Graphics
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello,

Thanks to Tonymac I have been running two i7860/p55m-uD4 systems for almost 3 years now, no problems until one machine recently and I think that is hardware. I am starting to run into the motherboard doing some funny things and think it is time for an upgrade. I was going to wait for Haswell, but the time has come for a new mac, and it is probably 9 months to a year until we have totally stable hackintosh builds based on haswell.

You can get a 3770k for $229 at Microcenter(in USA) so that is a no brainer. I will run a graphics card with dual monitors(DVI fine, don't need HDMI audio), looks like many Nvidia cards work with GraphicsEnabler=no now, will get one of those.

My questions comes down to motherboard. I have read through the forum, looked at the recommendations from Tonymac and both of the MB are on the list.

Requirements:

1. I am looking for a stable mable, utility, home machine that works for a few years (just like my old school p55m-UD4 build).
2. I want as vanilla as possible (that used to mean stable with a DSDT, now it means NO DSDT from what I have read, AMAZING!).
3. I do some scientific computing and can peg all 8 cores for a while, but mostly do that at work, so durability matters, but I might OC just a tad (4 ghz is all I would do, don't want to boost Vcore etc). I can skip the OC if the cheaper board is much more compatible and easy to maintain.
4. I will pay a bit more for stability and long term benefit ($50-60 not worth 5 hours of rebuilding a machine) but at the same time I don't need what I don't need in terms of features.

The two motherboards I am looking at are the the GA-Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H and the Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H.