Hackintosh Build for 2013? Advice needed.

Discussion in 'Desktop Compatibility' started by BOOMER94, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. BOOMER94

    BOOMER94

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    IvyBridge
    CPU:
    i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX570
    Dec 9, 2012 #1
    BOOMER94

    BOOMER94

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    IvyBridge
    CPU:
    i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX570
    Hi Guys/Girls,

    So I currently have a Windows 7 machine that I am wanting to turn into a Hackintosh as I've always wanted a mac but unable to afford one.

    My PC specs are:

    CPU: i5 3570k (Ivybridge)
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
    Ram: 16Gb DDR3 @1600Mhz
    PSU: 800W
    GPU: GTX 570 (read about this model not compatible with OS X without modding.)
    SSD: 2x OCZ Vertex 4 (RAID 0)
    HDD: 2Tb 6Gb/s

    Any info and advice really appreciated I am a noobie to the hackintosh but like to be experimental with my system.
     
  2. Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,182
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H67A-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX660Ti
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 10, 2012 #2
    Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,182
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H67A-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX660Ti
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    GTX570 should work with Lion and Mountain Lion as far as I know.

    Your system should work with Mountain Lion but I am not too sure about your RAID setup.
     
  3. BOOMER94

    BOOMER94

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    IvyBridge
    CPU:
    i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX570
    Dec 15, 2012 #3
    BOOMER94

    BOOMER94

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    IvyBridge
    CPU:
    i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX570
    Hmmm thanks for that sorry about late reply completely forgot about this post.

    So the RAID could be a problem then ??
     
  4. Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,182
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H67A-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX660Ti
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 17, 2012 #4
    Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,182
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H67A-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX660Ti
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I never had RAID myself so I have no idea if having RAID will cause problems for you, but I think it is possible. I would urge you to consider carefully whether or not you really want to install OSX onto that system.
     
  5. BOOMER94

    BOOMER94

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    IvyBridge
    CPU:
    i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX570
    Dec 18, 2012 #5
    BOOMER94

    BOOMER94

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    IvyBridge
    CPU:
    i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX570
    Well I have always wanted a mac but have just purchased a new windows build that I build myself (roughly £950) so I couldn't really afford a mac pro £2000 so a Hackintosh is easiest for me however I do not have a mac in order to use multibeast etc. so I don't know if i can create hackintosh.

    why would you say consider carefully why wouldn't i install OSX?
     
  6. shanterg

    shanterg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    Macbook Pro
    CPU:
    2.66Ghz Intel i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
    Dec 18, 2012 #6
    shanterg

    shanterg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    Macbook Pro
    CPU:
    2.66Ghz Intel i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
    RAID0 should work fine. I just set one up a week ago. ML with UD5H mobo, 3770k, samsung SSD's, and gtx670. Heres an amazing video on how to do it.

    http://youtu.be/7IzvhBbEXoY

    I watched this once and i understood how to do it. Its very simple. Setup takes about 10 mins. Its a bit of a hassle but def worth it! My boot time is about 4-5 seconds its insane. haha.

    The basic process is this (way oversimplified).
    Install OSX on a 3rd drive. Clone onto raid. Copy Extras folder to the RAID's boot paritions. Run terminal commands to set the OS partitions as visible.


    The one issue with RAID is that chimera sees the drives are 2 different boot devices. If you're straight booting into OSX its not an issue but for Mulit-Boot setups its a little annoying.
     
  7. zealious

    zealious

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Mobo:
    z77m d3h mvp rev 1.0 bios f6
    CPU:
    i5 3507k ivy bridge @ 4.2
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 680
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 19, 2012 #7
    zealious

    zealious

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Mobo:
    z77m d3h mvp rev 1.0 bios f6
    CPU:
    i5 3507k ivy bridge @ 4.2
    Graphics:
    EVGA gtx 680
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Do it boomer...


    ur hardware is perfect.

    You will never go back to windows..


    atleast if you are like me =p
     

Share This Page