Hackintosh for davinci resolve and raid system

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by isMe, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. isMe

    isMe

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Jul 10, 2012 #1
    isMe

    isMe

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    hello,
    I am new here and in the hackintosh world and would like to share the list of equipement that I would like to build.
    To get the full performance or davinci, i went to a double graphikcard: one for gpu and a lot of cuda and one cheaper for gui.

    In paralell of davinci, i hope that FCP and CS5 will run fine. But would like feedback about it as i mostly research concerning resolve.

    Looking forward for your advice and comments.

    1. motherboard :
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
    http://www.hardwareschotte.de/preisverg ... -p21599502

    2. CPU
    Intel Core i7-3770 3,4 GHz (Ivy Bridge) Sockel 1155
    http://www.gamersware.de/product_info.p ... boxed.html
    I am wondering if a i5 would change a lot?

    3. graphik for CUDA :
    EVGA GeForce GTX 580 (03G-P3-1584-xR) 3 gb
    http://www.hardwareschotte.de/preisverg ... -p20870635

    4. Graphikcard für monitoren
    HP NVIDIA Quadro 600 1GB Grafikkarte (WS093AA)
    http://wvw.schottenland.de/preisverglei ... -p20467014
    Or will a GTX285 or GTX560 will increase a lot my setup?

    6. RAID Controler (for RAID 5)
    HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL, low profile, PCIe 2.0 x8
    http://www.heise.de/preisvergleich/663259
    Or do you have a admise for other Raid controller such as LSI 3Ware RAID or RocketRaid 2300?

    7. Hard Drive for RAID
    4 times : Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB, SATA 6Gb/s
    http://www.heise.de/preisvergleich/603607
    Or 4x Seagate Barracuda 7200 2000GB?

    8. Hard Drive for System
    Crucial m4 SSD 128GB, 2.5", SATA 6Gb/s (CT128M4SSD2)
    http://www.heise.de/preisvergleich/626829
    Or Intel 120GB SSD as it s a little cheaper? But save enough?

    9. CORSAIR Professional Series HX1050 Modular 1050 Watt CMPSU-1050HXEU
    http://wvw.schottenland.de/preisverglei ... -p20938939

    10. Video Card
    DeckLink 4K
    http://blackmagic-design.com/products/decklink4k/

    According to that list, do you see any big problem? Particulary for the pci slot and the Raid, 2 graphikcard and the video card?
    Do you have any feed-back and further advice.

    Thanks
     
  2. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 10, 2012 #2
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dude, that's not going to work.
    There simply isn't enough PCI Express bandwidth on the board you've picked for all the things you want to shove in it.

    Ivy Bridge CPUs only offer 16 lanes of PCI Express 3.0 bandwidth and that board can be configured, at the most, as x8/x4/x4. The Decklink card alone wants 8 lanes and the graphics cards are going to want at least as much each and then you haven't even take the RAID card into consideration.

    Either consider an older X58 system if you can get hold of one, or something similar with a Xeon chip. Alternatively there's the X79 chipset, but it's poorly supported as Apple seems to have skipped that platform entirely, at least for the time being.
    You're going to need a CPU that offers at least 32 lanes of PCI Express bandwidth and if you want something stable, then that's LGA-1366/X58.
     
  3. eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,531
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 10, 2012 #3
    eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,531
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can say that the GA-X58A-UD3R and the Sabertooth X58 boards are great hacks. Nice and easy to set up and if you have that to spend then you can go high end CPU and it will hold its own quite well for a long time.
     
  4. isMe

    isMe

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Jul 11, 2012 #4
    isMe

    isMe

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
  5. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 12, 2012 #5
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I take it you're aware you'd have to chance your CPU with these boards, yes?

    X58 is well supported, but older, X79... certain features will most likely never be supported. You'll really have to have a look at what people are using here and what rate of success they've had with their boards.

    I don't think the X58A-UD3R is suitable for your needs either, as the slots you need are placed badly. In fact, only one of Gigabyte's "gaming" boards and their overclocking board suits your needs with regards to the slots.

    The ASUS P6T7 WS SuperComputer would do the job, but I have no idea as to how easy or not it is to make to work with OS X.

    The X79 boards are clearly more targeted towards users like you, but Apple kind of skipped past Sandy Bridge-E altogether and I guess that's part of the reason you're here.
     
  6. isMe

    isMe

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Jul 13, 2012 #6
    isMe

    isMe

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hello,

    For the ASUS P6T7, I read in different forum that this card was particulary used for the program I want to use, Davinci : http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthread ... KINTOSH***

    And so, I finally made a order according to my budget. I hope that everything will arrive save and soon.
    I will first install window, as i have a work to do really soon and that Davinci work perfectly in window. Later on, I will go for the OS install, and will probably come back with question.

    Here my setup :

    1. Mother board
    ASUS P6T7 WS SuperComputer

    2. CPU
    Intel Core i7-950 Box 8192Kb

    3. RAM
    24GB-Kit Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 MHz CL9

    4. SSD
    Crucial M4 128GB SSD

    5. HDD (Raid5)
    4* Seagate Barracuda 7200 2000GB, SATA 6Gb/s
    I will first use a windows system and the intern Raid 5 from the motherboard (as advice by a seller). Will this work for OS aswell ? Or should i order a Raid Controller card in a near future ?

    6. Grapic Card
    2* EVGA GeForce GTX 470, 1280MB DDR5, PCI-Express

    7. Video Card
    Blackmagic Decklink SDI

    8. Power Supply
    Corsair Professional Series HX1050 Modular 1050 Watt

    9. FRACTAL DESIGN DEFINE R3 Black Pearl

    Now, I was wondering if I will need some special cooler or Fan. i would really like that the machine isn t tooo loud.

    Thanks
     
  7. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 13, 2012 #7
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  8. ggeorge

    ggeorge

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    515
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    3930k
    Graphics:
    560ti 448/Asus TOPCuII 670
    Jul 13, 2012 #8
    ggeorge

    ggeorge

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    515
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    3930k
    Graphics:
    560ti 448/Asus TOPCuII 670
    Areca is probably your best choice in a dedicated raid card for OSX. The drivers are already in the OS. Just download the web config stuff from their website.
     

Share This Page