hackintosh lion with hardware raid card

Discussion in 'General Hardware Discussion' started by poui99, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. poui99

    poui99

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Jul 15, 2012 at 11:46 AM #1
    poui99

    poui99

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    Im not sure if im posting in the right place, if not maybe a moderator transfer this post.

    I have built a computer that Im going to use as a server, from start i was planning to run linux on it but after buying a MacBook Air I rather build a Lion server with Hackintosh.

    My question will this work with this configuration and if so is there anything special I need to thing about when installing the raid card?

    My spes:
    Core i3
    No extra graphics card
    8 gb corsair
    Agility ssd 64 Gb
    IBM ServeRAID M1015 SAS SATA with 8 2TB harddrives configured in raid 5.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Mieze

    Mieze

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Mobo:
    MSI B75MA-P45
    CPU:
    Core i3 3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 15, 2012 at 12:37 PM #2
    Mieze

    Mieze

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Mobo:
    MSI B75MA-P45
    CPU:
    Core i3 3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Why do you want to use RAID as it doesn't offer any advantages with regard to data safety? Scheduled backups using Timemachine are the better solution. Please see http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/nas-features/31745-data-recovery-tales-raid-is-not-backup for further information.

    The only advantage of RAID is the protection against down times but in case this would be a problem to you then of course you wouldn't even consider to use a hackintosh as a server.

    Besides, I can confirm that Lion Server works well on a Hackintosh as I'm using my machine as a home server since April the 18th with 24/7 uptime and haven't encountered a single failure yet.

    Mieze
     
  3. poui99

    poui99

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Jul 15, 2012 at 2:05 PM #3
    poui99

    poui99

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for your reply. The reason I want to use raid 5 is because i want to use all 8 drives as one drive. With raid 5 im only loosing 1 drive and can survive if 1 harddisk crash. Time machine is not an option because then i can only use 4 disks in the server.

    My question is how will I install the raid card in the Hackintosh
     
  4. neuroman

    neuroman

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Mobo:
    ASUS Sabertooth X79
    CPU:
    I7 3930k
    Graphics:
    Dual Radeon HD 7950
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 29, 2012 at 11:04 PM #4
    neuroman

    neuroman

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Mobo:
    ASUS Sabertooth X79
    CPU:
    I7 3930k
    Graphics:
    Dual Radeon HD 7950
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It all depends on the chipset running on the RAID card. I have used Highpoint, Atto and Areca cards and most of them now work OOB. I am not sure about the RAID card you are referring to. Have you tried to see if it is natively supported?
    The hardware RAID works very well. There is definitively and advantage with using hardware RAID which is the speed. In addition, you are able to run RAID 5 and 6 arrays which you cannot with softRAID in Os X. There is MacZFS and Zevo which should come out next month but I doubt you'll be able to get the speeds you can get with a dedicated hardware RAID card. An added benefit is that if you server crashes, you can just "transplant" the array to a new machine w/o having to rebuild. In my case, I am able to connect the array via thunderbolt to my macbook pro or air and have access to all of the information in less than 5 minutes. I was running an Areca RAID 5 array on my previous hackintosh server and it run very well. I have now move dot a Mac mini server and I am running an 8 disk 12TB (9TB usable) RAID 6 array of a thunderbolt port.
    It may be an overkill for most situations but here's a graph of my speeds using the RAID card.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2012-08-29 at 4.53.57 PM.jpg  (93.6 KB, 455 views)
  5. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,951
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 6, 2012 at 3:08 PM #5
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,951
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  6. manpower

    manpower

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    El Capitan 10.11.6
    CPU:
    4.01 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX1070
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 15, 2012 at 11:26 AM #6
    manpower

    manpower

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    El Capitan 10.11.6
    CPU:
    4.01 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX1070
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    does it go smooth on your hackintosh with 10.8.2? any driver needed or already native support?

    I also wonder is there a raid setting can hot plug in or out a hard drive anytime if want to increase the raid size?
    or replace if any drive failure? is that possible?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  7. iGee

    iGee

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Mobo:
    GA Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    Radeon 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 1, 2013 at 1:00 AM #7
    iGee

    iGee

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Mobo:
    GA Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    Radeon 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Can anyone help with this? I have the same questions.

    Thanks,
    Chris.
     

Share This Page