How To Use iBoot + MultiBeast on a Sandy Bridge System

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Apr 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 29, 2011 #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    As of the release of 10.6.8, all Sandy Bridge systems can now use the default iBoot + MultiBeast Method. This guide is now defunct.

    Here's a short guide based on iBoot + MultiBeast to help Sandy Bridge get up and running with the new 10.7.3 vanilla kernel.

    What you need:
    -Mac OS X Snow Leopard Retail DVD
    -iBoot 3.0 or newer
    -MultiBeast 3.5 or newer
    -10.6.7 Combo Update
    -BridgeHelper

    Installation:
    1. Follow all Tips & Recommendations
    2. Install using iBoot + Retail DVD
    3. Boot with iBoot
    4. Set up Computer
    5. Run Combo Update - DON’T REBOOT
    6. Run MultiBeast with UserDSDT + System Utilities*
    7. Run BridgeHelper
    8. Reboot from hard drive

    *If you have a fixed DSDT.aml, place it on the desktop before step 6. If you do NOT have a DSDT.aml, install NullCPUPowerManagement.kext in addition to UserDSDT.

    Post Installation

    Audio
    If using Realtek ALC8xx Audio Codec: Install ALC8xxHDA + AppleHDA Rollback + HDAEnabler for your specific codec. All others use VoodooHDA.

    NVIDIA Graphics
    If using NVIDIA 4xx "Fermi" card, you must install tonymacx86 NVIDIA Update after Combo Update.

    ATI Graphics
    If using ATI 5xxx/6xxx supported cards, you can have native ATI injection or use the default GraphicsEnabler=Yes. To test, install the ATI 1.6.32.12 Drivers via MultiBeast. Then change to GraphicsEnabler=No and reboot.

    Network
    For Realtek 81xx Ethernet, install Lnx2Mac's RealtekRTL81xx.

    NOTE: Some Gigabyte Boards have updated 8111E, and need the Official Realtek Driver 2.0.6. Now available in MultiBeast 3.5.0.
     
  2. timy-t

    timy-t

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Apr 29, 2011 #2
    timy-t

    timy-t

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Should I also select UserDSDT if I have not set DSDT? Why not EasyBeast?
     
  3. timy-t

    timy-t

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Apr 29, 2011 #3
    timy-t

    timy-t

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    I tried iBoot 3.0 and it only loads at the Apple Screen... No end... With iBoot Legacy 2.7.2 everything works perfect.
     
  4. clement7

    clement7

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Apr 30, 2011 #4
    clement7

    clement7

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I have a Gigabyte Sandy Bridge motherboard with a Core i5-2500k, but have an older graphics card (ati 4850). Will this work? I tried to install with iBoot Legacy 2.7.2 a while ago and it got stuck on the apple load screen.
     
  5. clement7

    clement7

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Apr 30, 2011 #5
    clement7

    clement7

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I just tried using iboot 3.0. It keeps saying to restart the computer. Anyone know what's wrong?
     
  6. danosx86

    danosx86

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Apr 30, 2011 #6
    danosx86

    danosx86

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Hi,

    @ tony:
    A multiplier of 33 corresponds to 3.3GHz.
    Default for the 2500K - as well as the 2500 - is 33.

    For the ALC887 (I guess it's identical to the ALC889b) the HDARollback thingy does not work. At least not on the Asus P8H67-V. Neither does VoodooHDA. To be honest, on none of my machines VoodooHDA ever worked properly. But that's as different story ;)

    Also, the AR81xx-Kext you are suggesting does not work for the AR8151. Look around the interwebs for an 8151 kext, there is one that works. Forgot where I got it from, but there definitely is one. I think it was some russian guy who kind of "ported" the BSD-driver to work on OS X.

    Just my 2ct, otherwise really nice guide :)

    Best regards,
    Daniel

    PS:
    Does anybody know if and when the 5xx Fermis are going to be "supported"?
     
  7. MacMan

    MacMan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,500
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 2, 2011 #7
    MacMan

    MacMan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,500
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It all depends on when NVIDIA updates their drivers for Snow Leopard.
     
  8. Shiggitay2

    Shiggitay2

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    MSI P67S-C43
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    Zotac nVidia GeForce GTX 460 Amp'd Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    May 4, 2011 #8
    Shiggitay2

    Shiggitay2

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    MSI P67S-C43
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    Zotac nVidia GeForce GTX 460 Amp'd Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hey all. I've been trying to get this all working but I can't seem to get it right. I have the mobo listed under my nickname on the left, and I can't get OS X to load at all.

    My situation is different from most: I have a working installation of OS X with a lot of files I'd rather not lose from a previously working i5-750 LGA 1156 build. I felt adventurous and I went to my local computer retailer (MicroCenter) and I got an 1155 board, knowing that it'd be tough getting OS X running at that point in time.

    Now that support is pretty much official for this chipset I've periodically been trying to get this to work, but with little to no success. I can sometimes get it to boot to my desktop but with a max resolution of 1024 x 768 using my Zotac nVidia GeForce GTX 460 1GB AMP! Edition GPU. My 460 works great under Windows and Linux, but on OS X it's being a pain.

    I found a Radeon HD 5770 for $115 shipped on NewEgg.com with the ShopRunner 2Day Free shipping. I'll likely be getting that when I get paid later this week. Until then, is there a way to get this running using onboard-CPU HD 3000 graphics? Is that even possible?

    Until I get my 5770 I'm going to continue to run Windows with my 460, which works great, but ultimately I'd like to use OS X as my main OS on that machine when at all possible.

    Any guide I've tried so far has told me to set -v and -x, and I've even tried busratio=32, but all I get is a reboot. Not even a KP.. a straight up reboot.

    Thanks,
    Shiggitay2
     
  9. sonigaurav2006

    sonigaurav2006

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i3-2120
    Graphics:
    Asus GT640 2GB
    May 4, 2011 #9
    sonigaurav2006

    sonigaurav2006

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i3-2120
    Graphics:
    Asus GT640 2GB
    lets just wait for a fully supported Sandy Bridge Built from TonyMacx86 :) you guys ROCK!
    :thumbup:
     
  10. awulf

    awulf

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-DS4
    CPU:
    i7 920
    Graphics:
    GTX 270
    May 6, 2011 #10
    awulf

    awulf

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-DS4
    CPU:
    i7 920
    Graphics:
    GTX 270
    Worked for me on GA-P67A-UD3R with an i5-2300.
    But to stop it from restarting continuously had to change the multiplier from x28 to x27
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page