Lion from sleep. It does not seem to find any networks at all.

    The only thing that helps is rebooting the system. Disable/Enable or remove/add the device in NetPrefs does not seem to work.

    Some people on the official Apple forums report problems with Filevault, but I have never used it, or activated it, so that could not be the problem.

    I am running 10.7.4 with a patched AppleRTC.kext and using the Lnx2mac drivers in version 0.0.9 for my ethernet (to make the appstore.app work).

    Maybe someone can help find a solution.
     
  2. ellissitzky

    ellissitzky

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    3.89 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 22, 2012 #2
    ellissitzky

    ellissitzky

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    3.89 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have the same issue with a WPN311.
     
  3. manderso68

    manderso68

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-D3HP
    CPU:
    i7-4770
    Graphics:
    HD 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 #3
    manderso68

    manderso68

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-D3HP
    CPU:
    i7-4770
    Graphics:
    HD 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Same problem here using TP-Link TL-WDN4800 with 10.8.1 ML and Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H. WiFi is fine until the system sleeps. Waking requires a manual reconnect. I promise I'm searching the Forums but finding no answers. Others out there?

    Other than wifi, my new system is flawless! Many thanks to this site and this community!!
     
  4. colorfuel

    colorfuel

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    3570K
    Graphics:
    AMD 6870
    Oct 16, 2012 #4
    colorfuel

    colorfuel

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    3570K
    Graphics:
    AMD 6870
    Hi,

    I have changed my system, which btw, works like a charm. Thanks to samisnake and the wonders of Bios-hacking. But the problem still remains.

    After waking the machine from sleep, the TP-Link4800 sees all my networks but times out when I try to connect. So I alwys have to reboot to make it work again.

    I would add the device ids to test that out, but I dont know where to find them.

    It seems to work for a lot of people though... strange problem.
     
  5. Thade

    Thade

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68AP-D3
    CPU:
    i2500k
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6850
    Oct 28, 2012 #5
    Thade

    Thade

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68AP-D3
    CPU:
    i2500k
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6850
    I had a similar problem with this card even tho the only thing that sleeps is my monitor but this setting seems to have corrected for me...


    click Wifi, then advanced. Click TCP/IP and change Configure IPv6 to Link-local only
     
  6. MJayVizzle

    MJayVizzle

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Oct 28, 2012 #6
    MJayVizzle

    MJayVizzle

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    I've got a similar problem after booting: I have to select my wifi network manually each time, instead of ML selecting the right network by itself... not a very big issue, but any suggestions are welcome! :)
     
  7. colorfuel

    colorfuel

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    3570K
    Graphics:
    AMD 6870
    Dec 12, 2012 #7
    colorfuel

    colorfuel

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    3570K
    Graphics:
    AMD 6870
    I will try that. Thanks. :)
     
  8. Middleman

    Middleman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    655
    Mobo:
    ML 10.82 Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH / Lion 10.7 Asus P8Z68-VPRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770 3.4Ghz / Core i5-2500 3.3Ghz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX560Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 12, 2012 #8
    Middleman

    Middleman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    655
    Mobo:
    ML 10.82 Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH / Lion 10.7 Asus P8Z68-VPRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770 3.4Ghz / Core i5-2500 3.3Ghz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX560Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Upgrade to 10.8.2. It should solve most problems with this card...it has with mine. :)
     
  9. slabhatnik

    slabhatnik

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    CustoMac Pro
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 660GTX 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mar 21, 2013 #9
    slabhatnik

    slabhatnik

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    CustoMac Pro
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 660GTX 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Had been having exactly the same issue- either not connecting or really weak connection after waking from sleep- colorfuel's tip worked for me as well... Connects instantly now with a strong connection. Thanks so much to this forum, this was one of the last little issues I wanted to tweak. btw- this fix is working for me using a tp-link wdn4800 with 10.8.3- UD5H Mobo, i7k etc...

    THANKS COLORFUEL!
     

Share This Page