iCloud, App Store, FaceTime, Messages - Unable to Authenticate

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Support' started by solbergw, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 9, 2012 #1
    solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Since upgrade to Mountain Lion I am unable to sign into Apple applications. They were working flawlessly with SL and Lion.

    Applications have the following errors.

    iCloud
    Unable to sign in because of a problem communicating with iCloud.
    Try signing again.

    App Store
    An unknown error has occurred.

    FaceTime
    The server encountered an error processing registration. Please try again later.

    Messages
    The server encountered an error processing registration. Please try again later.

    I have tried almost everything I could find in the forum. But feel free to repost in this thread any fixes you may have. I will respond as I try them.
     
  2. solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 10, 2012 #2
    solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ok, after a bit more research this is what I come up with so far, maybe some of the experts can shed some light.

    Checked my NetworkInterfaces.plist found in /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration


    <key>IOBuiltin</key>
    <false/>

    From what I am reading the first network interface has the be Ethernet address (en0) and built in.

    I tried just editing the XML to <true/> and rebooted, it just changed it back to <false/>

    I am currently using the EthernetBuiltIn flag set to Yes, no effect.

    I tried using the EFI string.

    My board has an integrated Atheros Ethernet.

    AtherosL1cEthernet.kext is the driver in use. Was this Ethernet Controller taken into consideration when the EthernetBuiltIn flag was implemented?
     
  3. chance123

    chance123

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 10, 2012 #3
    chance123

    chance123

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    you need a new serial number in order for your apple id to run with the new OS..download chameleon wizard and under the SMBios tab, click edit, and then generate a new serial. Re boot and you should be good to go.
     
  4. solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 10, 2012 #4
    solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the suggestion,

    I have used the chameleon wizard to do just that, have tried several times (meaning about 20-30 times) while also trying different systems type i.e. Mini Mac 5,1 iMac 8,1, ect.
     
  5. solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 10, 2012 #5
    solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    iCloud, App Store, FaceTime, Messages - Unable to Authenticate [Solved]

    Well, I RESOLVED the issue, I feel like such a noob.

    When I thought I was injecting the EFI string, I saw XML in the EFIStudio editor, I copied this part of it and pasted it in my boot plist

    <key>PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1c,0x4)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
    <dict>
    <key>built-in</key>
    <string>0x01</string>
    </dict>


    I WAS SO WRONG......

    I saw an example in another post in it looked nothing like this.

    Here is the correct XML w/ my EFI string. (If you are reading this looking for your own fix, use must use EFIStudio to generate your own string, this one will probably not work for you)

    <key>device-properties</key>
    <string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a0100000001010600041c0101060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>

    Along with this I am still using

    <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
    <string>Yes</string>

    After I saved and rebooted

    NetworkInterfaces.plist now shows

    <key>IOBuiltin</key>
    <true/>


    All of the Apple applications are now able to authenticate.
     
  6. Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Mobo:
    OSX 10.9.4
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 560 Ti 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 10, 2012 #6
    Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Mobo:
    OSX 10.9.4
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 560 Ti 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I tryed downloading efistudio, but I don't understand what I should do with it. can you explain all your steps, or link some guide to do the same? thanks in advance.
     
  7. snowy0230

    snowy0230

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 1.0
    CPU:
    3.24GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    1 x Nvidia 8800GT 512mb 1 x Nvidia 550Ti 1gb
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 10, 2012 #7
    snowy0230

    snowy0230

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 1.0
    CPU:
    3.24GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    1 x Nvidia 8800GT 512mb 1 x Nvidia 550Ti 1gb
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I see you resolved the issue but here's another way I've been guided

    navigate to Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration and then delete NetworkInterfaces.plist

    :)
     
  8. solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 11, 2012 #8
    solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Absolutely

    1. Open the org.chameleon.Boot.plist file located in /Extra directory with TextEdit.

    2. Append the following XML

    Code (Text):

        <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>device-properties</key>
        <string>EFI String Placeholder</string>
    3. Leave the TextEdit window open and launch the EFIStudio-1.1 App.

    4. Select Ethernet from the Select Device: drop down.

    5. Click Add Device, the Editor will be displayed.

    6. From the Editor window click the Hex String to Clipboard button.

    7. Switch back to the open TextEdit window and replace EFI String Placeholder with the EFI string you just copied.

    8. SAVE and Reboot

    Varying based on your settings, you final result should look something like this.

    Code (Text):

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
        <key>DSDT</key>
        <string>/Extra/DSDT-GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3.aml</string>
        <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>Kernel Flags</key>
        <string>npci=0x3000</string>
        <key>PciRoot</key>
        <string>0</string>
        <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>device-properties</key>
        <string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a0100000001010600041c0101060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>
       
    </dict>
    </plist>
     
     
  9. solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 11, 2012 #9
    solbergw

    solbergw

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-H61M-S2-B3-F3
    CPU:
    Core i3 - Sandy Bridge
    Graphics:
    Galaxy Nvidia GT520
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for your replay,

    This is a fix for some, I believe this has to do with the order the network adapters were added and addressed.

    For example.

    Your system recognized your wifi adapter first and internally addressed it (en0).

    Then it recognized your Built In Ethernet adapter and addressed it (en1).

    Apple is special, they want the built in Ethernet adapter to be addressed (en0) or their servers won't talk to you.

    Deleting the NetworkInterfaces.plist clears the slate and usually the devices are re-added in the correct order.

    I would imagine this issue happens more with our builds than a real MAC since the kexts for Ethernet are loaded after the installation, but I do see it effects real MACs as well.


    I am making assumptions here based on bits and pieces I have found on other posts/forums, I do not have multiple adapters installed so I have not actually confirmed this first hand. Feel free to call me out on anything I posted in this comment.
     
  10. Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Mobo:
    OSX 10.9.4
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 560 Ti 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 11, 2012 #10
    Baoren

    Baoren

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Mobo:
    OSX 10.9.4
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 560 Ti 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    thanks for your help!

    unfortunately if I do as you suggest, I am not able to boot. if I type -v I can see all works fine, but when desktop should appear, I just get a black screen.
    here is my org.chameleon.boot.plist content (without the lines I should add through efistudio):

    Code (Text):
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
        <key>DSDT</key>
        <string>/Extra/DSDT.aml</string>
        <key>DropSSDT</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>GenerateCStates</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>GeneratePStates</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>Graphics Mode</key>
        <string>1920x1080x32</string>
        <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>Kernel</key>
        <string>mach_kernel</string>
        <key>Kernel Flags</key>
        <string>npci=0x3000 darkwake=0</string>
        <key>PciRoot</key>
        <string>0</string>
        <key>SMBIOS</key>
        <string>/Extra/smbios.plist</string>
        <key>UseKernelCache</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
    </dict>
    is there something else wrong? should i add something? if i leave it as it is without efistudio lines it boots just fine..

    edit: this is just for my laptop (g74sx), which cannot access to facetime, imessage and icloud. It accessed appstore however (for some mistery). my desktop works fine.
     

Share This Page