Gigabyte UEFI - SSDT/DSDT and Overclocking

Discussion in 'SSDT' started by Adam1203, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. Adam1203

    Adam1203

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600 Skylake
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 24, 2012 #1
    Adam1203

    Adam1203

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600 Skylake
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Everyone,

    I was in the same boat as a lot of people here. Once I udpated to the UEFI on my GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 board, I wasn't able to OC even with a valid SSDT. Fortunately, I figured out what the issue was.

    Previously, when overclocking in the Award BIOS, we would just enter the max turbo ratio we wanted for all four cores.

    Ex:
    1 Active Cores - 42
    2 Active Cores - 42
    3 Active Cores - 42
    4 Active Cores - 42

    This, combined with a SSDT and SMBIOS (preferably Macmini5,1) would give the desired overclock with speedstepping........ But this is no longer the case.


    What needs to be done now is the following.

    Ex:
    1 Active Cores - 42
    2 Active Cores - 42
    3 Active Cores - 42
    4 Active Cores - 41 <-------- THIS NEEDS TO BE CHANGED

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [EDIT]

    You can also do this:

    1 Active Cores - 43 <------- THIS NEEDS TO BE CHANGED
    2 Active Cores - 42
    3 Active Cores - 42
    4 Active Cores - 42

    If you use this setting, you'll have to use the attached SSDT. The outcome will give you a "higher" overclock. I use this term lightly, because it only changes the 4 core OC by 100 MHz. This may not be worth it for some people.

    Personally, I'm using 47, 46, 46, 46. I've attached the SSDT that allows this (pretty much just added the extra PSteps).

    I'm also using a Macmini5,1 SMBIOS. You can use Chameleon Wizard to make this.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Also, they did away with Multi-step Load Line Calibration. This means that the voltage offset will need to be used. I have a 4.6GHz OC, so I use a +.2Vcore offset [after some tweaking I was able to get it down to a +.16Vcore offset, but your results may vary].... (everything else is auto). This can be tweaked more if you have a partition that will boot into Windows. (It is prime95 stable).

    I attached my Extra folder contents as well as my Multibeast selections. Please post here with any questions.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. sbarton

    sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i2700k
    Graphics:
    6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 25, 2012 #2
    sbarton

    sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i2700k
    Graphics:
    6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Question - How many p-steps are you getting with your over clock? I'm at 4.4ghz using the same approach (lowered my core 3 by one). Also just FYI, with 10.8 GM, I didn't have to use anything other than HDAEnabler (so native AppleHDA).

    The only problem I have with this board and the U1H efi bios is my apple aluminum keyboard needs to be unplugged/replugged after wake from sleep, and I only have 2 p-states - 16x and 44x.
     
  3. sbarton

    sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i2700k
    Graphics:
    6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 25, 2012 #3
    sbarton

    sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Z68
    CPU:
    i2700k
    Graphics:
    6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Also, did you have to change your base multiplier at all. Thx
     
  4. Adam1203

    Adam1203

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600 Skylake
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 25, 2012 #4
    Adam1203

    Adam1203

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600 Skylake
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm on the GM too. I'll try just using the HDAEnabler without the DSDT. [EDIT] I wasn't able to get audio to work using ONLY the HDAEnabler. I'll just stick with the DSDT and patched AppleHDA.

    I get 6 P-States with Macmini5,1

    I have the wireless apple keyboard, the only problem I have is my capslock light stops working... but I don't think that's hackintosh related.
     
  5. Adam1203

    Adam1203

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600 Skylake
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 25, 2012 #5
    Adam1203

    Adam1203

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600 Skylake
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nope, always leave the base multi alone, only change the turbo frequency.
     
  6. genzai

    genzai

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    HD4000 & GTX 770
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 25, 2012 #6
    genzai

    genzai

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    HD4000 & GTX 770
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Wow,
    Interesting. I'll give this a shot and report back after getting 10.8 setup later today.
    Thanks,
    g\
     
  7. DeskIDE

    DeskIDE

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    2700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Jul 26, 2012 #7
    DeskIDE

    DeskIDE

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    2700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    This no longer works in 10.8 due to a changed AICPM kext. I had a working 4.8 GHZ with 2700K and Z77X-UD5H and a custom edited SSDT under 10.7.4.

    After updating to Mountain Lion the system would freeze. It works perfect with a stock clock but as soon as turbo states and EIST and enabled it would cause a silent KP (just freeze completely)

    All other BIOS settings are good since I have a WIN 7 disk and was extensively testing DVID and other settings, no issues in Windows 7.

    If i would to use 4.8 GHZ in Mountain Lion, I have to install NullCPU kext, nothing else helps, tried various turbo ratios, SMBIOS profiles, etc.
     
  8. xc68000

    xc68000

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    2700k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 6870
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 #8
    xc68000

    xc68000

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    2700k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 6870
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Fixing this so others don't get confused.
     
  9. superstargoddess

    superstargoddess

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Mavericks 10.9
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce 650 ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Jul 26, 2012 #9
    superstargoddess

    superstargoddess

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Mavericks 10.9
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce 650 ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Ah, so this is a Lion only thing then? I'm sure something for ML will be figured out soon.
     
  10. DeskIDE

    DeskIDE

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    2700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Jul 26, 2012 #10
    DeskIDE

    DeskIDE

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    2700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Have you overclocked a sandy bridge cpu with gigabyte z77x-ud5h mobo to 4.8ghz in mountain lion using a ssdt file and a stock aicpm kext with p states working ?

    In case you have I understand your attempt to designate this issue as "ON MY SYSTEM" ...

    But in case you have not done this with a very popular cpu and mobo not then I'm confused as to what you are trying to fix for others.
     

Share This Page