List of ALL Intel Core i3/i5/i7 Processors w/busratios

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Laptop Support' started by tonymacx86, Mar 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 6, 2010 #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So we know that these new i3/i5/i7s for the most part aren't supported yet by OS X. If you try to install, you'll get an instant reboot.

    In order to avoid this, you'll boot using iBoot or whatever Chameleon Boot CD, swap out for the Mac OS X Retail DVD, and press F5, then you type:

    busratio= and then your specific CPU's bus/core ratio.

    So, for example, the command would be

    busratio=23

    For a Core i3-540. Simple! But as yet untested on a lot of these.

    Below is a list of the bus/core ratio taken from Intel's site for all of their 2010 lineup. Enjoy this resource! :thumbup:
    [​IMG=full]
     
  2. ellnic

    ellnic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Mobo:
    Asus G73SW
    CPU:
    i7-2630QM
    Graphics:
    GTX 460M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 6, 2010 #2
    ellnic

    ellnic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Mobo:
    Asus G73SW
    CPU:
    i7-2630QM
    Graphics:
    GTX 460M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nice work - cheers! :thumbup:
     
  3. Pampeo

    Pampeo

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Mar 11, 2010 #3
    Pampeo

    Pampeo

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Oky thanks
    a will try tonight whit my 720QM
    cheers
     
  4. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 11, 2010 #4
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    ellnic just installed Snow Leopard on his notebook with a 720QM and it didn't need a bus ratio setting.
     
  5. zeke

    zeke

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Windows
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon 3550
    Graphics:
    nVidia 250
    Mar 11, 2010 #5
    zeke

    zeke

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Windows
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon 3550
    Graphics:
    nVidia 250
    Intel Xeon X3440 has a busratio=19
     
  6. Pampeo

    Pampeo

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Mar 11, 2010 #6
    Pampeo

    Pampeo

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hy
    you have a similar laptop than me exept the graphic card
    what boot cd do you use for the install ???
    thx a ton
     
  7. ellnic

    ellnic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Mobo:
    Asus G73SW
    CPU:
    i7-2630QM
    Graphics:
    GTX 460M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 11, 2010 #7
    ellnic

    ellnic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Mobo:
    Asus G73SW
    CPU:
    i7-2630QM
    Graphics:
    GTX 460M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  8. Pampeo

    Pampeo

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Mar 12, 2010 #8
    Pampeo

    Pampeo

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    hi for me it's the same
    my laptop have a instant reboot !
    :(
     
  9. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 12, 2010 #9
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    If it's an instant reboot, then it's most likely not CPU related, but rather has something to do with your BIOS settings.
     
  10. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 12, 2010 #10
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Instant reboot is due to the wrong busratio setting- just try different ones til it works! Enter

    busratio=15

    after swapping for the Mac OS X Install DVD. Then if that causes reboot, try busratio=16, and so on. You should put specs in your signature, or Old Gregg will be after your Bailey's.

    What CPU do you have? If you have a newer i3/i5/i7, you'll need to enter the specific bus/core ratio as stated in the first post. Good luck!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page